We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
45
66
36
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
66
36
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfy beddeer parkmini vacationcastlestylecenturybathstockholmswedenpersonnelaccommodationharbour
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Historic inn in a historic town, oozing with tales and traditions from past centuries. Comfortable and lavish guestrooms in traditional style, no hi-tech gadgets here. Excellent and reputable restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018

As family attending a wedding, we stayed nearby and enjoyed several functions and meals that seemed to please everyone in our party. The rooms that we saw were just what one would expect from lodging of this vintage; the public areas were comfortable and well-appointed. The restaurant and bar offerings were most acceptable.

Room Tip: For a splurge (the bride loved it!) select the Victoria Suite with views of the lake and its iconic Swedish castle
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank merrybrook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived by boat, and had booked a bnb premium room with breakfast. When we arrived we had to check in at one site and room was 2 km away. We asked for a transport and was rudely dismissed. The reception manager said: “Walk there yourselves, you were informed in the booking confirmation.”. We requested a transport, but was again refused.
The service level is way below any premium level. Don’t come here!!! Overpriced and under serviced!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in the most glorious weather, and rarely have I written a review with such a distance from the highs and the lows.

Let me start off on a positive note with the good.

+ The location is stunning! Just across a small inlet from the majestic 16th century Gripsholms Castle, in a small and quaint village and views to die for. Beautiful countryside to explore.

+ The rooms are quite nice, although the décor feels a bit dated.

+ The electrical Hästens beds are wonderful and the bed linens are fab.

+ The breakfast was nice, with a small but good selection.

And then for the not so good.

- The service. It can only be described as bizarrely Fawlty Toweresque. It was as the staff already knew that you wouldn’t come back - and that they really hated you for it. The attitude was worse than horrible. Every single interaction had ourselves, or overheard, were rude to the point of weirdness. When we summoned up the courage to tell the girl in the breakfast room that the cream was out, she growled that: ”IT’S JUST BEING MADE NOW!!!”.

- Part of the poor service, I think, is the gaul to ask close to USD50 per night for a cot. We travel extensively all over the world and this is the first time in such an expensive hotel that they don’t offer this with warmth and for free.

- The state of the rooms. Our 2 yo tried sitting on the pull-out sofa-bed, which immediately exploded like a giant mouse trap and almost killed him, the (plastic) toilet seat was broken, the sink was cracked, the (floor to ceiling) roller blinds wouldn’t come up unless you rolled it up by hand and every time people in the room above went to the toilet we could hear the Niagara Falls in our room.

- The ”cleaning”. A really enjoyable part of a mini vacation is the sensation of going out for a day of excursions and come back to a nice and clean room. Not so here. Upon returning to our room, the broken down sofa was still a wreck, the roller blinds were still down, cushions were on the floor, the bed linens were a mess and the towels were thrown over the towel rack.

On balance. If you just want a place to crash, have a nice breakfast and spend time in a lovely village with a really cool castle, you might like it here. If you want something more - avoid.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank BoMartin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen K, Försäljningschef at Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018
Google Translation

Tack för att ni tagit er tid att ge oss feedback.
Det gläder oss att höra att ni uppskattade vårt läge och våra sköna sängar.

När det gäller resterande del av er vistelse kan jag inte annat än att verkligen beklaga, vårt mål är att alla våra gäster ska känna sig sedda och få ett bra bemötande. Självklart ska vi tala med berörd personal om detta så att det inte ska upprepas.
Rummet som ni bokat säljs som deluxrum med sittgrupp och soffan är inte tänkt att användas som bäddsoffa. Önskar man ytterligare en säng i rummet så beställer man en extrasäng/babysäng för 325 kr per natt och då ingår även frukost. Barn under 6 år sover annars gratis i befintlig bädd.

Jag hoppas att ni väljer att komma tillbaka till oss vid ett annat tillfälle så att vi får en chans att visa att vi kan bättre. Om ni gör det får ni gärna kontakta mig direkt så ska jag se till att ni får en riktigt fin upplevelse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visiting dear Friends in Mariefred we stayed att Gripsholms värdshus BnB.
Our room nr 16, though not so big, had a wonderful view, comfy bed and felt really nice. The breakfast had all the things you'll normally find including breathtaking views of the castle and surrounding Waters.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank myaygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews