We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Dangei
Mississauga, Canada

Nice Hotel, great location.

Review of Amboy Hometel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 5, 2023via mobile
Hotel was a great location. Right across the street from the beach. The beach has some great sea shell hunting. Water was great for snorkeling, though shallow. There are sea urchins so proceed with caution.

The staff were great, the rooms nice and clean. The food was pretty good. I would definitely stay here again.

Get a tour through the front desk. Ask for tour guide Art. He was the best guide I have ever had. Knows a lot, helpful and very friendly. He let me borrow his tripod for my time there.

Only thing which could be better is to have better wifi.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: Maybe ask for an ocean view room.
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Amboy Hometel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Amboy Hometel
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
1.5 km from Amboy Hometel
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from Amboy Hometel
Pool
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱3,292
  • StayForLong
0.1 km from Amboy Hometel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱2,021
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Amboy Hometel
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Amboy Hometel
Pool
Room
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Amboy Hometel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,042
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Basco
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
57
43
14
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
57
43
14
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 116 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2020 via mobile

Went to Batanes with family in December, we stayed in Amboy and had a great time. Staff are courteous, friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very clean. Not a fan of their breakfast though, but over all it’s a good place to stay

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank beautyandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Our stay in Amboy hometel completes our perfect family vacation in charming Batanes. The staffs are friendly and kind, always with a smile on their faces. The rooms are clean and the amenities are complete. I was really surprised to find a hair dryer in the dresser. Never did i expect for a hometel to have such amenity. The location of the hometel was just perfect too...across it is the beautiful open sea. A short stroll to cross the street and you're already there feeling the cool sea breeze by the beach. The place is surrounded by their own grown vegetables which is part of the food they serve. How fresh could that be? The meals served at their restaurant are simple and yet tasty. The tour guide they got for us - Jay-R is very friendly, helpful and fun to be with. All in all, everything about this vacation was great. We will definitely be back in Batanes and we will stay again in Amboy

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gitte s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marivic a, General Manager at Amboy Hometel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2020

Dear Gitte S. Thank you for your review and for choosing our place. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to have you again as a guest in the near future. Take Care and God Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019 via mobile

Amboy Hometel deserves to have a high rating and with that I’m writing this review for potential guests who would visit the beautiful province of Batanes.

Pros
- Organized and clean rooms as well as common areas
- Farm to table, they have a garden where most of their vegetable ingredients are cooked for their guests
- Friendly and accommodating staff
- Buffet breakfast. Don’t expect lavish selection of food, they only serve simple dishes. Ivatans, people of Batanes live simply. It can be shown on their food.
- On time Airport transfers and tour
- Worth the money

Cons
- Be ready, their location has a poor network/data signal. But there’s a certain area near the reception that has a signal.

Tips
- Bring sunscreen, you’ll always be outside for the tour. Super hot.
- Try their Kamote Chips. Super yummy!
- If your craving for pizza, try Napoli Pizza. It’s near Amboy, just a few steps away.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay in Amboy Hometel. True enough it gave me a homey feeling after a tiring day outside. I’ll have a place to come home to and recharge for the next day’s adventure. Thank you Amboy Hometel for the good memories.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Joyce23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marivic a, Manager at Amboy Hometel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Hi Ms. Joyce 23

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and giving us high rating. We are delighted to know that you appreciate our organic garden, rooms, and staff as that is something we pride ourselves. We are also grateful for having a homey feeling in our place. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Our company with 30+ pax stayed here for 3D2N for our summer outing. The place is so nice, all areas are nice and kept clean especially the rooms you literally feels at home. The hometel staffs and tour guides are all friendly and very accommodating. The food is really good I can still imagine how satisfied I was. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 0406michellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marivic a, Manager at Amboy Hometel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Hi 0406michellen

Thank you so much for your review. we are glad that you and your group enjoyed our homey service as we adapt the ivatan hospitality and generosity. We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with my mom and aunt in May. Hotel was beautiful and spotless , food served in the restaurant was fresh and delicious , fellow guests were friendly, hotel staff were accommodating and the tour guides (Kuya Felix and Mark ) were knowledgeable and took awesome pictures. Thanks Amboy Hometel for a memorable vacation !

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RosetteC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marivic a, Manager at Amboy Hometel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Hi RosetteC4

Thank you for giving us 5 star rating review. We are very glad to know that you and your family had an amazing stay with us. We also appreciate that you enjoyed our food, it is from our organic garden. Plants are always there to welcome you to your Ivatan HOME.

We look forward to your next visit with us. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews