We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
193
104
28
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
104
28
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park converted monastery rooms are beautiful northern portugal swimming pool fabulous place to stay day tour short drive original building rooms are small small village sun loungers pool table reception staff an excellent choice public spaces buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Perfect, quality, uniqe hotel. Nice stuff, good vibes, beautiful decorated, lovely room, very good location, very convenient beds, perfect pool. Very uniqe. We absolutely loved the hotel and We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Liat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pintogrc, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro de Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your grear review!

My staff and I hope to have you back sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Graça Pinto / Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Great place if you like to see an old ruin of a monastery. The grounds are really beautiful and spacious. Rooms are quiet and relaxing. Comfortable beds and great view over the village.
The restaurant serves great food and nice local wines.
Staff at reception not really bothered but the waiters in the restaurant are super friendly and helpful
Great swimming pool. Lot's of kids around so when you like a quite pool forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JVD-Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pintogrc, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro de Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review!
My staff and I hope sincerely hope to have you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Graça Pinto / Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Congratulations to the architect who designed a beautiful space. However, the pousada wasn't designed considering there are people with mobility issues. I have some balance problems and use a cane for walking. Parts of the pousada were inaccessible to me and others extremely challenging due to the lack of bannisters or ramps to facilitate access. We were a group of 3 seniors and were very surprised that as our stay included a Friday, a market occupied the parking area near the entrance to the pousada and we were forced to use the pousada parking lot which is a very long walk which includes several ramps of very long, steep stairs (one without any sort of support) where I could easily have fallen (a receptionist of the pousada fortunately accompanied me and assisted me in going down). I am nearly 75 years old and I like staying in the pousadas very much, but this pousada wasn't designed considering senior citizens and those with mobility problems. I was very disappointed in the lack of appropriate infrastructures. However, the pousada, staff, food and architectural design are 5-star

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank G Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pintogrc, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro de Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

Due to the fact that the Pousada is a historical building, people with mobility problems sometimes have diffuculties acessing the parking lot and pool area.

This is a problem that is identified and we are working on for a resolution in the future.

Best regards,
Graça Pinto / Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Excellent accommodation and setting if you are looking for peace and quiet. The attached church was of interest with an unexpected tour of parts of it from a young architectural student volunteer. Only one other restaurant in town that is only open Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings but is open every lunchtime and the food was excellent quality and value. The Pousada pricing for food and drink was excessive for the area hence only a 4 rating.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank 159davidj159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pintogrc, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro de Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reveiw!

We hope to have you back sometime in the near future.

Best regards,
Graça Pinto / Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We attended a family wedding at this lovely and peaceful restored monastery. The property is stunning and is decorated very simply and elegantly. The rooms are the same and very comfortable. The staff were helpful in every way. All of the food, from the daily breakfast to the wedding feast, was delicious.

From the pousada, we were able to walk 3 miles up into the hills to visit another monastery which is now a museum and park. Lovely views and more impressive architecture.

I would highly recommend a stop here if you are in northern Portugal.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachburd117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pintogrc, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro de Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

The Pousada is the perfect venue for weddings due to the beautiful monastery with its stunning views. Couples can sometimes book the Pousada exclusively for there wedding party.

We are pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to have you back sometime in the future.

Best regards,
Graça Pinto / Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews