We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

La Locanda di Mariella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant is housed in a stone building at the end of XX and can accommodate up to 60 people; in summer, there is a rooftop terrace with views of the mountains. The kitchen prefers the authentic products of the territory, however, presented in an original and imaginative way. The winery has the best wines from Abruzzo. The Locanda Mariella is also hospitality with seven rooms all with private bathroom, wifi, and tastefully decorated. We are minutes away from L'Aquila and you can easily reach the Gran Sasso, Santo Stefano di Sessanio and Campo Imperatore.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Very friendly,and passionate.made us feel like family.great tasting food and good wine, reasonable prices ,clean and tidy.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2014

We found an excellent restaurant called Locanda Mariella in the town of Poggio Picenze. We just happened to see it while we were driving up and down the roads in search of our hotel. It was a charming place that has been in business since the 1950’s but was destroyed during the 2009 earthquake. The renovated building was lovely. It is family run where the husband is the chef and the wife waits on the tables. In our case, however, the chef took our orders because he spoke some English. He didn’t give us menus. He just told us what he was making that day. We started with antipasti of about four or five different homemade salamis, pecorina cheese with apple, a type of Italian pate, fried bread and ricotta and farina cakes with truffles. We were already full from the antipasti, so we stopped after having some ravioli with saffron sauce. Our wine was a local Montepulciano made by a friend of the chef’s - excellent.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhoward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enzomezz, Proprietario at La Locanda di Mariella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

DEAR FRIEND, I am very glad that you appreciated our efforts to highlight the products and the food of our area. I thank you very much for your kind comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Good feed! Great people! You can't ask for more ....amazing antipasti misti and my steak was unbelievable ! All the after dinner drinks were great too!! Also great music on the background !! We will be back!

2  Thank EleUdinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very friendly people. The food is really unforgettable. A lot of homemade speciality from the traditional food of Abruzzo land, pasta, cheese, lamb and veal. The prices are very low. I had a little problem whit the line of the phone

    • Value
    • Service
Thank giovannitondini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great dinner at La Locanda di Mariella. Traditional Italian meal -- antipasto, primi, secondi, dolci, caffe, digistivo. Each course was squisito.

Antipasto -- meat and cheese. The charcuterie was the best. The cheese was sheep dominated, and very good. Between antipasto and primi -- they first brought us a farro amuse bouche the farro like polenta, with a truffle topping -- very, very good. And then they brought us some liver pate' which was also very good.

Primi -- we had the chitarra, the gnocchi, and the ravioli. All really good. My chitarra sauce was a mixture of red peppers and zucchini -- very fresh, very local, very good.

Secondi -- the manzo. had these dehydrated onions on top, great crispness and flavor.

For dessert, we had all of the desserts available -- biscotti, ice cream, plum tart, and semi-freddo. All very good.

Highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jamesciroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda di Mariella also viewed

Poggio Picenze, Province of L'Aquila
Poggio Picenze, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
San Demetrio ne' Vestini, Province of L'Aquila
 
Poggio Picenze, Province of L'Aquila
Prata d'Ansidonia, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to La Locanda di Mariella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing