We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
leenorman23
Worksop, United Kingdom

Must visit campsite for the secluded break.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 28, 2023via mobile
Just back from quick trip away and stopped at the lovely ruberslaw just for one night in the Hillside Hideaway safari tent. The staff were all very helpful and so friendly. The safari tent was exactly what wanted in a great secluded location. Lovely bottle of Prosecco left in the cooler for us which was great surprise. Bags dropped off and picked up (Just message and was at the tent before got boots on) from the tent (wouldn’t have wanted to carry or need another holiday 😂) Even the little details such as the popcorn kernels left for us. Magnificent views, Bats, owls flying round at night. The hub looked great but didn’t need to use ourselves. To say the car park was full you wouldn’t have believed it at the tent so peaceful. Cannot recommend this place more highly for a peaceful getaway. We had great phone service but to be honest it’s the last thing you need with the views. Thanks hopefully we will be back soon.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Wellies or good walking boots. A good pair of binoculars or a telescope for the night sky. Head...
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱11,391
  • Hotels.com
7.1 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
₱5,865
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
5.8 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
The bedroom I stayed in. Huge and plush.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    ₱6,293
  • eDreams
8.6 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,143
  • Hotels.com
9.0 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
This is a lovely small B&B with a very good restaurant and bar on the ground floor -highly recom
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,350
  • Hotels.com
7.2 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱8,904
  • Hotels.com
9.7 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
17.7 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.1 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
32.0 km from Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Denholm
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
156
12
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
156
12
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari tent minute walk fire pit kitchen area great facilities roe creature comforts central hub castle view can't recommend this place enough cool box small shop on site dawn chorus generous size main facilities absolute bliss lovely member of staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2023

Just amazing, beautiful location and camped wild in the woods, great staff. Stopped one night and just back but still buzzing from my experience.
Close enough to get what you need but far enough to escape

Room tip: It’s a trek if your camping so make sure you can carry your stuff
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OnAir16634550833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2023

Just back from a weekend at the wild woods campsite after being invited by friends. Let me start this review by saying I love camping, and grew up on a farm on the isle of Arran so quite happy getting back to basics, which is what I would say you get at woodland camping, which is fine.
Tent pitches are up in the woods, making a great atmosphere in a group. Yes, it is a walk-up, and unfortunately due to the rain, it was a very mucky walk-up. We were prepared for this, however, if you have kids, and say dogs, don't expect to get there in your flip-flops!!
One point I wasn't as ready for (maybe my fault) is that because the pitches are right in the trees the ground is far from smooth, and there are a lot of exposed roots. Luckily we had an air mattress, which was fine until the roots seem to have actually punctured it, even though I had padded below it with fleece blankets. I haven't burst an air mattress before at any pitch, so was quite surprised and annoyed at this.
While some of our party were a bit unsure about the Thunderbox, I had no issues. They are what they are, and better than digging your own holes. The firepits were good, and the logs were of good quality, and supplied with firelighters we even got the fires going in the thundering rain.
The main facilities were ok, and showers and toilets were clean enough, however 4 showers for the whole site is a bit weak, and some of our group had cold showers because the heating was turned off. Also, the cleaning area's sinks were blocked on a few occasions, some thought needs to go into a solution for this.
All in all, it is what's advertised on the tin, a wilder version of camping, with a bit of support and basic facilities. However, while this is fair enough, I feel the price is way off. If you want to transport to the woods, it's extra. If you want to set up a second shelter, it's extra. If you want to take a dog, it's extra (no idea what facilities the dog uses in the woods so that one is really taking the mickey) The list of optional extras felt like buying a BMW, which doesn't fit in with the back to basics idea that's sold to you.
We paid over £100 for two of us and a dog, we didn't add the transfer so this was just basic. To me that seems way over the top, and just not good value for money. I have taken my 8m twin axle caravan to fully serviced pitches before with electrical hook up, my own water connection, direct grey water connection, and excellent on site facilities for £20 to £25 a night, and I have camped at many sites for a fraction of this cost.
We ended up at this site to join friends, and by the time we agreed it was too late to really look at the price. I really don't mind paying for things if I need to, and I commend the drive to be more environmental with the restrictions on vehicle access and use of composting toilets, however, this doesn't make things more expensive, if anything its cheaper. The site obviously fills easily enough, and you could say its a case of supply and demand, and if people pay it why not charge it? My point would be just because you can charge something doesn't mean you should.
In final summary, would I go back to this site? The simple answer is no. If you want to wild camp, you can still do it for free in Scotland. If you want facilities you can get great facilities at amazing locations for a fraction of the cost. It's a nice enough site, however, my suggestion would be to have a good look around at what you can get before you click "book now", as I feel you could get something just as nice and have change for a good bottle of malt to consume by the fire!!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank stevencook70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 27, 2023 via mobile

Just thought I’d write a quick review of Ruberslaw Wild Woods Camping.
We’ve been meaning to come for over a year since first discovering the site when looking for something that had aspects of wild camping while providing some of the creature comforts one expects from conventional camp sites, as not all members of our camping group like digging holes for their morning ablutions…
We finally booked in on the opening weekend of the 2023 season, the final weekend in March.
Upon arrival, Nicky - who’d been handling all of our correspondence was as the site hub. She talked us through where everything was and how to get to our pitch - Minto. We then loaded up one of their ATV’s - a paid service, with our gear for it to be delivered and waiting for us after our walk up to the pitch. A good 15 minutes so about 2/3 of a mile.
The wood itself although catering for up to 6 mid sized tent pitches was a very generous size and there was probably a good 20m between pitches, so no need to feel cramped with any neighbours that might be sharing the wood with you. As it happened, my friend & I were the only two there all weekend so it felt quite exclusive.
The amenities at the pitch comprised of two ‘Thunderboxes’ AKA toilets, of the composting variety. Using natural Scottish pine wood shavings to sprinkle over your poo. The smell was rather pleasant and at no point were you ever aware of the toilet’s actual use due to unpleasant odours.
The water was provided via two 25ltr water bags replaced as required and accessed via a pump tap attached to a normal sink, so washing cookware etc was possible without needing to return to the central hub.
Each pitch had its own firepit and your nightly fee included a bag of wood to keep yourself warm by if needed. The fire pits themselves were made from oil barrels with a removable grill on top which could be use as a BBQ. Our only suggestion here is that the barrels lacked enough air holes around the sides so when you’re sat next to it, the overwhelming majority of heat escaped directly from the top of the barrel while providing little heat laterally.
The wood we were allocated, called Minto, was ideal. Spacing between the trees was anywhere between 5-7m a perfect distance for setting our hammocks.
There’s a great sense of privacy too, with staff only visiting your pitch to deliver wood each day, clean the toilets and refresh your water supply.
So beyond that, you really do feel like you have the place to yourself. However, I appreciate that the chances of having the whole wood to yourself as the season progresses comes with diminishing returns. That said, there’s one pitch of woodland you can book entirely to yourself, there’s a premium price of course, but absolutely worth it if that’s what you require. Another thing to note is that the Castle View pitch is adults only. Not everyone is a fan of kids so you too can enjoy Ruberslaw.
The hub itself, has a central toilet block and showers. While the season is still cold as it was while we were there, the underfloor heating throughout was a godsend. It should be noted too, that the cost of using them is also factored into your pitch price. A welcome surprise given many sites we’ve used in the past charge for shower use. The toilets themselves were immaculate, and the gents had no tell tale odour one is accustomed to when frequenting shared facilities, another much appreciated aspect to the cleanliness on site.
There is a small shop on site that sells a limited line of local produce such a meat, as well as a few staples and snacks.
The site itself is well situated if you want to get out and explore what the area has to offer. Hawick is a 15 minute drive and has plenty of shops if that’s your thing. The area itself is full of Iron Age forts to take in and much more besides.
The final part of the drive in, after crossing the Scottish border to is on the A69 & A68 which gives way to some fantastic scenery that I’m sure all visiting will enjoy.
We stayed two nights in total & on the morning of our departure, we sent a message to request the ATV return to collect our gear and it arrived at a time we asked for, a service we were very happy to have use of.
The staff we met, Nicky, Abbey & Lee, were all really friendly, happy to chat and share local knowledge. A welcome change from what we’ve experienced at other camp sites. I just hope as the season ramps up, fatigue doesn’t set in and diminish this real personal touch to the site’s perceived service.
Our only complaint in this regard is that both the landline & mobile for the site, we’re never answered the half dozen times we had reason to call. Same with FB messenger. Given the season has only just started, one assumes that time available for such matters will only be stretched further. So we can only hope that someone is permanently in the Hub shop during the day to be able to field such calls to give assurance to those at the site, that their needs will be met in a timely manner. This is ONLY gripe and the one thing we’d mark Ruberslaw down for, which would still leave them with a stellar 95% rating from us.
Will we be back? Absolutely! Ruberslaw is a site we’ll be happy to return to over the coming years.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jules1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2022

Very good quiet campsite.
We arrived and were shown around the hub where you can find covered tables the showers and kitchen area.
We camped up in the woods where we had the love to ourselves.
It was a nice touch to have a bag of logs delivered everyday so we could have a nice campfire in the evening.

The whole site was well turned out and clean

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Geordie_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2022

Just back from an amazing few days wild camping with our three boys and dog. We all absolutely loved our stay at Ruberslaw. We pitched at Minto View and what a view it was! We got the ATV kit assist which was very efficient, it took us about 20 minutes to walk to Minto from the hub - but I’m very unfit, the boys could do it in 10-15 minutes. The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful.

We loved the peace and tranquillity. The boys especially loved the fire pit for which we were given plenty of wood. I’ll cherish the memories we made playing cards around the fire toasting marshmallows.

Honestly cannot find a single thing to fault Ruberslaw. It was the most perfect trip.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GEBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews