We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50”
Review of Kuya J

Kuya J
Ranked #97 of 139 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 March 2018

(I am reviewing their Sta. Cruz, Laguna site since it's not yet listed on TripAdvisor.)

You might be wondering why 50/50:

- - PROS - -

LOCATION

Very good. It's just across the street from Sta Cruz Provincial Capitol, you'll never have issues finding it. This branch is a little small compared to their other branches, but they still offer a small parking space for customers who brought their own vehicles.

AMBIANCE

You'll immediately feel the cool temperature upon entering. While it was very hot and humid outside, inside was cool and comfortable. The lighting was also on point, not very bright, but not very dim. It was warm and cozy. We were seated comfortably, and we didn't feel like sardines even with the close proximity of the tables and chairs.

FOOD

We ordered a bunch of their best sellers that included Crispy Pata. Everything tasted good, the presentation was okay, but serving size can be improved. No complaints here.

- - CON - -

SERVING TIME

Oh, it was unbearable. Like there were only three tables occupied out of I think, 10, but the serving time/cooking/preparation was definitely one of the worst I've had to date. It took them around 40 minutes just to serve the appetizer, plain rice, and soup. Guess how long we waited for the viands? You do the math. This is a no-no for a restaurant that's not even half full. I don't want to imagine the scenario where we dined here on a full house. Oh, the horror of our stomachs wouldn't allow it.

I would still go back, but I doubt the serving time will improve.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terrifictraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

It was full when we arrived during lunch time so we already expect that it will take some time for the foods and we were okay with that. But the thing is they don’t know how to give good service while we were waiting for the food, they didn’t give us water first, they didn’t ask what else do we need and staffs are not courteous and not giving us attention. We were expecting good service because this is not just a fast food resto or carinderia, foods are expensive so it needs a better service than we had. We also ordered three cups of extra rice but it took us 4 times for follow up. Serioulsy, a big disappointment. Feel sad for Jericho Rosales. But the foods are good especially the crispy pata and sinigang.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank k26_c16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2017

we ended up having our tummies full with the food we have ordered. the food are OK, not great. price is OK.
can be a regular dining spot with the affordable menu offered.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank mcg0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

We dined in Kuya J's branh in Waltermart Balibago Sta rosa Laguna.
It took 1 hour for our food to be served, aside from that it was partially served that caused to lost of apetite.
The price of the food is cheap as looking on the menu but the serving is small that it was not even enough for someone who enjoys eating.
All the food tasted really sweet. We ordered ampalaya and ginataan both was sweet. Their deep fried pork was too fatty and tasteless. The taste of their fish in a soup was just ordinary.

The staff is not enough to serve everyone on time. It needed a lot of follow ups and reminder for whatever request you woukd ask.

I definitely wont consider eating here again. Never!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Chelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We tried to order lumpia....not available, beer....not available, boneless bangus....not available. We then left.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuya J also viewed

Santa Rosa, Laguna Province
Santa Rosa, Laguna Province
 
Santa Rosa, Laguna Province
Santa Rosa, Laguna Province
 
Santa Rosa, Laguna Province
Santa Rosa, Laguna Province
 

Been to Kuya J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing