We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Star gazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Star gazing”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas in the snow hotel it's an experience of a lifetime especially if your lucky like us to admire the northern lights .. facilities are great bearing in mind that everything is made out of snow and ice and the staff is lovely and super helpful. We ate at the lappish kota restaurant as well the food was mouthwatering, the salmon was to die for

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
Good to hear that you had a great Christmas with us. Glow-fried salmon at Kota restaurant is our house specialty and highly recommended for all the guests - it is salmon at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    85
    17
    14
    5
See reviews for
56
112
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Well for this Aussie who has always dreamed of a white Christmas, I found this place enchanting! The hotel itself is magnificent and the snow sketches beautiful. I thought the whole place was well set up and gave you insights into different ways you can experience Finland. As I was having a white Christmas this year I had to stay in an igloo and that is exactly what I did. With the toasty warm sleeping bag I slept like a baby but did dread getting out of bed in the morning! I found all the staff super friendly and helpful.

To top of the night it snowed!!! So I was overjoyed. Not that this really had anything to do with the hotel itself but it was a stunning setting (with their reindeer, log dining cabin, igloos and teepee restaurant) to have it snow in! I would recommend getting there earlier in the day to try and see the frozen lake during "daylight".

*Just make sure you have a few options to pay as my debit credit card did not work here despite working everywhere else in Finland. Also it is an expensive taxi ride to get there so try get on a transfer bus if you can!

I truly loved the experience here :-)

Room Tip: I just had the standard snow room and it was all I wanted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
I am happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us and white Christmas that you dreamed of. It is true that taking our transfer is the least expensive option to get to our hotel and quite convenient as well as we arrange it four times a day. We recommend arrival early in the afternoon so that you have a chance to see the place in daylight and have time to do all the activities that you wish to do and that everything is not too rushed so you have also time to sit down and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2016

We stayed at their g lass igloos and the experience was exhilarating! They even have Northern Lights alarm for when the Aurora Borealis comes up. Sadly when we arrived it was snowing so weather conditions didn't allow us to see the Northern Lights, and we woke up our glass ceiling was powdered with snow. Not exactly the view I wanted but seeing under snow was still fun and we had to make the best out of a so-so situation. The bathroom per igloo was excellent though! The shower area is cramped but the other parts of the bathroom where the latrine and sink is were spacious for my standard! The hot water is EXCELLENT. It lasts for just 25 minutes so time your hot water usage wisely, especially if you're travelling with a partner, because once the hot water is used up it takes hours for new water to be heated again!

Unfortunately I wasn't able to check their wifi connection because I was too busy taking photographs outside their igloos. Even at the blistering cold I found myself outside doing artsy shots, it's like the igloos themselves are an attraction, especially when the sun is rising or coming down with the ambient lighting on the trees still up, they make absolutely stunning photos! Since we arrived in November, the annual ice hotel is still being freshly carved so we obviously weren't able to use the facilities, since they weren't even built yet! However taking pics with the "under construction" view of the ice hotel is still good though.

For me their beds are too narrow and the pillows are too thin. Just nitpicking though, because the comfort is still there and the staff was very accommodating. Also when you go to the dining area at the main lodge, make sure to buy one of those 10-euro glass igloo snowglobes! Not sure if other glass igloo hotels have them, but they do! They also sell nifty pouches and pens with moose and husky plushes on them, perfect as gifts for friends back home.

Overall, a wonderful experience! Check these guys out!

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Hot water lasts for 25 min if you use it all at once but if you have 2 people showering, you can take maybe shower for 15 minutes per person and if that wasn't enough for you, you can go to our sauna building during common sauna time in the evening and have sauna and shower for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2016

We stayed in the glass igloo for one night and it was wonderful. It was very large, lovely and warm in the -12 degC weather, and extremely cosy to watch the northern lights from bed! The shower had excellent hot water that latest for 50 minutes which was plenty. And the wifi was strong!
We also had dinner in the ice restaurant. Highly recommend this experience, and we took our 3 year old. My father stayed in the ice room. It was an excellent experience, but there are no actual doors - it's just a curtain, and tourists wander in and out of the rooms so there is limited privacy. He also said the bathrooms were extremely slippery. You can get most of the experience by eating in the restaurant, drinking in the ice bar and checking out the ice rooms.

Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Glass igloos are suitable for children as well and for family glass igloo we can put even 5 beds. Arctic SnowHotel is not recommended for children under 5 years old due to the cold weather. There are no doors inside the SnowHotel but you can put your valuables into safety lockers. There are normal locks and doors in glass igloos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
761 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2016

We spent one night in the Snow Hotel & enjoyed it as a one off adventure. The hotel is rebuilt each year with the season beginning in December. It's in the middle of nowhere so a good spot for the Northern Lights though sadly they were elusive during our visit. We booked the transfer from Rovaniemi, a large coach shared with visitors booked on tours of the hotel, for dinner, etc. It's quite the tourist attraction with various packages sold to non-residents. Paying visitors are free to look in all hotel rooms unless a Do not Disturb sign is displayed. It's a very commercial operation & feels so with paid up gawpers clogging the corridors. The chapel carved from ice is quite spectacular & the Ice Bar an Instagram friendly space. We ate in the Ice Restaurant which was pleasantly novel. They serve a pre-ordered 3 course menu priced at €58 per head, food is simple, unthrilling, & would have a value of no more then £20 in your local pub. I thought drinks quite reasonable considering, with a small glass of wine €7. Dinner is served at 7pm & was done & dusted within an hour. No-one lingers when it's sub zero.
There is also a kota style restaurant if you don't fancy dining in your coat.

On arrival overnighters are given a tour & shown the facilities including the locker room where you can store a small case. Further luggage is kept in an unsecured room near reception. The locker room also has a few bunks for anyone who can't hack a night on the ice slab. Having taken tips from this site we opted for the standard room as you can do nothing in them other then sleep. They house a bed made of ice with a reindeer fur laid over. Nothing else. They're dimly illuminated by LED & include a socket to charge a phone. The temperature is maintained between zero & minus five. Suites are much bigger & much prettier, individualised with striking ice sculptures. They are far more inviting & on first perusal I wished we'd opted for one instead of the bleak cupboard like standard room. But quite frankly when it comes to bedtime the experience is democratised & one & all will be grappling in near darkness to undress & get in that sleep bag asap. It's at this point you start to ask whose daft idea all this was anyway. Or why you didn't book one of their cosy igloos instead. Would it be a total walk of shame to creep out to those locker room bunks? The sleeping bags are very effective & we felt snug as a bug, it's the hardness of the surface that gets to you more. As a poor sleeper I popped a pill & was out 'til knock up time. We signed up to be woken in the event of the Aurora & thanked God it didn't show. At 7.30am they come round with drinks to wake you at which point you return your sleeping stuff & check out whose jibbed in the bunks. Quite a few!! Breakfast is served 7am until 10am in a soulless barn of a room. It's a dreary spread & feels horribly Butlins like, as does the awful shower block. I'm not a camping type. The hotel lacks a nice lounge, it isn't a place you want to loiter & I believe the majority of guests are one nighters. It would have suited me more if aspects outside of the sleeping experience were more luxurious but to be fair the accommodation price point isn't pitched that high, even if food is. There's not a fat lot to do barring the handful of activities (snow-shoeing, ice fishing, ice sculpting, sauna). Someone said the private snow sauna was amazing. Staff were all very nice but given the fast throughput it isn't a personalised experience. It's all pretty slick & chargeable transfers were prompt both ways. The hotel also has some luxury glass roofed igloos but these get booked up months ahead - & are for wimps. Only Snow hotel guests get a certificate to show they have endured in Arctic conditions!

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcticSnowHotel, Myyntipäällikkö at Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
Thank you for your comments. We do recommend only one night stay as it is quite extreme experience to stay in below zero degrees. Many guests also combine they stay; 1 night at SnowHotel and 1 or more nights in glass igloo. If you arrive in the afternoon, you will find that evening goes quite fast if you book sauna, dinner and maybe some outdoor activities. It is also good to reserve some time for just walking around SnowHotel and taking pictures.

I hope many people will find your informative comments valuable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinetta
23.0 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
318 reviews
23.1 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
66 reviews
3.0 km away
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge
#6 of 13 in Rovaniemi
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
23.0 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
22.8 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos

Property: Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos
Address: Lehtoahontie 27, Sinetta 97220, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Sinetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sinetta
Price range (per night): ₱13,405 - ₱34,136
Hotel Class:4 star — Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCTIC SNOWHOTEL Our SnowHotel sleeps 70 guests and is one of the largest in the Nordic region. This spectacularly handsome building is carved each year to be different in appearance. The walls and furniture surfaces of the unique rooms are decorated with ice art and illuminated artwork. The room temperature is 0–5C°, but using the sleeping bags intended for extreme conditions combined with reindeer furs, you can be sure you will stay in warmth and comfort. On the shores of the lake the moonlight, stars and Northern Lights illuminate the silent, Lappish nature. As our guest you will have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you. GLASS IGLOOS Next to SnowHotel you will find the tranquillity of the glass igloos. Staying overnight in a glass igloo feels like sleeping in the open, but inside the igloo it is just as warm and cosy as a hotel. The igloo village is set in an opening surrounded by pine trees, sufficiently far away from the city lights, making ideal conditions for watching the Northern Lights and enjoying starry skies. Have a good night’s sleep as the Aurora Alarm searches the skies for you: once the Aurora Alarm has woken you up, all you need to do is open your eyes, look at the night sky and enjoy the sight from the comfort of your bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arctic SnowHotel & Glass Igloos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing