We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judge not a man by his appearance alone! - Superb, inexpensive eatery run by passionate Thai Chef”
Review of Spices Cafe

Spices Cafe
Ranked #9 of 166 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$56
Cuisines: Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Spices cafe is a casual restaurant combining the foods and flavors of east and west for a unique dining experience. Creative a la carte selections are available for lunch and dinner. The menu provides fresh, bold flavors using the finest and freshest ingredients. Friendly, efficient service displays the traditions of hospitality for which Thailand is famous. Extensive choices of daily special items are offered. The lunch and dinner menu offers a delightful choice of classic Thai and western cuisine such as Tom Yam Goong, Phad Thai and Beef Tenderloin as well as easy to handle items such as burger, salads and pasta.
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We were staying in a lovely hotel, but as with all 5 star hotels, the food prices are high, so we ventured out, with a little help from TripAdvisor, and sought out Spices Cafe. It is a wonderful, rustic, friendly, busy and efficiently run Thai "brasserie". The owner is a fabulous workaholic, passionate chef who opened a smaller venue and very quickly had to move to a larger place, and I'm not surprised. Not only are the prices very reasonable, the quality of food is outstanding! The fact it pays to book, and was full both the nights we went is testament to that.

Now, for those zircon lovers - beware, there is not zircon, but plenty of fans, and it is on the ring road. Doesn't matter to me, in fact it added to the 'local' feel of the eatery. The duck red curry, pineapple fried rice, Pad thai - all delicious in good quantities! We felt that the quality of the food was better than the Thai cuisine in two restaurants in 5 star hotels, and one of our party is a professional chef!

Strongly recommended! and it is licensed with sensible wine selections at good prices. I read one review from someone complaining about the price of Pad Thai - I would argue that the quality of the flavours here more than justifies a little premium over other local eateries!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicescafesamui, Owner at Spices Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Andrew,

We thank you for choosing to dine with us. It is indeed a pleasure to read such appreciative words from guest and we're glad you found the product and service up to your expectations.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Spices cafe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Second time we visit this place with my wife. From spagetthi cooked Thai style to a classic chicken satay without forgetting the massaman lamb. Cocktails are delicious too, staff friendly. Music not loud, nicely chosen. People comment it is not cheap, i see value for money. Cheaper exist on the island, like 7/11, but not the same quality as in this restaurant. Thank you once again

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Rodger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicescafesamui, Manager at Spices Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Rodger,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences at Spices cafe.

We really appreciate your valued time that you have put into this review, and it will definitely be shared with all members at Spices cafe. Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards
Spices cafe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Wow!! , what an incredible place, the food was so good I went 3 times during my one week stay in Ko Samui. I tried everything red curry, green curry, duck, fish, shrimp every single dish we tried was excellent even there cocktail were as good as the resort cocktail.
I recommend the spices cocktail and the sweet and sour shrimp

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Elie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicescafesamui, Manager at Spices Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Elie,


May we thank you for the review you published on TripAdvisor regarding you experience at Spices Cafe.

We are delighted you enjoyed both the cuisine of our chef and the service.

The team thanks you for your kind compliments and recommendation, and is glad your meal was the “dining highlight” of your trip.

We would be happy to welcome you back for another beautiful experience.

Regards,
Spices cafe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Awesome food and great drinks with reasonable prices. Would recommend this place to everyone. Happy hour is from 5-7 pm, buy 1 get 1 free.

Pros:

-Food
-Drinks
-Service

Cons:

-Nothing bad to say

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tootoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicescafesamui, Owner at Spices Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Tootoo12,

We thank you for choosing to dine with us. It is indeed a pleasure to read such appreciative words from guest and we're glad you found the product and service up to your expectations.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Thank you and regards,
Spices cafe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We went there looking for typical cheap Thai food based on the £ sign in the description. It's rather expensive. Cheap Pad Thai is 50 B, here is way over 100B.
The service and looks of the place very good. Noodles in my Pad Thai undercooked.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Krystian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicescafesamui, Owner at Spices Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Krystian,

We, are really sorry for what happened,
if you are still in town we will like to rectify it,
give us another chance.
I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.

Thank you and regards,
Spices cafe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spices Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing