We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hide Away Holiday Apartments(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Villa Bedier(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Village du Pecheur(Anse Volbert)
US$193
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Le Duc de Praslin(Anse Volbert)
US$302
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquario(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cote d'Or Chalets(Anse Volbert)
US$196
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Cote d'Or Apartments(Anse Volbert)
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Chez Bea Luxury Villa(Anse Volbert)(Great Value!)
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Sun(Anse Volbert)
US$845
US$629
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cote D'Or(Anse Volbert)
US$517
US$399
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveler rating
645
350
100
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
350
100
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachfishour honeymooncurieuse islandswim up barmarine reservegiant tortoisessmall baymarine national parkupgraded roomasian buffetdrying rackhotel beachfour poster bedhuge bathroombeach fronton a half board basis
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Location of hotel, views from the rooms and breakfast area was excellent. Normally it is humid everywhere in Seychelles but restaurant being on the water provides comforting environment. You can find alternative restaurants nearby

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Hakan,

We thank you for writing a review.
We are happy that you enjoy your stay with us, and make during this time beautiful memories.
Your wellness and satisfaction are our priority, and the team are devoted to provide.
We hope to see you another one time at the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Le Domaine de la Reserve.

Sunshine regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review as I’ve spent 4 great holidays at the hotel, the last one being in 2011, when I had a great time and couldn’t praise the hotel highly enough. However, this time whilst I had an enjoyable holiday, the service from the hotel was sadly lacking.

Our welcome was poor. The receptionist failed to understand that we had stayed at the hotel 4 times before, so knew the layout and where things like the pool and restaurants were. It was disappointing that we were told very clearly that there would be a fine if we didn’t return our beach towels at the end of our stay and the various ‘do’s and don’ts’.

We arrived in our room to see that the welcome letter had been printed in French, we are English, and whilst I am fluent in French, it showed a lack of attention to detail.

After waiting ten minutes for our bags – we went for a walk around the grounds – returning to find them left outside the door.

We asked for the mini bar list and was told it was in our Welcome Pack – it wasn’t – surely good customer service would be that we would just be given another one. If we asked the reception staff anything we were met with blank looks, whether we asked in English or French. When my husband mentioned one day that I was ill in bed, there was no acknowledgement or show of any concern.

We found the buffet dinners average. We remember from before that there was a mix of table d’hote and buffet meals, which were fine. The buffets were ok this time, but nothing more. What was concerning (and we know that the hotel does its best here) was the amount of birds at breakfast and the fact that they roamed about the tables, and on the serving spoons for the hot food.

The hotel previous organised various trips, which were included in the hotel rate.

Now, whilst trips are organised, they were not actively promoted and for most of our stay the hotel’s boat was out of action. There used to be an excellent sunset cruise, which was mentioned on the list of activities, but to our knowledge didn’t take place during our stay. We did go on a trip organised by the hotel, but even that wasn’t without its issues. The organiser claimed that he wasn’t able to contact us throughout the previous day to advise that the travel arrangements had changed to a taxi boat, rather than the hotel’s boat, even though we were in the hotel all day.

The bar staff were great, they were friendly and helpful, especially May and Antonio. It was a shame that only a few staff wore name badges as it would have been nice to have addressed them by name. Some of the staff did remember us from our previous stays, which was nice.

On our last day our Rep from Creole Travel said that on her understanding as we had stayed for 10 days there was an informal arrangement keep the room until we were due to leave at about 4pm. However, she could not get a definitive answer from the person in charge that we could do this without a charge and it appeared that even she was getting frustrated at the lack of response from the Hotel. We were finally allowed to keep the room (confirmed verbally the following morning at reception), but even then, a member of staff came to our room at 11am and asked for our bags, demonstrating a lack of communication amongst the staff.

Overall the location is great, and the island is lovely. But the hotel is not what it was, demonstrated by a lack of attention of detail and service. It would have been nice to have felt valued. It was summed up at the end of our stay when one of the reception staff saw us leave and didn’t even say goodbye. I know that this is a 4* hotel, but whatever the grade surely attention to detail, service and valuing the customer is important at whatever level.

I have read previous Trip Advisor reviews, where the management have responded to less than positive reviews quite negatively, so I hope that the points raised in this objective review are used by the management in a positive manner to improve the experience for others in future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

I will start by saying we love this place but will now appear to be negative because our
initial impressions were not great with check in staff not as open, as other places. this also seemed to be the case with other members of staff who were stand off-ish, and sometimes unresponsive, certainly not naturally open and didn't have easy smiles etc

OK - now for the positives - Paul (accom manager) heard our names while wewere checking in and stepped in to say hello. He took charge of us and told us he had upgraded us to a ground floor beachfront room because my wife is partially sighted (thank you - it was a very good bonus). he remained friendly and talkative throughout the holiday! .

We also found that almost invariably, once we broke the ice with members of staff, they were actually friendly and talkative and did smile so we are not sure if they have been told to stay back initially or if they have just developed that attitude - such a shame as they give a negative and totally undeserved first impression.

\the rooms are big with spacious bathroom areas and the beds are very comfortable.

cleanliness throughout the resort was excellent

food and overall dining experience was very good and the jetty restauarant gives lots of fish to watch so always try to get a table on the edge and far enough out to be over water

the hotel beach is good but does shrink at high tide and as with other parts of the island, at low tide, there is 500m of veery shallow water restricting options for snorkelling. I would recommend you wear beach shoes as there is a mix of sand, sea grass and dead coral. at high tide we had some good snorkelling and some cloudy ater but that seemed to deopend on the weather (as you would expect). on arrival, while waiting for our room, we sat and watched a couple of rays and a small reef shark in the shallows, as soon as we could we donned the snorkels and 20 mins saw 3 differenct rays, a couple of turtles and a good selection of fish! (it wasn't always as good but there were always fish to watch.

there is a flight of steps at the end of the beach leading to another little cove which is not publicised but is lovely.

the pool is super, large and well laid out.

pool bar was nice, especially for a cocktail or beer.. they also serve afternoon tea here although we only nade use of this once as the milk had curdled which put us off a bit. main bar seemed to hve the odd "special offer" on beer / cocktails or pizza etc but these were not well publicised.

grounds / gardens were very well looked after and the gardening staff should be complemented on this.

food (breakfast and dinner in our case) was excellent with a good variety for meat and fish eaters (not sure anywhere really caters for veggies!) we also noted a few Indian couples having dishes specially prepared for them so staff are obviously flexible.

village / beach / boat trips is 15 mins walk and worth a visit.

overall - day one, we were concerned that we had made a bad choice, however, day 2 and onwards, it was obvious we hadn't and I can honestly say we woulld happily have extended our 5 day stay. this place is lovely and still has a lot of potential to get better without the management team needing to spend money on it.

Room Tip: no real preference on rooms
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howard_keith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We thank you for reviewing Le Domaine de la Reserve and for your very good feedback. Your kind comments will certainly be passed on to our staff who made your stay memorable.
I am pleased to read that your general impression was very good and that you consider us the right choice .
We have well noted the below points of improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in The Seychelles for another exotic Holiday.

Sunshine regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Bring rock shoes the dead Coral is very sharp. Sea was fairly murky except for a patch on the right out by the rocks. The snorkeling here was very good. Rooms are nice and big and well serviced. Heard before arrival that drinks were expensive, they ain't cheap around a fiver for a small beer and similar for a glass of house wine . visited a beach side diner and it was three times plus a bit more . So not so bad . staff are OK not overly friendly but not rude, they do get a bit too keen to get you to sign for drinks etc suppose some folks like to skip off hoping for a freebee.Lovely place well maintained nice an quiet .not for peeps looking for a wild time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Peter,

We thank you for your kind review and for staying at Le Domaine de la Reserve.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay .
We do care about our guests, and strive to ensure that they enjoy a memorable time with us. Should you ever visit the Seychelles in the future, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back .

Sunshine regards,

Chloé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were enjoying a nice week of sailing in the Seychelles and one night we felt like eating in a nice place, rather than on the boat.
We anchored in front of the resort and called to make reservations. We got a lovely table at the seafront and enjoyed a nice buffet. Staff was nice. Food was pretty okay, not Michellin star quality, but good.
The tables at seafront are excellent. When it’s dark a light shines in the water and you can see all kinds of fish swimming by. Thank you Madelin (or Mathilde? Sorry) for getting us that great table. Cheers.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Timmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that your experience at Le Domaine de la Reserve was a good.
Rest assured that your praise will be forwarded to our team and specially to Madeleine, we look forward to see you again !

Sunshine Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews