We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of a type experience but with premium payment.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“One of a type experience but with premium payment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during new year at the 2 person glass igloo. The hotel can be reached by scheduled bus ("airport express") or custom transport at costly rate. Travel time is 45minutes.

The glass igloos are individual "houses" with a glass dome above waist height that gives a good view of the sky and a hobbit height door. Be aware that there are no curtains and you will look into the adjacent igloo when you stand up, so get change in the toilet. Also the lights of the igloo must be turned off as be reflections on the glass is quite strong. Each igloo has its own toilet and shower, with 25min hot water. The beds are motorized. We didn't have much luck for the aurora during our stay thou.

Dinner in a all snow and ice structure is another one of a kind experience. The table and chair is made of ice with a reindeer skin on top to insulate. The inside temperature is around 0 degrees. The 3-course meal starts with soup, pre-ordered main course with the choice of salmon, elk and vegetarian and desert cake. The taste of food isn't the star here, and food do get cold ready fast as soon as a few photos. Drinks are expensive, but who wants icy cold water inside a room of ice?

The Kota is the other dinner restaurant in the hotel. This is a round wooden hut with a large fire place in the centre where the salmon is being grilled. The cooking of salmon is surprisingly skillfully done to achieve a juicy core for an enjoyable meal.

Breakfast buffet and lunch at the Log restaurant in the main building is somewhat disappointing. Given the premium price, one would expect something more delicate; but food choice and quality is poor especially when compared with other hotels in Finland. The other choices for lunch in the ice restaurant, or visit the town.

There are 3 activities available in the day organized by the hotel: ice fishing, snow show hiking and snow sculpturing. Ice fishing is an easy 1 hr activity that take place in the middle of a frozen lake adjacent to the hotel. Just simply drill through the ice and wait for the fish. We managed to catch 2 in the hour!

Snow shoe hiking is a more physically demanding activity which last for 2hrs. Its is advised to prepare good snow shoes yourself for this activity as the hotel only provide the decking (!), and the snow can be deep! The excursion trail can be adjusted according to your physical ability, from 3.5 to 10km. There are some breath-taking views of the Finnish forests along the hike and bringing a good camera along is recommended. Sausage grilling beside the lake is available but we are not bordered (not hungry and we had grilled a lot of sausages in this trip already).

Steam sauna inside a room made of snow is quite cool. However the duration is very short as the snow will melt.

Additional remarks:

Sledges are available to play with and moving luggages across snow.

Theres a raindeer/elk to feed next to the main building.

Weather is -25 degrees on our last day and even just walking from our igloo to the main building is painful!!!

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eugenearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments and I am glad to hear that you had nice experiences with us - even the cold temperatures are an experience itself! I am sure that many people find the information you shared useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    63
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
46
75
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas in the snow hotel it's an experience of a lifetime especially if your lucky like us to admire the northern lights .. facilities are great bearing in mind that everything is made out of snow and ice and the staff is lovely and super helpful. We ate at the lappish kota restaurant as well the food was mouthwatering, the salmon was to die for

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good to hear that you had a great Christmas with us. Glow-fried salmon at Kota restaurant is our house specialty and highly recommended for all the guests - it is salmon at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well for this Aussie who has always dreamed of a white Christmas, I found this place enchanting! The hotel itself is magnificent and the snow sketches beautiful. I thought the whole place was well set up and gave you insights into different ways you can experience Finland. As I was having a white Christmas this year I had to stay in an igloo and that is exactly what I did. With the toasty warm sleeping bag I slept like a baby but did dread getting out of bed in the morning! I found all the staff super friendly and helpful.

To top of the night it snowed!!! So I was overjoyed. Not that this really had anything to do with the hotel itself but it was a stunning setting (with their reindeer, log dining cabin, igloos and teepee restaurant) to have it snow in! I would recommend getting there earlier in the day to try and see the frozen lake during "daylight".

*Just make sure you have a few options to pay as my debit credit card did not work here despite working everywhere else in Finland. Also it is an expensive taxi ride to get there so try get on a transfer bus if you can!

I truly loved the experience here :-)

Room Tip: I just had the standard snow room and it was all I wanted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us and white Christmas that you dreamed of. It is true that taking our transfer is the least expensive option to get to our hotel and quite convenient as well as we arrange it four times a day. We recommend arrival early in the afternoon so that you have a chance to see the place in daylight and have time to do all the activities that you wish to do and that everything is not too rushed so you have also time to sit down and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at their g lass igloos and the experience was exhilarating! They even have Northern Lights alarm for when the Aurora Borealis comes up. Sadly when we arrived it was snowing so weather conditions didn't allow us to see the Northern Lights, and we woke up our glass ceiling was powdered with snow. Not exactly the view I wanted but seeing under snow was still fun and we had to make the best out of a so-so situation. The bathroom per igloo was excellent though! The shower area is cramped but the other parts of the bathroom where the latrine and sink is were spacious for my standard! The hot water is EXCELLENT. It lasts for just 25 minutes so time your hot water usage wisely, especially if you're travelling with a partner, because once the hot water is used up it takes hours for new water to be heated again!

Unfortunately I wasn't able to check their wifi connection because I was too busy taking photographs outside their igloos. Even at the blistering cold I found myself outside doing artsy shots, it's like the igloos themselves are an attraction, especially when the sun is rising or coming down with the ambient lighting on the trees still up, they make absolutely stunning photos! Since we arrived in November, the annual ice hotel is still being freshly carved so we obviously weren't able to use the facilities, since they weren't even built yet! However taking pics with the "under construction" view of the ice hotel is still good though.

For me their beds are too narrow and the pillows are too thin. Just nitpicking though, because the comfort is still there and the staff was very accommodating. Also when you go to the dining area at the main lodge, make sure to buy one of those 10-euro glass igloo snowglobes! Not sure if other glass igloo hotels have them, but they do! They also sell nifty pouches and pens with moose and husky plushes on them, perfect as gifts for friends back home.

Overall, a wonderful experience! Check these guys out!

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hot water lasts for 25 min if you use it all at once but if you have 2 people showering, you can take maybe shower for 15 minutes per person and if that wasn't enough for you, you can go to our sauna building during common sauna time in the evening and have sauna and shower for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the glass igloo for one night and it was wonderful. It was very large, lovely and warm in the -12 degC weather, and extremely cosy to watch the northern lights from bed! The shower had excellent hot water that latest for 50 minutes which was plenty. And the wifi was strong!
We also had dinner in the ice restaurant. Highly recommend this experience, and we took our 3 year old. My father stayed in the ice room. It was an excellent experience, but there are no actual doors - it's just a curtain, and tourists wander in and out of the rooms so there is limited privacy. He also said the bathrooms were extremely slippery. You can get most of the experience by eating in the restaurant, drinking in the ice bar and checking out the ice rooms.

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Glass igloos are suitable for children as well and for family glass igloo we can put even 5 beds. Arctic SnowHotel is not recommended for children under 5 years old due to the cold weather. There are no doors inside the SnowHotel but you can put your valuables into safety lockers. There are normal locks and doors in glass igloos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinetta
23.1 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.9 km away
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
24.5 km away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#9 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
22.9 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#3 of 13 in Rovaniemi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
23.1 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos

Property: Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Address: Lehtoahontie 27, Sinetta 97220, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Sinetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Price range (per night): ₱13,472 - ₱22,204
Hotel Class:4 star — Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCTIC SNOWHOTEL Our SnowHotel sleeps 70 guests and is one of the largest in the Nordic region. This spectacularly handsome building is carved each year to be different in appearance. The walls and furniture surfaces of the unique rooms are decorated with ice art and illuminated artwork. The room temperature is 0–5C°, but using the sleeping bags intended for extreme conditions combined with reindeer furs, you can be sure you will stay in warmth and comfort. On the shores of the lake the moonlight, stars and Northern Lights illuminate the silent, Lappish nature. As our guest you will have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you. GLASS IGLOOS Next to SnowHotel you will find the tranquillity of the glass igloos. Staying overnight in a glass igloo feels like sleeping in the open, but inside the igloo it is just as warm and cosy as a hotel. The igloo village is set in an opening surrounded by pine trees, sufficiently far away from the city lights, making ideal conditions for watching the Northern Lights and enjoying starry skies. Have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you: once the Aurora Alarm has woken you up, all you need to do is open your eyes, look at the night sky and enjoy the sight from the comfort of your bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing