We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
200
326
100
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
326
100
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool folk dancers sea view junior suite very nice hotel excellent supermarket superb beach small gym quiet location restaurants within walking distance short walk from the hotel breakfast buffet is bed room themed nights animation team the hotel offers kids club
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel , we found the staff very friendly and helpful , our room was very spacious , clean and very well decorated , we were all inclusive and found the food and drink very good , and would highly recommend ordering off the bar snack menu for a tasty snack , I would recommend this hotel , there are many lovely beaches close by , but if you like to venture out would recommend you hire a car we did and found lots of beautiful marinas and beaches all within a few minutes drive , Thankyou all for a lovely holiday X

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Vila Galé Atlântico hotel for your stay in Algarve. We were very pleased to read your message about our hotel and team. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests.
We look forward to having you back again!
Yours faithfully,
Luis Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Myself and my family enjoyed a wonderful holiday at Vila Gale Atlantico in May 2018. There were a couple of things that could be improved but on the whole it was great.
The reception staff were efficient and helpful. Check in was quick, easy and informative.
The rooms were spacious and spotless, there was a maid service everyday and the pillows were lovely and comfortable.
The food at the buffet restaurant was the best I've experienced on an all inclusive with a large choice. The snack bar that's available in the daytime was excellent also. As was the service. They serve some really great sandwiches, salads, wraps and burgers. Cooked to order so lovely and fresh.
The management staff are very friendly and helpful and its also nice to see management helping the waiting on staff and the kitchen staff. Its a real team effort and they clearly take pride in the hotel and their service.
The children's pool / small park suited our family perfectly (we have a 3 year old and a 5 year old) and there was also a trampoline which provided hours of fun!
The bar staff of an evening were wonderful and also provided table service which was a nice touch (even if they were busy).
The location is quiet but the beach is beautiful and the views are lovely. There is a large supermarket nearby which stocks EVERYTHING! It also has a bakery, butchers, fishmongers and pharmacy inside.

A couple of things that could be improved.....the evening entertainment.
The entertainment programme stated that there was a "mini disco" at 8.30 every night. This only happened twice during our ten night stay. Not such a problem for the adults but hard to explain to an excited 5 year old that it might happen/ might not happen.
The animation team was 4 young girls and a young lad. The boy was clearly the star of the show and the girls attempted to follow (looking a bit like lost puppies!!)
However, there was a singer on the Sunday night who was nice to listen to and the folk dancers on the Tuesday evening were very entertaining.

The kids club was poor. This may have been because we were early in the season but when your 5 year old walks into a kids club and isn't greeted with so much as an "hello" or "what would you like to do/play"? The kids club basically consisted of 3 young Portuguese girls who didn't look up from their I phones/ conversations but if your child wanted to do some colouring in whilst being completely ignored, they were very welcome to do so! That said.......the young lad was in the kids area once and he was much better than the girls. The English girl that worked there was also far more welcoming.
The only other small point that could be improved upon was the service at the cooking station at breakfast. The lady who was cooking eggs and omelettes to order was very slow. If there were 4 people waiting for a fried egg she would cook them one at a time! Watch one cook, serve it, then watch the next one cook. On a grill that size, its not too difficult to cook more than one egg/ omelette!!

To summarise.........it was a wonderful holiday and the couple of (small) negative points would not put me off returning to this hotel in the future.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank team c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Vila Galé Atlântico hotel for your stay in Algarve. We were very pleased to read your message about our hotel and team. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests.
We look forward to having you back again!
Yours faithfully,
Luis Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Arrived 14th May 2018 for a 12-night stay. First impressions were very good, nice hotel set in beautiful grounds, surrounded by luxury villas. The hotel is only a short walk from a fantastic beach. Our room was ground floor land-side and was not ideal. It was clean and well-kept, but it had a sofa bed which was not fit for purpose, we prefer a room with a 3rd bed. The wall of the land side of the building was covered in swallow nests and our patio was continually covered in bird droppings, so could not sit outside. The first week of our stay was very good and very quiet but by the second week the hotel was full of people from tour companies which grid locked the dining room and bar area. One evening we dined at a local restaurant because the dining room was full. The food was quite good especially in the outside snack bar. We were served by a lovely lady we think was called Gracinda. The animation team were not very good, and the entertainment was primarily aimed at children, apart from a visit from the local Portuguese dancing group. Thank you to a great barman Hugo. We would not stay there again unless we could have a 3rd bed in the room and on the sea view side of the hotel.

Room tip: Asked for sea view side !
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your experience in Vila Galé Atlântico Hotel. We apologize if we couldn't be up to some of your expectations but let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your comments with us. Your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement by solving those and continue trying to exceed expectations. On our own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Atlântico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.
Kind regards
Luis Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We stayed at the Vila Gale Atlantico in the middle of this month, May 2018. We previously stayed there in mid May 2015. The hotel has a lot going for it, it is a few hundred yards from a pleasant beach which stretches away to Armação de Pêra
several miles away part of which textile and textile free bathing is acceptable. A boardwalk part of which runs alongside an impressive lake nature reserve with its observation platform and from which an impressive range of land and sea birds can be observed, is well maintained and used by walkers and cyclists alike. The hotel is on a bus route to Albufeira centre the fare being 3 euros 60 one way. For convenience we chose to come back by taxi which cost the two of us 12 euros, cheaper if you were to share. In 2015 an issue for us was the standard of room maintenance during our stay. It was poor, due, we were told, to staffing problems. This time we were delighted with the excellent standard of friendly room service we received probably up with the best we have experienced in Portugal and Spain. With regards to friendliness, it was a joy to walk into the restaurant to be greeted in such a friendly and courteous way by all members of its staff alike, and we found the snack bar staff very engaging especially the lady with glasses who was there for most of the time. We found the female reception staff were always friendly and helpful, however one male member at reception let the side down. We thought he was brusque and we thought that it was not polite of him to carry on two lengthy telephone conversations whilst booking us in, the only guests doing so in the early afternoon.
There was a good range of food to suit everyone tastes. I loved the red wine, probably too much!! At times, and I know we were there in the early part of the season, not all of the food that should have been hot, was hot. Again, it was clear that restaurant managers were aware of this and were actively trying to do something about it. A tip from me, if you like your food really hot, order from the snack bar menu especially if you like chips!
I am really sorry to have to say this we both thought that the standard of the entertainment had gone down since our last visit. We really enjoyed it last time. This time it was amateurish, lacked sophistication, often looking as though it was just cobbled together. Audiences were sparse and had it not been for the children who stayed up late, the evenings would have been boring. The only saving grace was the evening when we were entertained by the folk dancers. That was a good evening. To end on a lighter note, the main bar staff were brilliant, they at least, successfully worked very hard to make our evenings enjoyable despite the shortcomings of the entertainment. So thanks chaps!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Vila Galé Atlântico hotel for your stay in Algarve. We were very pleased to read your message about our hotel and team. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests.
We look forward to having you back again!
Yours faithfully,
Luis Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Accommodation and staff first class, Units very spacious and well equipped .Area lacking shops and only a couple of restaurants so lack of choice. Bus service to Old town Alberfera , good service , defiantly worth a visit .

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank davecallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Vila Galé Atlântico hotel for your stay in Algarve. We were very pleased to read your message about our hotel and team. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests.
We look forward to having you back again!
Yours faithfully,
Luis Caldeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews