We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
1,163
260
95
32
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,163
260
95
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsritz carltonbeautiful resortkids clubstar resortgolf resortgames roomindoor poolexecutive suiteshort drivesushi restaurantlobby bargreat golf courselisbon airportlong weekendsix sensesmicro climatemonastery
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice resort. Had everything one would expect, but lacked that "wow" factor which would make it really special.

The service was very good and everyone was very accommodating. Rooms were decent size, beds were very comfortable. Met expectations but did not exceed them.

Great choice of restaurants, Midori was outstanding. Aqua (casual pool dining) was very average and overpriced in my opinion. Breakfast had enough choice. Service in the mornings was struggling due to the high traffic.

The front desk was the standout for me. Very helpful and polite. They tried very hard to make sure we were well looked after.

Overall very nice resort to consider if you want a break in Portugal, but there is lots of competition.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank GautamS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

A lovely venue with very helpful staff. It was quite busy when we first visited because 2 weddings were going on. However the staff were attentive. There were a few occasions when mistakes were made but the staff did everything in their power to rectify the situation and were very apologetic. There is a children's club with lots of activities for the kids. The family can also try out the golf club. My children had an enjoyable time on the range with an instructor. If you want to see the sights around the hotel, you will definitely need a car.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank melanieb9342017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2018

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a family Indian wedding, the hotel staff were were totally outstanding, amazing customer service, food, accomadation and hotel grounds. The overall experience 5*

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank LondonTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in late July. The entire property is far more beautiful than you see in photos or on the website. The rooms were great, and the outdoor and indoor pools were wonderful amenities. There are many activities for young children, so this is a great place for families, and it is convenient for touring in Sintra, Cascais and Lisbon. But the most outstanding feature of this hotel is the incredible service from everyone working at the hotel, including front desk service, doorman and valet service, food and restaurant service, and even housekeeping service. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful and made the guests feel at home. My whole family felt that way, and so did the other family we were traveling with. It is rare to see such consistent, wonderful service throughout a hotel. We will all gladly return to this warm and welcoming property, and we encourage others to try it out!

Room Tip: They all have lovely views of the surrounding mountains and golf course.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Penha Longa is a beautiful hotel from the outside. Unfortunately it has several issues

- rip off extras for example a tiny glass of diet coke by the pool costs 6 euro. It feels the entire ethos of the hotel is to rip off the guests in every way possible.

- drab hotel rooms. They are a decent size but they are all brown and actually quite dated inside.

-The entire hotel is brown and grey, it is a little depressing! It is a little like a brown themed dubai hotel! The food is excellent as are the views but i think you can get that in many places without the issues

Penha longa should be great unfortunately with the rip off extras and the lack of personality it is a very very expensive below average hotel with excellent food.
We are unlikely to return.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Mlb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhal0nga, General Manager at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear mlb1234

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent visit. We regret to know that your stay was not up to your expectations.

Our prices policy is in line with similar properties in the area but we will certainly revise and analyze your comments with the team.

We appreciate your review and we hope to one day welcome you back when your travels bring you back to Sintra.

Kind regards


David Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews