We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
231
22
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
22
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star michelin restaurant boutique hotel john dory fabulous property rose petals grounds are immaculate complimentary bottle direct access beautiful algarve lounge chairs heated pool small hotel private beach restaurant staff are welcome drink spa area german family
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

This place is truly a gem. The minute you step into the lobby you are in paradise. The staff welcomes you with a smile, check in feels so personal and is very efficient. Feels like you arrived at an old friend’s house. The welcome beverage while your luggage is inloaded and carried to your room helps you r lax into this vacation paradise.
The Michelin star rated dinner was delicious, be prepared to spend 3h ish at your table, enjoying bursts of flavor and textures.
The beach access is convenient, the beach itself is pretty, not Zanzibar pretty, but still unique and pleasant.

Overall, it was a truly fabulous stay, staying one night was such a tease... hope to get back there sometime in the future!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bulma81MVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We stayed at this boutique hotel and resort property in the Algarve for our final 4 nights of a trip across the entire country and could not have been more pleased. This is an excellent boutique hotel, centrally located on southern coast, with incredible staff. It is quiet, private, picturesque and the property itself alone is reason enough to stay here. More than that, the staff and concierge service could not have been more professional, genuine and helpful. In particular, Catarina and Anabela were fabulous. Breakfasts at the hotel were convenient, fulfilling, tasty and diverse in the variety of excellent buffet as well as customized choices. Joaquim at breakfasts was a consummate professional, at your service as if even before you realized it might be a moment for a bit more coffee, juice or something else and indeed, he may be one of the best waiters we have ever had. Both the property and the staff certainly deserve every bit of the best rating possible. Their personal touch and professional service were impeccable. Indeed, according to the printed text on the rear of the business card for this property, it is described as if it "feels like home and tastes like paradise." We quite agree and it is even then some more above and beyond that. A fabulous property as well as fabulous hosts. In an overall context, our trip through Portugal was almost 3 full weeks, yet this hotel and its absolutely superb staff was probably the highlight of our trip.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICHARD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

This is a phenomenal hotel. Great rooms, idyllic setting, amazing food including the best fruit at breakfast. Normally my wife and I are very active on hotel but we were loathe to leave the hotel! Hopefully we can come again very soon.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Benedict R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Sad to say, we didn’t get to stay at this hotel as it was fully booked during our visit (in summer) but we did get to sample the Michelin star cuisine. It was simply divine, exquisite, delicious and stunning! The freshness of seafood is top quality. The marriage of flavours of various dishes were just pure heaven. Dining here was just sublime with stunning views of the ocean. The staff needs a special mention as they were very friendly, attentive and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank pheweet139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2018

I booked Vila Joya to celebrate my wife’s 40th birthday, I’m so glad I did.
The whole experience was amazing.
All the staff, from the reception staff, cleaning staff and restaurant staff are so professional and could not do enough for you.
The location is five star luxury, the ultimate place to chill out and recharge the batteries, I find it shocking that some people have any negative comments about Vila Joya.
We will definitely return, a must visit location for a special celebration, truly faultless.

1  Thank YNWA24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews