We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewing the whole sky from the bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

A bit further from the centre and takes around 30 min to get to from city centre. Transportation is at a price. The hotel provides 2 types on rooms, glass igloo with glass roof and ice hotel with ice walls and beds built from ice. We stayed in the glass igloo which is for 3. The log is not large and just fit for 3 adults with some luggages. Beds are adjustable for viewing aurora. Wifi is free with strong connection. Breakfast is included and food is acceptable. The snow hotel with a restaurant and bar inside inside is interesting as it is built every year with ice from the surrounding. Hotel is isolated but there are 3 restaurants for dining and requires booking in advance. Limited menu but food is good especially the grilled salmon. Everything in this hotel is at a cost but it would have been the best way to view northern lights with enough luck.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank LEONA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for your nice comments, I am sure this information is useful for other visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 229 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2017

The best place of our whole trip because we managed to catch aurora here consecutively for 2 nights. Igloo has toilet facilities and space enough for the family. Best of all it had a buzzing system to alert guests of impending auroras even in the middle of the night. Only set-back is that each unit had a lighted doorway and when aurora shows, it needs as much darkness as possible. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: best to h.ave toilet attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Funnybones0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for staying with us! Many people do book two nights with us in order to have a better chance to see the northern lights but great to hear that you managed to see those on both nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017

Miles from anywhere, there is no light pollution so sightings of the northern lights were expected. Saw it for 10 mins early in the evening. Ate ion the ice restaurant which was an experience but way overpriced for what it was. My husband had salmon and I had Elk. It was so cold in there we had our full outdoor kit on including hats. The ice bar was great, drinking from shot glasses made of ice that we were allowed to smash against the bar when we had finished our shot. Didn't have a sauna or Jacuzzi as had run out of money by that point, but it did look like an experience, especially the ice sauna. Very cold in our room but toastie in the 2 layered arctic sleeping bag on top of an animal skin. I slept well but don't relish sleeping in my wooly hat ever again. In summary a 1 off experience but next time will save up for an igloo!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

One night is definitely enough here if you are staying in the snow hotel as we did. They tell you that on their website though. It is a fun but strange experience as you don't hang out in your room, you only sleep there. It is way too cold to hang out and during the day visitors can walk in to take a look as all the suites have different ice sculptures and lighting inside (there is a do not disturb sign though). We had a delicious salmon dinner in the warm restaurant there and then a drink in the ice bar which is fun. Then you strip off and run to your room in your thermals and with a couple of sleeping bags with you.
Neither of us sleep particularly well that night. Tossing and turning to get comfortable. We were warm most of the night but getting out to go to the toilet block outside the room was a challenge! We were both very happy to get woken up with hot blueberry juice in the morning! I'm glad we did it but it feels very much like a challenge than a comfortable night's sleep - you even get a certificate at the end!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HLE_Caterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

The Glass Igloos is probably in the dream list for many and it is definitely in mine. It is definitely everything like you saw in the pictures, simply fantastic. With its own bathroom facilities and in room breakfast, I could really stay here for years if not the for the high cost. You will need to utilise the handphone provided for the aurora alert. Got to be very lucky to be able to view aurora as I was there during a cloudy night but nonetheless it is a treasured experience. I would recommend everyone to try this at least once in your life.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. There is an aurora alarm inside the room that you can just switch on and you will hear an alarm sound in case there are northern lights so no need to use phones for it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinetta
23.0 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
93 reviews
24.5 km away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
23.0 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
23.0 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
22.6 km away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#8 of 13 in Rovaniemi
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos

Address: Lehtoahontie 27, Sinetta 97220, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Sinetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Price Range: ₱15,622 - ₱48,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCTIC SNOWHOTEL Our SnowHotel sleeps 70 guests and is one of the largest in the Nordic region. This spectacularly handsome building is carved each year to be different in appearance. The walls and furniture surfaces of the unique rooms are decorated with ice art and illuminated artwork. The room temperature is 0–5C°, but using the sleeping bags intended for extreme conditions combined with reindeer furs, you can be sure you will stay in warmth and comfort. On the shores of the lake the moonlight, stars and Northern Lights illuminate the silent, Lappish nature. As our guest you will have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you. GLASS IGLOOS Next to SnowHotel you will find the tranquillity of the glass igloos. Staying overnight in a glass igloo feels like sleeping in the open, but inside the igloo it is just as warm and cosy as a hotel. The igloo village is set in an opening surrounded by pine trees, sufficiently far away from the city lights, making ideal conditions for watching the Northern Lights and enjoying starry skies. Have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you: once the Aurora Alarm has woken you up, all you need to do is open your eyes, look at the night sky and enjoy the sight from the comfort of your bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing