We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,430)
Filter reviews
1,430 results
Traveler rating
1,110
236
55
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,110
236
55
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden villa fisherman's village koh samui our honeymoon bophut beach the open air bathroom fruit kebabs wedding planner comfortable sunbeds beachfront room beach boys mosquito net thai food cold towels beach side walk along the beach bo phut
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,430 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My wife and I stayed at Zazen for 11 days in March 2018. It is perfect in almost every way. The service was excellent (as it seems to be everywhere in Thailand) the location at the end of Bophut beach means it is relatively quiet yet within walking distance of fisherman's village either along the beach or the road. The gym is small but quiet and well laid out. We didn't use the spa because the prices are higher than other local spas which are within walking distance and excellent. I think it would be good idea for the resort to offer guests a discounted rate which makes the spa more price competitive, it seemed empty. Breakfasts were outstanding and the kitchen is fantastic for lunch or dinner. Loved it! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 8trueadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your recent experience at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa here on TripAdvisor.

We highly appreciate your feedback in regards to the service provided by our dedicated team, the facilities in our resort, the restaurant, and our breakfast offerings.
Many thanks for sharing your ideas in regards to the Spa. Kindly note that we do offer a monthly Spa promotion to our in-house guests and please accept my apologies that this has not been communicated in more detail to you.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I recently stayed at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa with friends and family.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like friends from the staff there.
The path leading from reception was like walking through an enchanted forest with water flowing, lights everywhere and a wonderful ambiance.
The rooms were amazing with doors opening to the outside shower with everything you needed.
The morning feast had everything we could desire and a few more things we didn't expect and table service should you want eggs or an omelet or any of the other amazing things available.
The Dinner menu had some amazing dishes as well, we didn't have any of the signature dishes but they looked divine.
Some family members had the massages as well which they said were incredible.
The real highlight for us was the service we received from the staff, we were treated like long time friends from the minute we arrived and they truly made our stay something special, I would recommend staying at Zazen to anyone looking for somewhere to stay whether travelling as a couple or as a family.
Thank you to the team at Zazen Boutique Resort and Spa for making our stay something special.

Room tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms here
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800lindseyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Lindsey,

We highly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your time in our resort with your family and friends and that the services from our team have been so well received and made you feel special.
Thank you for sharing your lovely words about the rooms, our award-winning Zazen Restaurant and our Le Spa Zen.

Many thanks for recommending us and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again for another special holiday with us. Please reach out to me personally via rm@samuizazen.com and I will be happy to assist you with your booking.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Balances style and superb service without being flash. Intimate. Fantastic team and management dedicated to ensuring your every comfort. Location is perfect, quiet and calm but close enough to the fun of Fisherman’s Village - a nice stroll along the beach.
Breakfast amazing and served beautifully with a gorgeous view. Lots of bubbles and extensive home-made juice selection
Lots of nice things served while on the superbly comfortable recliners of which there are lots.
Garden room spacious and well appointed with a open air bathroom. Excellent seating area and even better terrace.
Don’t hesitate to book this gorgeous hotel. We love it and will return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Inspire762477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experience at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.
We are delighted to learn that you had a perfect stay in our intimate oasis and you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, our rooms and the beautiful Zazen Restaurant with its stunning Seaview.
We highly appreciate your lovely words towards the team which will certainly be shared with them.

Many thanks for recommending us and please come back for another memorable holiday at Zazen.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I can't say enough positive things about our experience at Zazen. This boutique hotel was the highlight of our hospitality selections throughout our Thailand experience. From the drive up the bamboo corridor to the lobby, to the taxi staff called for us on our way out, it was a most enjoyable, incredibly romantic and relaxing, heavenly experience. The architecture and landscaping throughout the grounds clearly have been designed with the greatest respect for detail at every corner. All one's senses are finely tuned walking through Zazen. It is ideally set in a tropical jungle-like forest complete with the gentle sounds of trickling water, plants and flowers blooming with the incredible smell of jasmine and plumeria mixed with the salt of the gulf - that incredibly turquoise gem of a color one dreams of when fantasizing about paradise. Wandering through all this you bypass their incredible gym and yoga / meditation space, spa, boutique shop, restaurant and pool, and of course the Japanese-Garden-like landscaping, all on the way to your room. While connected, the rooms each seem to stand alone as individual villas. They each have their own strong, comforting presence. We adored the design of the mosquito net-protected bed on a dais, achieved by climbing one large, single stone, as well as the outdoor bath which was just a lovely and wonderful experience.

Each day we were stunned by the breakfast buffet. Each hotel we stayed at in Thailand had a buffet but none were like this. From champagne to juices mixed to your desire, to incredible fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, and baked goods, to the actual breakfast cooked for you - the entire experience was other-worldly, which is exactly what we look for in an experience like this. I must point out our favorite of the buffet: the house-made coconut spread - in a word, incredible. This became my go-to on chocolate croissants. Staff was also extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We felt the entire buffet (and later the diner dinning experience) was all quite creative in its selections but also its presentation. This all helped set it apart from anything else we experienced on our trip.

I also want to say a word of thanks for Zazen acknowledging my wife and my 5th anniversary. Even just mentioning this to us was hear-warming, but to see the display of flowers spread over our bed and the anniversary written out for us just brought tears to our eyes. Ahh, but then there was sparkling wine provided to us as well! This experience truly would be hard-pressed to be any more romantic. Mostly, while we understand we are patrons, the same as any other, Zazen made us 'feel' special.

That said it was no surprise that anything outside Zazen felt less-than. Looking back, we wish we had just stayed in the resort for the entire duration. It appears since the incorporation of the airport on Koh Samui, the island has been challenged with an overabundance of tourism, touristy restaurants with less than exceptional service, and loud Bangkok-like streets filled with pollution and noise. At Zazen we experienced none of this. It all drained away and became our sanctuary from the outside world.

Finally, the only negative we experienced were the mosquitoes, though staff did everything in their power to keep them at bay and we were thankful for that. For the person reading this review, I feel this is an important fact to point out, though if you're traveling to this area in general you MUST be aware this is a common issue to contend with and nothing specific to Zazen. Consider - at our dinner at Zazen we experienced no annoyance by bugs, though around the Fisherman's Village one night we ate dinner on the sand of the beach (something we thought would be truly romantic). It was a horrible experience with mosquitoes swarming us the entire time. We never felt this way at the resort.

One of the great joys I experienced here was simply walking the ground with my camera in hand, trying to capture some of this experience to take home along with my memories. I hope the few photos I have uploaded help share this experience. My thanks to Zazen.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scudderslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear valued Guest,

It was our great pleasure having you with us recently. These are certainly the reviews we love the read as we can feel your enthusiasm and positive reaction about your stay with us at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa and you managed to give a profound feedback to other travelers seeking accommodation in Koh Samui.
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed comments about the resort, our beautiful jungle garden, the rooms and decoration, the restaurant along with its perfect views, amazing food, and breakfast offerings.

Your praise towards our team is very well received and I am happy to share it with all the members.

We strive to create not only an enjoyable holiday for our guests but we want to create unique and memorable experiences. With your great feedback and words, we do believe we have created this feeling for you during your stay.
Receiving positive comments is very encouraging and I am so glad to hear that your stay at Zazen was your highlight throughout your Thailand experience.

Thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to your return. Please contact me directly via rm@samuizazen.com and I will be happy to assist you with your booking.

Best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We stayed for one week after visiting Bangkok and Cambodia. This was the perfect place to relax and unwind after the previous weeks touring. We were warmly welcomed with smiles and a cooling drink and cold towels. We had a beachfront room which was definitely worth the extra cost. Hotel staff would periodically come round with complimentary cold towels, sorbets, and fruit which was welcome in the 32C heat, a nice touch! Plenty of choice from the breakfast buffet and menu, all of a good quality, and some great fruit juice combinations. Dinner was exceptionally good, again, with a good choice on the food and wine menus, and beautifully presented. We used the spa and would recommend having a massage during your stay in the peaceful surroundings. At night, the grounds are softly lit with candles creating a peaceful haven to return to after a walk round the market at Fishermans Village. There is always plenty of space on the sunbeds on the beach (although we tended to stay on our beachroom terrace), and the sunbeds by the pool. The hotel staff are attentive and work hard to ensure you have a wonderful stay, and there are always plenty of smiles. The Zazen is certainly a hotel we would return to.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arpora2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa. We highly appreciate your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your beachfront room in the resort. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast options, food and wine menu from the restaurant, as well as the spa and the garden areas. Your comment will be passed to the entire team who will be happy to learn what you have shared here on TripAdvisor.

Many thanks for staying with us and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future for another relaxing holiday.

Best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews