We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Interesting ”

Island Explorer Tours
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Oistins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our six (6) hour Coastal Tour of Barbados begins in Oistins Town with our Explorers being picked up from their Hotels at approximately 8.45- 9.15 a.m. Once we have all aboard our exploration takes us around the beautiful coastline of Barbados, making four (4) leisurely stops and passing through our Capital – Bridgetown and along the West Coast of the Island and onto our first stop at North Point. Next we head to our refreshment stop at Cherry Tree Hill, this is where our explorers are served some traditional Bajan bite sized treats and drinks as we enjoy one of the most incredible views Barbados has to offer. We then head off to explore the rugged East Coast of the Island making our way to our Lunch Stop at Martins Bay. Lunch is served at a seaside Restaurant; this Restaurant is a real gem of a place as it mostly caters to locals so our explorers are guaranteed real “Bajan” food. We then set off to see more of the countryside and on to one of the most beautiful off the beaten track beaches Barbados has to offer. Our Explorers are then returned to their hotels at approximately 3.00 – 3.15 p.m. Our leisurely Tour Stops are:- • North Point • Cherry Tree Hill • Martins Bay (for lunch) • Beachy Head Beach Our expedition is led by Barbadian born Mario Williams, whose family has been involved in the island Tour business since the early 1970’s with his father Lawrence Williams being the first man to start an organized day tour of the Island. Mario uses his extensive knowledge of the Island delivering its history and geography with passion while also sharing many life experiences and humor that his guests find to be most entertaining. As our Tour only takes a maximum of nine (9) this sets the stage for a very intimate day out, and our philosophy is to start as strangers and end as friends!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had visited Barbados last year so were initially going to explore the island independently. We are so glad we changed our minds and went on Mario's Island Explorer tour.

The jeep was a converted land rover defender which took 9 of us so it was a very personal relaxed experience .

Mario was a fabulous host/guide who as well as being incredibly knowledgeable about his island was also very entertaining. He provided us with lovely snacks made by his wife and a delicious rum sorrel as a mid morning treat at one of our stops.

We loved the trip and experienced the whole coastline. We are back next year and will definitely get in touch with Mario as we want to explore Barbados interior.

I strongley recommend Island Explorer.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank cheshcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandexplorerto2017, Owner at Island Explorer Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi Carolyn, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review I had so much fun showing you and the rest of that group our wonderful island and can’t wait for you to return so we can plan a special trip to show you a bit more of what Barbados has to offer inland.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"land rover"
in 5 reviews
"bajan lunch"
in 4 reviews
"super mario"
in 3 reviews
"mario takes"
in 3 reviews
"visiting barbados"
in 8 reviews
"banana cake"
in 3 reviews
"animal flower cave"
in 4 reviews
"funny anecdotes"
in 2 reviews
"own experiences"
in 2 reviews
"family history"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 6 reviews
"true bajan"
in 3 reviews
"enjoyable tour"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 2 reviews
"off road"
in 2 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Loved our jeep safari with Mario.. don’t think there’s anything he doesn’t know about the island! Got to see some beautiful places/beaches.. would highly recommend this tour! We also had running commentary all way through which was brilliant!
thank you Mario for a fantastic day

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Rozanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandexplorerto2017, Owner at Island Explorer Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi Roxanne, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review I had lots of fun showing you around the island and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and My husband took this tour on our stay in Feb 2018.
Mario was a great guide who offered a very informative tour, telling us about the islands history along with his memories of growing up, which was a lovely personal touch.
We got to see parts of the island we otherwise would not have seen.
The bajan treats and traditional lunch were beautiful as was the refreshing Rum and Sorrel, enjoyed with the perfect view from Cherry Tree Hill.
Inland is as scenic as the coastal route and the locals are so friendly.
We fell in love with Barbados a little bit more after this tour.
Thank you and we will be back

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank EmmaN1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandexplorerto2017, Owner at Island Explorer Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you Emma for your wonderful review,I am always pleased when people take the time to let others know how they viewed our expedition.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Went on the Island Explorer Tour round Barbados with Mario on 9th March 2018. I highly recommend this tour. Mario’s knowledge of the Island and personal anecdotes gave us a fascinating and informative view of the Island, its history, its people and social aspects. Money extremely well spent. Thank you.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank blewis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandexplorerto2017, Owner at Island Explorer Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it is always nice when people take the time to let others know what kind of experience they had and what to expect. Thanks again.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Great day out in the good old Land Rover. Mario has so much information to give about his island that he obviously loves - his enthusiasm is infectious.
Funny stories, serious stories about the past and some breathtaking scenery all make for a fun day.
From booking online to dropping back to our hotel everything was first class.
Would recommend everyone to do this and see parts of the island that the big tours can’t get to.
Super Mario!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank adrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandexplorerto2017, Owner at Island Explorer Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for appreciating our good old Land Rover, we do get many guest that really appreciate being taken around the island in what has become a classic. I think you for your appreciation of what we offer and for sharing it with our future potential guest.

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Explorer Tours also viewed

Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Island Explorer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing