We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Nearby Hotels
Hotelli Aakenus(Rovaniemi)
US$93
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Rovaniemi(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arctic City Hotel(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Polar(Rovaniemi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
145
126
35
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
126
35
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnow hotelice restaurantsleeping baglocker roomsalmonaurora alarmunique experienceone nightglass iglooonce in a lifetimenorthern lightsice roombaked potatobucket listice sculpturessnow and icewarm room
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The best place of our whole trip because we managed to catch aurora here consecutively for 2 nights. Igloo has toilet facilities and space enough for the family. Best of all it had a buzzing system to alert guests of impending auroras even in the middle of the night. Only set-back is that each unit had a lighted doorway and when aurora shows, it needs as much darkness as possible. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: best to h.ave toilet attached
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Funnybones0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us! Many people do book two nights with us in order to have a better chance to see the northern lights but great to hear that you managed to see those on both nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Miles from anywhere, there is no light pollution so sightings of the northern lights were expected. Saw it for 10 mins early in the evening. Ate ion the ice restaurant which was an experience but way overpriced for what it was. My husband had salmon and I had Elk. It was so cold in there we had our full outdoor kit on including hats. The ice bar was great, drinking from shot glasses made of ice that we were allowed to smash against the bar when we had finished our shot. Didn't have a sauna or Jacuzzi as had run out of money by that point, but it did look like an experience, especially the ice sauna. Very cold in our room but toastie in the 2 layered arctic sleeping bag on top of an animal skin. I slept well but don't relish sleeping in my wooly hat ever again. In summary a 1 off experience but next time will save up for an igloo!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2017

One night is definitely enough here if you are staying in the snow hotel as we did. They tell you that on their website though. It is a fun but strange experience as you don't hang out in your room, you only sleep there. It is way too cold to hang out and during the day visitors can walk in to take a look as all the suites have different ice sculptures and lighting inside (there is a do not disturb sign though). We had a delicious salmon dinner in the warm restaurant there and then a drink in the ice bar which is fun. Then you strip off and run to your room in your thermals and with a couple of sleeping bags with you.
Neither of us sleep particularly well that night. Tossing and turning to get comfortable. We were warm most of the night but getting out to go to the toilet block outside the room was a challenge! We were both very happy to get woken up with hot blueberry juice in the morning! I'm glad we did it but it feels very much like a challenge than a comfortable night's sleep - you even get a certificate at the end!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HLE_Caterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The Glass Igloos is probably in the dream list for many and it is definitely in mine. It is definitely everything like you saw in the pictures, simply fantastic. With its own bathroom facilities and in room breakfast, I could really stay here for years if not the for the high cost. You will need to utilise the handphone provided for the aurora alert. Got to be very lucky to be able to view aurora as I was there during a cloudy night but nonetheless it is a treasured experience. I would recommend everyone to try this at least once in your life.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us. There is an aurora alarm inside the room that you can just switch on and you will hear an alarm sound in case there are northern lights so no need to use phones for it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Staff are great at this place, the experience is of a different world. Check in could be faster as it appears they only have 1 desk.
Miles away from town the drinks prices and menu prices are very high. The food was very average with no relationship to the €54 per head price tag that I could see. It reminded me of skool dinners in fact. We ate in the ice hotel itself but other v slightly cheaper options are available.
There is an alarm to all rooms if you want it for the Northern Lights. We stayed in the Ice hotel itself but as a more expensive visit you can stay in the fabricated glass roofed "igloo's". These have all facilities inside and are heated. All rooms in the Ice hotel ( no heating, 0 to -5 at all times) have electricity to charge phones etc but in the ice hotel the toilets and bathroom are communal.
IMPORTANT NOTE: luggage is not taken into the ice hotel. It is kept in reception with guests taking from there bags ONLY WHAT THEY NEED FOR THE NIGHT.
Arctic sleeping bags are provided so you won't be cold inside them.
The main reception/breakfast building doesn't open in the morning till 7.30. This could be improved to opening at 6:00 as once awake in the Ice hotel you either stay in your sleeping bag or get out of there as it is too cold for anything else.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews