We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Speyside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
US$159
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$203
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$348
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$150
US$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
35
24
11
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
24
11
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextra diverssound of the wavesthe reefslocal seafoodlocal attractionsgreat divingdive siteslaid backbrain coralfishhotel restaurantcurrentsaccommodationsbalconybirdwatchersislandtobago
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2018

My friend and I enjoyed a great week's guided diving with Xtra Divers, staying at the Speyside Inn. I had visited the Speyside Inn before and everything was as good as it's ever been.

The accommodation is comfortable and clean. Plenty of hot water etc. Mosi nets and coils provided. Clothes pegs and washing line on the balcony were a nice touch.

The dive centre staff are excellent. All worked very well. The diving arrangements are pretty hands on (more like club diving than, say, a liveaboard). On the last day did the local guide not show, but Manager Roberto stepped up and guided that day - he was a great guide on many of our dives.

Roberto and managing partner Debi are doing a fine job. They are into their second year so know lots of the sites and seasonal variations.

The hotel restaurant is very good - we enjoyed good local seafood, freshly prepared. A highlight was curried lionfish with coconut - helping to control these invasive, predatory fish that are now seen on most dives. Indeed, Roberto is keen to make the restaurant sustainable by selecting the menu. So, if you want a lobster, you'll have to go down the road: there are plenty of choices nearby.

The diving was very good - even though recent rain dropped the vis a bit, and then gave rise to some green in the water. The currents were a little less than on previous visits. We dived some amazing sites: the glorious Japanese Garden, Book Ends, Coral Garden, Runaway... to name but a few of the 30+ sites nearby.

We saw rays, turtles, lots of morrays of different kinds, The Biggest Brain Coral, Royal Gramma, octopus, barracuda, tarpon, lobster, shrimps. The reefs and the fishery seem in good shape.

The location is great - easy to get access to the Atlantic and Caribbean sides of the Island and enjoy the beaches, restaurants, forest and bird life, and to lime like a local.

Thanks to Roberto, Debi and their team for an excellent holiday.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

A wonderfully relaxing location, the sound of the waves to wake up to, go to sleep to and even eat to ! Humming birds visit the garden and this is kept tidy and natural. The food is delicious and creative with ample choice. Roberto and Debbie do what they can to make your stay excellent. Extremely clean.
The diving has got to be ranked amongst the top 6 locations in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

I recently returned from a great trip to the island of Tobago, off the coast of Venezuela. I went with my nephew Andre, who is a brand new diver and currently getting his PhD in Biology at LSU, with an emphasis in ornithology. We wanted to pick a location that would have good diving and lots of great birds, so he could show me the birds, and I could show him the diving. Speyside, Tobago was just the ticket.

For our lodging and diving, we chose the Speyside Inn, managed by a lovely Dutch couple, Roberto and Debbie, who looked after our every need. The diving was done by Extra Divers Worldwide, and they were on site for easy and convenient service.

The lodge itself is right on the ocean, overlooking the smaller Goat Island, and Little Tobago, which is a large bird sanctuary. The diving around those two islands is reputed to be the best Trinidad and Tobago have to offer, and we were very pleased with what we saw (more on the diving in a minute). The lodge itself has around 20 rooms, nearly all of which have a beautiful ocean view. In fact, we could hear the waves crashing on the beach every night as we went to sleep. We did our trip in mid-June, which is right on the edge of the rainy season, so this was actually their slow season, and the lodge was fairly empty. However, the rain was never a problem in terms of our enjoyment. It would come and go quickly, and usually at night. There is a beautiful dining area, also looking over the ocean, and the meals were delicious. The package that we bought included free, complete breakfasts, and we often also ate our lunches and dinners there, sometimes alternating with a quick walk into town. The chef went out of her way to accommodate my nephew’s vegetarian diet, and the food prices seemed reasonable for the area at about fifteen USD for lunch and 25 for dinner. There were also several good choices within a 10 minute walk in town.

Immediately behind the main row of rooms, and going up on a hill were more luxurious accommodations, and also bigger rooms that could accommodate families, complete with kitchenettes. There were also beautiful gardens and a pool with a fantastic view of the whole area, and rain forest right behind the property. We saw many beautiful tropical birds right on site.

The diving experience was very intimate, with only me and my nephew, a boat man and a dive master on each trip, which worked out perfectly, since my nephew was a new diver. The sites are close, usually less than 10 minutes from the resort, and the reefs were very healthy. The waters around Tobago are not as clear as in some other parts of the Caribbean, because the Orinoco river empties into the ocean from nearby Venezuela, but we found vis to still be quite good at 40-80 feet, and the coral life was unbelievably dense, due to the nutrient-rich waters. In fact, the largest known Brain Coral is there, which we had the opportunity to see. There were all the usual Caribbean creatures one would expect, including Green and Spotted Morays, Turtles, Nurse Sharks (also Blacktips), an Eagle Ray, Parrot and Trigger fish, Trumpet fish, Trunkfish, Jawfish, etc. We saw turtles on over half the dives, and free-swimming morays were a particular treat. There weren’t as many bigger fish and groupers as I have seen in places like the Cayman Islands and Cozumel, but we were also limited in our choices of dive sites, due to my nephew Andre’s newness to the sport. Since this was his first chance to dive in the ocean, he was absolutely thrilled with the number of creatures he was able to see, and was excitedly pointing out Nurse sharks and eels by the end of our week. Our favorite dive sites were Blackjack Hole, Japanese Gardens, and Bookends.

The birding was even better than the diving. Andre did a careful study in advance of all the birds we were likely to see, and he was able to locate nearly all of them. He downloaded audio files of their calls, and played them while we were out in the rainforest to lure the birds in so we could see and photograph them. We would typically get up early, do a little birding around the resort, then do our two dives, and then out for more birding in the afternoons and evenings. We spent 3 hours on Little Tobago Island, enjoying multiple nesting Gulls, Frigates, Boobies, and Tropic Birds, among others, and also went to a hummingbird sanctuary on a hill above town where we were able to see and photograph all 6 of the local hummingbirds.
We also did a 5 hour hike through the rainforest in the Main Ridge Reserve and notched quite a few more great birds, but then ended up seeing a lot of the same ones, like the Trinidad Motmot right on the grounds of the resort.

All in all, we had a great experience. The prices were very reasonable—it is around 1000 per person per week, which includes 10 dives, an ocean view room, and full breakfast. If you are someone who is looking for great and interesting diving, and a great topside nature experience as well, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mtmel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

This is good place to get away from the "city" life. quite & laid back. No matter which room you get, your view from the balcony is that of the sea and Little Tobago The owners & staff are always there to assist.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacynlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

So much better! Rooms are great, near the sea and close to restaurants.
Friendly staff and very nice and helpfull owners. Clean outside, pretty garden, well mantained pool and wonderfull sundeck.
10 mins walk and you are in the city.
Do recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emelie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews