We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just relax...”
Review of Hotel Sipan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sipan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sipanska Luka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2017

A quiet place, with lovelly and helpful staff, good breakfast and beautiful surroundings. And make sure you book a room with see wiew. If you want something complicated or fancy you're în the wrong place. If you're there for fun and noise, again, wrong place...But if you're there for a calm and relaxed holiday, that's the place. Visit the surroundings and then, if you decide you want more, go visit Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 272 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Great location. Helpful staff. Clean. The food in the restaurant a bit disappointing. Not a lot to do on the island but if you want a peaceful holiday this is the place. Start your holiday here to relax.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Pc127000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Hotel Sipan, Sipanska Luka
The hotel is set in a wonderful location at the head of a bay with beautiful views.
Our room was spacious clean and comfortable with a sea facing view which was worth paying the extra for.
On arrival you are given two swipe card keys for the room.
On entering the room one card is inserted into the power slot to allow the power in the room.
The fridge is connected to this, so guests are advised to leave one card in the power slot at all times otherwise the fridge will turn off.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and is served on the patio area at the front of the hotel when the weather is hot.
The only drawback here was the wasps which could be annoying. Evening meals are also served here in the evenings when the wasps are not a problem.
Wine in the restaurant varies from about 150 kuna per bottle upward. For us evening meals were a bit of hit and miss, not that there was anything wrong with the food, just a couple of times there was nothing that tickled our taste buds.
There are several bars and restaurants in the village and the food is good and varied.
Sipanska Luka is a short bus ride from the port village of Sudurad.
There is a small beach about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
The beach is pebbles, but if you enter the water on the right side, near the cafe, a short distance from the shore the bottom is sandy, however water shoes are recommended.
It is serviced, with sunbeds and parasols for hire.
There is also a small cafe/shop with outside seating, serving light snacks, coffee, soft drinks, ice-cream etc.
The bus timetable is co-ordinated with the ferry boats arriving and leaving so connections are easy.
Regular ferrys leave from here to Dubrovnik, calling at the other two Elaphiti islands Lopud and kolocep.
Lopud is a nice island but its main attraction is its sandy beach. This is situated about 30 minutes walk over a hill on the other side of the island.
If the walk is too much you can take a ride over on what can only be described as golf buggies. these take about six people at a time and cost 15 Kuna per person each way.
Kolocep is another pretty island. There is a nice walk over to the other side of the island to Gornje Celo, about 40 minutes. There is a small harbour here with a few buildings and a fish restaurant.
We had sea bass here and the fish is barbecued in full view of the customers.
Tip: when you get off the boat at these islands there is usually a large billboard at the harbour with a map of the island. Take a photo of this with your phone, and you can refer to it as you explore the island.
We also did two independent boat trips with local boatmen. Sometimes they will advertise at the reception.
In the first case it was a boat trip to Ston, a walled village up the coast. It was advertised on the reception desk as 200 Euros.
When ten people have signed up the cost is only 20 Euros per head, not bad for an all day trip. Note when paying, prices are converted to Kuna. These are small boats, 10 people would be the maximum.
Our second trip was to the National Park on the island of Mljet. This was 400 Euros, or 40 Euros per head.
This was a nice trip but quite lengthy, 3 hours there and 3 hours back plus 3 or four hours on the island.
Dubrovnik is about a 70 minute ferry ride from Sudarud. Unfortunately the first boat dosn't leave until after 12 noon. So you arrive in the hottest and busiest time of day. However there is a catamaran ferry which calls into Sipanska Luka itself.
This leaves at about 6.30 in the morning and will have you in Dubrovnik before 8am. We used this and it was a good choice, getting into the old town before the crowds arrive. We bought a Dubrovnik Card when we arrived. This will get you access to the walls and also to about 10 attractions/museums in the city. It will also give you free travel on the local buses. Good value if you go to all the attractions.
You can come back on this boat, but it won't arrive in Sipanska Luka till about 7.45 pm. We came back earlier on one of the regular ferries.
There are some nice walking trails in the hills behind the hotel.
You can walk to the top of the hill (Velji Vrh) where there is a good viewpoint. Note the trail appears to fizzle out near the top of the hill.
Look for a path through the bushes on your left about 20 yards before the trail ends. There are small churches dotted around the island.
Unfortunately most of these are closed, but some are worth going to see for the views. There is also a rough road which goes most of the way to the north end of the island.
When we were there, there was a digger extending the road all the way out to the north coast. You can also walk around the south end of the island from Sudurad.
One walk from Sudurad walks out past a monastery. At the side of the monastery there is a sign for the shore. We followed this track which passes through the monastery grounds.
It is quite rough and goes over a small hill and drops down to the coast at a small exclusive restaurant call BOWA which is situated on a small bay with a stony beach.
The clients for this restaurant are almost exclusively from boats and yachts sailing up and down the coast. We had a small meal there and it was delicious.
To save ourselves the climb back over the hill, the owner took us in his speedboat back round to Sudurad for 200 Kuna, not cheap but a great experience.
This is a chill-out destination, and if you want, you will find plenty of things to keep you busy. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
25  Thank nickx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel that we could relax in after the hustle and bustle of dubrovnik, and boy did we find it in spades.
One week of fantastic unending relaxation.
The hotel itself is quite modern and tastefully decorated. When we arrived it was end if season and the hotel was almost empty, but this didn't worry us the staff were helpful and constantly smiling.
We found Breakfast good with lots of choice. We didn't partake in dinner as there was so much to choose from other establishments all around the bay but we had a nosey and it did look very good too.
Its very quiet here so if your looking for nightlife this is not for you. But if your looking to relax with a book or perhaps even talk to each other while you soak up the atmosphere this will do fine.
Its located on the north of the island and you can only reach by a short 40 min ferry ride from the mainland then a small five min bus ride but don't let put you off its very easy to organise.
There are a nice village to visit all within a bus ride or long walk like we did.
The views were wonderful, the local were charming and very polite.
A few small niggles but nothing to worry too much about.
The beach is a pebble beach and its small we had it all to our selves mostly but i don't know what it will be like when its busy. It wasn't very clean and rubbish kept washing up overnight and the person who cleaned it had left or wasn't available.
The toilet on the beach wasn't useable so we had to stroll back to the hotel.
there is one restaurant that you should avoid at all cost it looks very pretty but unless you get off a boat and have a minimum party of 6 and are prepared to empty your wallet the service will stink, you can find it quite easily on here
Apart from that everything else is just chills you out we couldn't praise it enough.

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
5  Thank mileso o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick lunch outside under the shelter. This was so peaceful as the views were stunning and the atmosphere was nice. We ordered salads which they gave generously and both were tasty.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Potato192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipanska Luka
4.7 km away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
434 reviews
7.6 km away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
18.4 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Admiral Grand Hotel
Admiral Grand Hotel
#1 of 3 in Slano
507 reviews
17.6 km away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
19.6 km away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#18 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sipan

Address: Luka 160, Sipanska Luka 20223, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Elafiti Islands > Sipan > Sipanska Luka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sipanska Luka
Price Range: ₱2,482 - ₱11,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sipan 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the north side on the island Šipan in the very South of Croatia, a district of Dubrovnik and is only 9 sea miles off the mainland. This charming 75 room hotel is situated on the waterfront in Sipanska Luka Bay typically known as a “Riva” providing guests with “picture postcard” views of the bay and the visiting luxury yachts that anchor in front of the hotel.. Known for its charm as a fishing village, the bay also provides one of the best sandy beach locations in the Elafiti Islands and with a west facing perspective provides dramatic sunsets over the Elafiti Islands.Šipan is an experience hard to find anywhere else in the Mediterranean, a place for true originality and romance, an experience of the real Croatia, unspoiled by mass-tourism and its consequences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sipan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipan Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing