We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
145
127
35
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
127
35
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow hotel ice restaurant sleeping bag aurora alarm locker room salmon unique experience one night glass igloo northern lights once in a lifetime ice room snow and ice warm room ice sculptures bucket list baked potato
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hotel offers 2 types of accommodation- the Snow Hotel and Glass Igloos.

The Snow Hotel is an architectural marvel, which is created fresh out of snow every year. It consists of sleeping rooms, a bar, and church. As you can guess, sleeping in one of the snow hotel rooms is definitely more of an adventure; and you are likely not to get the best sleep of your life. You are basically sleeping on hard ice with just a layer of fur in between. The hotel does provide warm clothing, in case you failed to fully comprehend the "coolness" of the situation. The atmosphere also feels very damp because of the all encompassing water / ice. Having said this, it is still definitely an adventure of a lifetime. So our recommendation would be spend may be one night here, and the rest in the more comfortable glass igloos.

The glass igloos are basically wooden cabins which are modeled in the style of igloos. The "glass" part comes from the transparent / translucent roof made of glass. The transparent roofs provide the perfect medium to experience 'Northern Lights' from the comfort of your bed. All the cabins have an attached bathroom and are centrally heated. So they provide the perfect compromise between luxury and ruggedness - you can basically "rough it up" in perfect luxury. The hotel also has a very nice restaurant serving authentic Finnish food in a cosy setting by the fireplace.

Room Tip: Glass igloos are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deb_Soma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We stayed at the Glass Igloo for four nights and then one night at the Snow Hotel. Glass Igloo was nice - however it's very hot during the day. We didn't have the luck to see the Northern Lights during our five nights there. Breakfast at this hotel was terrible. Everyday the same. They did NOT even let you have sunny side-up eggs. Basically, just eat what they give you. They don't care what you really need. A very commercial place with terrible quality of food. The bread was found moldy too... The restaurants at this hotel were very highly-priced as the hotel was located in the middle of no where, and guests have no other choices. Guests mostly spend only one night there must eat there. I recommend guests to buy their own food before you check-in. It will save quite some money. The Igloos are just next to each other, so do NOT be naked, as your neighbours can easily see you. Their shuttle bus services going to the city were quite expensive too. However, we did have a nice time a the glass igloo. Very relaxing when we walked out to the snowy lake, and we built a snowman too!

We spent our last night at the Snow Hotel. It was ...well... ok. Once is enough. The room basically had nothing (not even water). Please do NOT upgrade to those suites, it's waste of money as you would do nothing inside the snow room. I will still recommend people to try - as it's a quite interesting experience.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank PrincessYeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Friendly & helpful hotel staff welcomed us and spoke to us all the necessary information. Hotel provides some free slides and also gears for rental that you can use to slide or walk on the huge frozen lake in front of the resort. We had dinner at the ice restaurant inside the snow hotel, first time lifetime experience, should try & glad that me & hubby did, although it was indeed quite cold inside. We stayed 1 night at the glass igloo and it was very cosy with the right temperature, very clean too. Loved the roof top glass and that night we were grateful that we saw an abundance of beautiful Aurora Borealis dancing right in front of us from all over the sky in different directions, starting from 930pm when the Aurora alarm first sounded, till late 2-3am! Stay was indeed worthwhile and I certainly missed there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Zanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The Arctic Snowhotel offers two accommodation options, either in the glass igloos or in the snow hotel. My wife and I spent 2 nights in the glass igloos, which offers all the comfort of a normal hotel room – the actual ice hotel is made for the more adventurous, who are willing to spend a night at -7 °C temperatures! We traveled from South Africa which was experiencing a heatwave to Finland which was experiencing a cold snap, this meant going from +40 °C to -35 °C!
The glass igloos are made for viewing the northern lights, which we were lucky enough to see during our stay. The glass ceiling offers a panoramic view of the sky and the beds can be tilted up to offer a better view. There is also a northern lights alarm that can be set to go off when the lights are in the sky. Staying in the glass igloos also allowed us to tour the ice hotel, which is an astounding sight to see, with everything carved in ice and beautifully lit.
There are also three restaurants to choose from and we really enjoyed the salmon in the kota restaurant, which is quite a spectacle! The food was consistently good and the service friendly and efficient. As per the rest of our experience in Finland, English was well spoken by all the staff.
The hotel is set a little away from Rovaniemi, and there isn’t much to do at the hotel during the day, but transport is offered at set times to Rovaniemi where there are other attractions to experience.
We loved staying at the Arctic Snowhotel, it is definitely a once in a lifetime experience which we would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nick57519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The hotel was quite new and modern. Food was good during our stay. We stayed at those glass igloos for Aurora, also its snow hotel was too cold for us. The glass igloos were very modern and clean, the beds could be lifted up for us to search for aurora. Hot shower water was available for 25 mins only but we were fine with that. We also visited some of its snowhotel rooms, some were very nice in design. We enjoyed the tranquility of the glass igloos, on its comfy and warm beds, though we could not see the aurora this holiday. Staff were friendly there. We did not try the snow jacuzzi and it was snowing during our stay. The free Wi-Fi was available inside our igloos. We would highly recommend this hotel for its very nice environment and its beautiful glass igloos.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelholic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews