We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal ”
Review of The Bell

The Bell
Ranked #10 of 69 Restaurants in Redhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bell is a proper rural English pub in Outwood Lane, surrounded by National Trust walks and stunning landscapes. Enjoy our fresh seasonal food and choose between our craft lager, seasonal ale, cider, spirit, artisan soft drink, or one of our exclusive wines.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely food. We have been coming here for years and always had good food. The beef roast was great and the Yorkshire pudding massive!

Thank joemmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, so glad to here that you that your visit was as good as ever & we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Ham egg and chips: how can that go wrong?
One piece of dried ham like shoe leather, two poached eggs overcooked and looking very yuk, triple cooked chips… Revolting.
Didn’t complain at the time… Too embarrassed!

1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Brian, naturally having read your review I am most concerned by your comments of your recent visit and would greatly appreciate the opportunity of discussing them. You can contact me directly at the pub or via email at bell.outwood.manager @fullers.co.uk
Kind regards,
John McKay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Saturday night, packed with people all wanting attention, and yet the team serving us on a special occasion were smiley, efficient, prompt,and even checked our order 3 times(there was an allergy issue) before serving it.
The 2 ladies on duty that night deserve special praise!!!!
The beer was excellent and the choice of food very comprehensive.
Pity they don't provide accommodation----we'd stay there fore ages!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Neil, thank you so much for the great review, all the team are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Lovely lunch in cosy village pub. FISH and chips were good. Bar staff very god and attentive. Would recommend as alternative to eateries at the airport

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maffewandmaru2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Many thanks indeed maffewandmaru for you review & glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Bell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We visited this pub for Sunday lunch with a guest from France.
We had a lovely table in the garden area which is nice and quite.
The service was very efficient and friendly.
We had the Sunday roast pork and lamb and it was delicious.
The vegetables were cooked perfectly and the Yorkshire puddings were lovely and crispy. The meat was so tender .
Tho lemon posset was delicious served beautifully with a fresh homemade shortbread. The Eton mess was lovely too.
All in all a lovely pub for a Sunday lunch with freshly cooked food
The menu was very good too . Good choice

Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Many thanks indeed toothlady66 for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Bell, & we are glad to hear that you all enjoyed your lunch so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

 
Redhill, Surrey
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing