We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so particular and unique!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Certificate of Excellence
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's so particular and unique!”
Reviewed January 9, 2017

We visited with a WILD NORDIC tour, included transfert, guided tour and dinner.
It has been an amazing experience!! The ice hotel is in the same complex with the famous igloos. So when you arrive you can see all these igloos in the snow and then, you enter in the hotel. the guide go throught the hotel and you can enter in the rooms, in the chapel, in the ice bar and in the resaturant...it's so unusual and peculiar! we enjoyed a lot. Moreover the location is perfect to see the aurora borealis. We had so much luck to see it right before the dinner at 18:30. Dinner is fantastic! the restaurant is cozy and with a lot of atmosphere. The food is good, we tried the elk and the dessert is served in an ice plate. Water and bread is free but if you want to order something else there are different options (glogi,berry juice hot, wine, beer atc ...). You can warm up in the near wood chalet when you need.

Room Tip: standard rooms are too much simple and basic. If you want to stay in, the suites are highly raccomen...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank millyscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for your comments, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour. Our visit programmes are arranged daily until end of March and you can book those on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    18
    14
    5
See reviews for
58
113
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Ok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

We had a family igloo and were surprised how spacious it was! Cozy warm igloos, and we watched the northern lights from it! There is a full bathroom with hot water! Alarm wakes you up when there are northern lights out so you don't have to worry about sleeping through them. Toured snow hotel and the sculptures were beautiful. The ice restaurant was fun!

Stayed January 2017, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank amandakaypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for your comments, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Family glass igloos are quite spacious, size is 33m2 and we can put 5 beds inside of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during new year at the 2 person glass igloo. The hotel can be reached by scheduled bus ("airport express") or custom transport at costly rate. Travel time is 45minutes.

The glass igloos are individual "houses" with a glass dome above waist height that gives a good view of the sky and a hobbit height door. Be aware that there are no curtains and you will look into the adjacent igloo when you stand up, so get change in the toilet. Also the lights of the igloo must be turned off as be reflections on the glass is quite strong. Each igloo has its own toilet and shower, with 25min hot water. The beds are motorized. We didn't have much luck for the aurora during our stay thou.

Dinner in a all snow and ice structure is another one of a kind experience. The table and chair is made of ice with a reindeer skin on top to insulate. The inside temperature is around 0 degrees. The 3-course meal starts with soup, pre-ordered main course with the choice of salmon, elk and vegetarian and desert cake. The taste of food isn't the star here, and food do get cold ready fast as soon as a few photos. Drinks are expensive, but who wants icy cold water inside a room of ice?

The Kota is the other dinner restaurant in the hotel. This is a round wooden hut with a large fire place in the centre where the salmon is being grilled. The cooking of salmon is surprisingly skillfully done to achieve a juicy core for an enjoyable meal.

Breakfast buffet and lunch at the Log restaurant in the main building is somewhat disappointing. Given the premium price, one would expect something more delicate; but food choice and quality is poor especially when compared with other hotels in Finland. The other choices for lunch in the ice restaurant, or visit the town.

There are 3 activities available in the day organized by the hotel: ice fishing, snow show hiking and snow sculpturing. Ice fishing is an easy 1 hr activity that take place in the middle of a frozen lake adjacent to the hotel. Just simply drill through the ice and wait for the fish. We managed to catch 2 in the hour!

Snow shoe hiking is a more physically demanding activity which last for 2hrs. Its is advised to prepare good snow shoes yourself for this activity as the hotel only provide the decking (!), and the snow can be deep! The excursion trail can be adjusted according to your physical ability, from 3.5 to 10km. There are some breath-taking views of the Finnish forests along the hike and bringing a good camera along is recommended. Sausage grilling beside the lake is available but we are not bordered (not hungry and we had grilled a lot of sausages in this trip already).

Steam sauna inside a room made of snow is quite cool. However the duration is very short as the snow will melt.

Additional remarks:

Sledges are available to play with and moving luggages across snow.

Theres a raindeer/elk to feed next to the main building.

Weather is -25 degrees on our last day and even just walking from our igloo to the main building is painful!!!

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eugenearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for your comments and I am glad to hear that you had nice experiences with us - even the cold temperatures are an experience itself! I am sure that many people find the information you shared useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas in the snow hotel it's an experience of a lifetime especially if your lucky like us to admire the northern lights .. facilities are great bearing in mind that everything is made out of snow and ice and the staff is lovely and super helpful. We ate at the lappish kota restaurant as well the food was mouthwatering, the salmon was to die for

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
Good to hear that you had a great Christmas with us. Glow-fried salmon at Kota restaurant is our house specialty and highly recommended for all the guests - it is salmon at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Well for this Aussie who has always dreamed of a white Christmas, I found this place enchanting! The hotel itself is magnificent and the snow sketches beautiful. I thought the whole place was well set up and gave you insights into different ways you can experience Finland. As I was having a white Christmas this year I had to stay in an igloo and that is exactly what I did. With the toasty warm sleeping bag I slept like a baby but did dread getting out of bed in the morning! I found all the staff super friendly and helpful.

To top of the night it snowed!!! So I was overjoyed. Not that this really had anything to do with the hotel itself but it was a stunning setting (with their reindeer, log dining cabin, igloos and teepee restaurant) to have it snow in! I would recommend getting there earlier in the day to try and see the frozen lake during "daylight".

*Just make sure you have a few options to pay as my debit credit card did not work here despite working everywhere else in Finland. Also it is an expensive taxi ride to get there so try get on a transfer bus if you can!

I truly loved the experience here :-)

Room Tip: I just had the standard snow room and it was all I wanted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
I am happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us and white Christmas that you dreamed of. It is true that taking our transfer is the least expensive option to get to our hotel and quite convenient as well as we arrange it four times a day. We recommend arrival early in the afternoon so that you have a chance to see the place in daylight and have time to do all the activities that you wish to do and that everything is not too rushed so you have also time to sit down and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinetta
23.1 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
74 reviews
23.0 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
343 reviews
24.5 km away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
3.0 km away
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
249 reviews
22.8 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos

Property: Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Address: Lehtoahontie 27, Sinetta 97220, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Sinetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Price range (per night): ₱14,378 - ₱23,527
Hotel Class:3 star — Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCTIC SNOWHOTEL Our SnowHotel sleeps 70 guests and is one of the largest in the Nordic region. This spectacularly handsome building is carved each year to be different in appearance. The walls and furniture surfaces of the unique rooms are decorated with ice art and illuminated artwork. The room temperature is 0–5C°, but using the sleeping bags intended for extreme conditions combined with reindeer furs, you can be sure you will stay in warmth and comfort. On the shores of the lake the moonlight, stars and Northern Lights illuminate the silent, Lappish nature. As our guest you will have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you. GLASS IGLOOS Next to SnowHotel you will find the tranquillity of the glass igloos. Staying overnight in a glass igloo feels like sleeping in the open, but inside the igloo it is just as warm and cosy as a hotel. The igloo village is set in an opening surrounded by pine trees, sufficiently far away from the city lights, making ideal conditions for watching the Northern Lights and enjoying starry skies. Have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you: once the Aurora Alarm has woken you up, all you need to do is open your eyes, look at the night sky and enjoy the sight from the comfort of your bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing