We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Nearby Hotels
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelli Aakenus(Rovaniemi)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Rovaniemi(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Santa's Hotel Santa Claus(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arctic City Hotel(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Claus Holiday Village(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
145
127
35
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
127
35
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnow hotelice restaurantsleeping baglocker roomsalmonaurora alarmunique experienceone nightglass iglooonce in a lifetimenorthern lightsice roombaked potatobucket listice sculpturessnow and icewarm room
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during new year at the 2 person glass igloo. The hotel can be reached by scheduled bus ("airport express") or custom transport at costly rate. Travel time is 45minutes.

The glass igloos are individual "houses" with a glass dome above waist height that gives a good view of the sky and a hobbit height door. Be aware that there are no curtains and you will look into the adjacent igloo when you stand up, so get change in the toilet. Also the lights of the igloo must be turned off as be reflections on the glass is quite strong. Each igloo has its own toilet and shower, with 25min hot water. The beds are motorized. We didn't have much luck for the aurora during our stay thou.

Dinner in a all snow and ice structure is another one of a kind experience. The table and chair is made of ice with a reindeer skin on top to insulate. The inside temperature is around 0 degrees. The 3-course meal starts with soup, pre-ordered main course with the choice of salmon, elk and vegetarian and desert cake. The taste of food isn't the star here, and food do get cold ready fast as soon as a few photos. Drinks are expensive, but who wants icy cold water inside a room of ice?

The Kota is the other dinner restaurant in the hotel. This is a round wooden hut with a large fire place in the centre where the salmon is being grilled. The cooking of salmon is surprisingly skillfully done to achieve a juicy core for an enjoyable meal.

Breakfast buffet and lunch at the Log restaurant in the main building is somewhat disappointing. Given the premium price, one would expect something more delicate; but food choice and quality is poor especially when compared with other hotels in Finland. The other choices for lunch in the ice restaurant, or visit the town.

There are 3 activities available in the day organized by the hotel: ice fishing, snow show hiking and snow sculpturing. Ice fishing is an easy 1 hr activity that take place in the middle of a frozen lake adjacent to the hotel. Just simply drill through the ice and wait for the fish. We managed to catch 2 in the hour!

Snow shoe hiking is a more physically demanding activity which last for 2hrs. Its is advised to prepare good snow shoes yourself for this activity as the hotel only provide the decking (!), and the snow can be deep! The excursion trail can be adjusted according to your physical ability, from 3.5 to 10km. There are some breath-taking views of the Finnish forests along the hike and bringing a good camera along is recommended. Sausage grilling beside the lake is available but we are not bordered (not hungry and we had grilled a lot of sausages in this trip already).

Steam sauna inside a room made of snow is quite cool. However the duration is very short as the snow will melt.

Additional remarks:

Sledges are available to play with and moving luggages across snow.

Theres a raindeer/elk to feed next to the main building.

Weather is -25 degrees on our last day and even just walking from our igloo to the main building is painful!!!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank eugenearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for your comments and I am glad to hear that you had nice experiences with us - even the cold temperatures are an experience itself! I am sure that many people find the information you shared useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas in the snow hotel it's an experience of a lifetime especially if your lucky like us to admire the northern lights .. facilities are great bearing in mind that everything is made out of snow and ice and the staff is lovely and super helpful. We ate at the lappish kota restaurant as well the food was mouthwatering, the salmon was to die for

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Good to hear that you had a great Christmas with us. Glow-fried salmon at Kota restaurant is our house specialty and highly recommended for all the guests - it is salmon at its best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Well for this Aussie who has always dreamed of a white Christmas, I found this place enchanting! The hotel itself is magnificent and the snow sketches beautiful. I thought the whole place was well set up and gave you insights into different ways you can experience Finland. As I was having a white Christmas this year I had to stay in an igloo and that is exactly what I did. With the toasty warm sleeping bag I slept like a baby but did dread getting out of bed in the morning! I found all the staff super friendly and helpful.

To top of the night it snowed!!! So I was overjoyed. Not that this really had anything to do with the hotel itself but it was a stunning setting (with their reindeer, log dining cabin, igloos and teepee restaurant) to have it snow in! I would recommend getting there earlier in the day to try and see the frozen lake during "daylight".

*Just make sure you have a few options to pay as my debit credit card did not work here despite working everywhere else in Finland. Also it is an expensive taxi ride to get there so try get on a transfer bus if you can!

I truly loved the experience here :-)

Room Tip: I just had the standard snow room and it was all I wanted!
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmakproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

I am happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us and white Christmas that you dreamed of. It is true that taking our transfer is the least expensive option to get to our hotel and quite convenient as well as we arrange it four times a day. We recommend arrival early in the afternoon so that you have a chance to see the place in daylight and have time to do all the activities that you wish to do and that everything is not too rushed so you have also time to sit down and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed at their g lass igloos and the experience was exhilarating! They even have Northern Lights alarm for when the Aurora Borealis comes up. Sadly when we arrived it was snowing so weather conditions didn't allow us to see the Northern Lights, and we woke up our glass ceiling was powdered with snow. Not exactly the view I wanted but seeing under snow was still fun and we had to make the best out of a so-so situation. The bathroom per igloo was excellent though! The shower area is cramped but the other parts of the bathroom where the latrine and sink is were spacious for my standard! The hot water is EXCELLENT. It lasts for just 25 minutes so time your hot water usage wisely, especially if you're travelling with a partner, because once the hot water is used up it takes hours for new water to be heated again!

Unfortunately I wasn't able to check their wifi connection because I was too busy taking photographs outside their igloos. Even at the blistering cold I found myself outside doing artsy shots, it's like the igloos themselves are an attraction, especially when the sun is rising or coming down with the ambient lighting on the trees still up, they make absolutely stunning photos! Since we arrived in November, the annual ice hotel is still being freshly carved so we obviously weren't able to use the facilities, since they weren't even built yet! However taking pics with the "under construction" view of the ice hotel is still good though.

For me their beds are too narrow and the pillows are too thin. Just nitpicking though, because the comfort is still there and the staff was very accommodating. Also when you go to the dining area at the main lodge, make sure to buy one of those 10-euro glass igloo snowglobes! Not sure if other glass igloo hotels have them, but they do! They also sell nifty pouches and pens with moose and husky plushes on them, perfect as gifts for friends back home.

Overall, a wonderful experience! Check these guys out!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hot water lasts for 25 min if you use it all at once but if you have 2 people showering, you can take maybe shower for 15 minutes per person and if that wasn't enough for you, you can go to our sauna building during common sauna time in the evening and have sauna and shower for free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed in the glass igloo for one night and it was wonderful. It was very large, lovely and warm in the -12 degC weather, and extremely cosy to watch the northern lights from bed! The shower had excellent hot water that latest for 50 minutes which was plenty. And the wifi was strong!
We also had dinner in the ice restaurant. Highly recommend this experience, and we took our 3 year old. My father stayed in the ice room. It was an excellent experience, but there are no actual doors - it's just a curtain, and tourists wander in and out of the rooms so there is limited privacy. He also said the bathrooms were extremely slippery. You can get most of the experience by eating in the restaurant, drinking in the ice bar and checking out the ice rooms.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Glass igloos are suitable for children as well and for family glass igloo we can put even 5 beds. Arctic SnowHotel is not recommended for children under 5 years old due to the cold weather. There are no doors inside the SnowHotel but you can put your valuables into safety lockers. There are normal locks and doors in glass igloos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews