We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Nearby Hotels
Hotelli Aakenus(Rovaniemi)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Rovaniemi(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arctic City Hotel(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Claus Holiday Village(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Polar(Rovaniemi)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
145
127
35
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
127
35
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnow hotelice restaurantsleeping baglocker roomsalmonaurora alarmunique experienceone nightglass iglooonce in a lifetimenorthern lightsice roombaked potatobucket listice sculpturessnow and icewarm room
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This place is too expensive for what you get.
We stayed in the last week of the season, spent one night in the glass igloo and one night in the snow hotel.
It was clearly evident to us that the staff were ready for closing as they did not not care anymore about the guests. Everything was difficult, complicated and took forever.
In this place you need to book your food in advance and even pay for it in advance. How strange is this? The place is not child friendly as children are expected to eat the same 'sophisticated' food as adults. If you want to change the pre-selection of the food you made, they intend to charge 20euro extra. What a joke.
If you are staying in the snow hotel, the only place to be warm is in the reception building, the locker room or the room behind the lunch room. The staff just ignore you when you request a fire to be made in the room behind the lunch area even when you are cold. The staff just don't care. We waited almost 45min for a fire to be made after coming in from the cold!
The breakfast, I would rate it as super basic, maybe worth of 2 stars.
As for the sauna, you can only go once a day at a fixed time at night and at a charge. If you want go outside the set hours you pay even more.
I must say, the place is charging far too much do what it offers. The place is truly overrated and we will not come back. Rather go to the alps and stay one week in a 5star hotel. Same price but much better.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
9  Thank Chrisonaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This is definitely a bucket list experience. We stayed in the snow hotel for one night then in a glass igloo. It is better to do it in this order. The staff is very friendly and the aurora alert and night watch that wakes you up is essential to learn how to spot the auroras when you just arrive.

During the day there are activities such as snow shoes, toboggan and ice fishing at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us! We also recommend to stay first night at SnowHotel after which it is nice to go to the comfort of your warm glass igloo. Aurora alarm is available in both of the accommodation types so that you don't miss the chance to see the beautiful light show!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Woke up to the view of clouds this morning! Stayed in this unique hotel for one night just to experience what it is like to stay in a glass igloo, and it's worth every minute. The room is well laid out, clean and kept warm. The glass ceiling and walls gave us a wonderful view of the snow and trees, even though we did not manage to see the northern lights.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Slaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us, it is definitely an unique experience even if you don't see the northern lights! Maybe next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The hotel is really impressive. It's SnowHotel part (there are also glass igloos) is made completely of snow and ice and it's something really beautiful with all those sculptures, stunning ice bar (where you can have a drink in a glass made of ice) or ice chapel.

We decided to sleep in the SnowHotel part. Temperature at night was well below 0 Celcius degree so it was cold but we somehow managed to survive it. Great experience but you have to be dressed very warmly. In case you can't stand such temperatures, there's one room that is much warmer and tourists are allowed to sleep there.

The hotel is located away from any city lights so it's a great spot to see northern lights (we saw them!) or just have a walk during the day.

Regarding meals - dinner was ok (I had elk, my girlfriend salmon) but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WojciechToman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and would recommend to anyone!! The igloo's are huge and ours was a standard one for 2 adults and our 9 year old. Very comfortable and very warm. The hotel complex is really nice and the ice hotel is fascinating. We had breakfast and an evening meal there and the food is really nice. Evening meal is pricey but comparable with other hotels in the area. Although the aurora alarm went off on the 1st night, we didn't see them, however, we were lucky to see the lights from the comfort of our own adjustable beds on the 2nd night. Utterly amazing!!!

Room Tip: Any more than 3 people travelling would need a family igloo! Standard igloo's are perfect for 2 adults and 1 child
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _sarajfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments. It is definitely an amazing experience to see the northern lights from the comfort of your own bed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews