We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights in the glass igloo, and found the service at the hotel to be very disappointing.

Positives: the location was great and igloos, whilst by no means luxurious (cannot speak for the ice rooms), did offer the quirky / fun factor.

Negatives:

1) the service - upon arrival, we were checked in by a less than polite receptionist.

2) the hotel facilities such as reception, breakfast / bar / dining area were more than a little run down.

3) upon checkout we questioned an item on the bill which related to a dinner we did not have. We had reserved a table the night before, however feeling unwell and with no telephone in the igloos, we decided not to eat. Upon checkout we were charged for full price of €90 for this meal. Given the amount we had spent at this hotel (>€1500 in 2 days), we would have expected better than to spend the next 30 minutes disputing this meal. At one point, we were told to 'take accountability for our actions' in reference to us not showing up to dinner. At no point when booking our table were we told that we would be charged upon reservation, and I certainly would not expect to pay full price for a meal that we did not have. I would not have expected to be spoken to in the manner which we were by a hotel where they charge the rates that they do. Quite appalling service in my opinion.

Overall I would say that we felt that had we not gotten lucky with a fantastic Northern Lights show, we would have left feeling extremely unhappy that we chose to stay there. I wouldn't expect anything verging on luxury at this hotel.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGLondon2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
I am sorry to hear that you felt that you had bad service at our hotel and I apologize on behalf of our receptionist. Our staff tries to help you in any way they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible so I am really sorry that you didn't feel welcomed.

All the meals need to be ordered before-hand and your main course choices are requested at the time of booking your dinner. This is purely because we are preparing all the food before-hand and for example to glow-fry salmon at Kota takes about 1 hour to prepare so when the dinner starts, it will be ready. If you are not coming to your dinner, we still have to charge you for it as all the food has been made for you - I am sorry that our staff didn't notify you about this. There are no phones inside glass igloos but you can reach our sales office at all times or if you need anything during your stay, you can go to our reception as it is just next to the glass igloos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    87
    18
    14
    5
See reviews for
57
112
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
274 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2017

We HAD looked into booking an Igloo whilst on our trip to Finland....but realised that they were VERY remote from anywhere else....and we do like to have options...especially on the dining front!
We stayed in Rovaneimi....a small town about 15 minutes drive away and hired a car whilst we were there.
We took ourselves up to visit the Igloos and the Snow Hotel....they are in the same grounds....
A snow/ ice hotel is always a joy to behold but, having tried it once in Norway my need
to do it again wasn't happening!
The Igloos were neat but nowhere near as attractive to look at as the advertising might suggest....in my opinion.
Dining is communal...the dining area resembles a smart canteen....and is several metres from each Igloo....obviously more metres away the further your Igloo was from the main building....needless to say!
The Igloos are a reasonable distance apart BUT do look, to me, like a row of up-market portaloos!....expensive portaloos!
I am happy that WE didn't stay here....BUT, I do realise these things are personal taste....

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FRANCES39A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Thank you for your comments and I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Arctic SnowHotel even if you didn't stay overnight.

Since we are located about 30-minute drive from Rovaniemi city center, it offers an excellent opportunity to see the northern lights since we are far from the city lights. There are no other services near-by but our hotel has three restaurants which offers plenty of choices for all. The dining area you are probably talking about is our Log restaurant where we do serve dinners and also breakfast but Ice restaurant and Lappish Kota restaurant offer definitely more unique experiences for our guests which I can highly recommend. Our hotel area isn't very big so it's probably maximum 200 meters that you need to walk from the furthest igloo so everything is within walking distance. We arrange shuttle service between Rovaniemi and our hotel (please book in advance!) so you can go to activities in Rovaniemi for the day and then return to our hotel for the night. At the hotel area you can visit Arctic SnowHotel (entrance fee is included in accommodation price for all the guests), try ice fishing or snowshoe walking or just walk around the area by yourself and enjoy the peace and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

Igloos are brill. Stay in them. Stay two nights at least. Book an igloo for two nights and ice hotel room too for one of those nights so you can retreat to the igloo when the novelty of ice hotel wears off in the early hours and have somewhere to call home and make base at all times.

Aurora alarm is handy.

Food in all restaurants is very good indeed. Eat dinner in both Kota and Ice Restaurant (very special) if you have chance. Breakfast is great with many hot and cold options including pastries, pancakes and fresh fruit and bacon etc.

Try Lapland's cloudberry liqueur and local beers. All are good.

We didn't do booked activities but others seemed to have fun on them.

The place feels other worldly, a bit like a moonbase or Dr Who set, and is a great experience.

Good value for money.

Our second trip to Finland and we reckon the Finns do things very well indeed. Not cheap but value for money.

If you are really huge like I am, the ice hotel might not work very well for you. Otherwise, go for it!

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whoamiwhereami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Thank you for staying with us, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Our family of 4 stayed there in a glass igloo for two nights. It was a great experience and incredibly relaxing. We were even fortunate enough to see the aurora borealis both nights were were there. We were in igloo 18, and it was perfect for the 4 of us. Plenty of space for us to be and relax. Two big comfy chairs, and the adjustable beds really made the experience complete.

The food at the main restaurant and lakota restaurant was very good. My kids would have appreciated some more kid friendly options, but they were fine. The staff was great and tried to take care of our various requests. We had an issue with the lock on our igloo and the staff was very quick to resolve the issue.

The hotel is located on a beautiful lake. There was a great sledding hill, and great things to explore all around. Lots of people went to activities off site during the day, but we found plenty to do just exploring. The best part of it all though was the night time show. The aurora alarm worked well and allowed us to get a little sleep too.

A nice place to go and a great experience to have.

  • Stayed February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Thank you for staying with us. Some people do go off site for activities which is probably a good idea if you are staying more than 2 nights with us as there are definitely things to do and see also at the hotel area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2017

I just have to say that the all of the Staff that work here deserve a 5/5. We didn't come across any grumpy staff - everyone was helpful and friendly. We came as it was on our bucket list. Especially as my partner is ill and we do what we can on the list, while we still can. We stayed for 3 nights. 1 night in the ice hotel and 2 nights in the warm wooden igloos.
We did not venture to the local town centre as we were not staying here long enough and wished to keep the holiday relaxed as possible.
The breakfast spread each morning was very varied and delicious. Hot and cold breakfast choices as well as drinks. Food in the ice restaurant was plain but tasty. Its difficult to supply food in that environment so i think all is shipped in from a separate building. Food (dinner) in the Kota restaurant was delicious. The igloos were clean and comfortable. I didnt expect an adjustable bed - and it's a great idea, although my controller was constantly breaking. This was reported to reception upon leaving. It took us a while to work out how to lock the door - we concluded that the lock was probably a time-dependant lock. A shame that the outdoor porchlights on igloos are so bright. When we were lucky enough to see the aurora borealis two nights running, the porchlights did give off a lot of light-pollution. Would be good if they were dimmable. The snow was lovely and the Frozen lake was eerily beautiful. Sleeping in the ice/snow hotel was an experience. It was made as comfortable as it could be by the staff, but even so, be warned, it will probably be a darned uncomfy night! The standard ice rooms are quite tight, I felt a little claustrophobic. We did not realise until we were in the wooden igloos that we could upgrade to a larger ice-hotel rooms.

The traditional Finnish sauna and the hot tub was a very pleasant and relaxing experience. I would love to do that again. Bring your swimming costume! Was not so keen on the "snow sauna" as cold drips from the cave dripped onto our backs.

What I do advise is that you will probably get a better deal (financially speaking) if you do NOT book via companies like Groupon, Wowcher etc. The holiday ended up costing twice the price that the wonderful Groupon advert enticed us with. I wish I had not and we could have saved ourselves some £££. The drinks in the complex were quite expensive and all the staff were multitasking with regards to their roles. The trips such as the husky experience were just too expensive for us to consider. Such a shame, but just too pricey on top of what we had already paid for. Maybe we could have gone for it if we had not gone for the Groupon - booking route. If you end up having connecting flights like us, eg UK-Helsinki then Helsinki-Rovaniemi, then consider how much time you will have to wait for the connection in Helsinki airport...and then see if you can book a City tour or....visit the nearby Science museum (or something nearby to suit your taste.)


All in all, nothing went wrong and it was a wonderful experience.
p.s. It is a good idea to pack a tripod for your camera. It can be cold waiting outside if the aurora does appear. Also, we learned that the aurora is more spectacular on photos than it is seen with ones own eyes. We had some half decent photos and some better photographer-guests had lovely photos too.

  • Stayed February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonExplorer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
Thank you for your kind words, I have forwarded your thanks to our staff.
Norwegian airlines is flying between London and Rovaniemi so you might want to check deals for those flights as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinetta
23.0 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
23.1 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
24.5 km away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
23.0 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
22.8 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos

Property: Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Address: Lehtoahontie 27, Sinetta 97220, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Sinetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Price range (per night): ₱13,903 - ₱34,507
Hotel Class:4 star — Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCTIC SNOWHOTEL Our SnowHotel sleeps 70 guests and is one of the largest in the Nordic region. This spectacularly handsome building is carved each year to be different in appearance. The walls and furniture surfaces of the unique rooms are decorated with ice art and illuminated artwork. The room temperature is 0–5C°, but using the sleeping bags intended for extreme conditions combined with reindeer furs, you can be sure you will stay in warmth and comfort. On the shores of the lake the moonlight, stars and Northern Lights illuminate the silent, Lappish nature. As our guest you will have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you. GLASS IGLOOS Next to SnowHotel you will find the tranquillity of the glass igloos. Staying overnight in a glass igloo feels like sleeping in the open, but inside the igloo it is just as warm and cosy as a hotel. The igloo village is set in an opening surrounded by pine trees, sufficiently far away from the city lights, making ideal conditions for watching the Northern Lights and enjoying starry skies. Have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you: once the Aurora Alarm has woken you up, all you need to do is open your eyes, look at the night sky and enjoy the sight from the comfort of your bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing