We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Mahindra Mashobra(Mashobra)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Byke Nature Vilas(Mashobra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mashobra Greens(Mashobra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$26
US$23
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tranquil Countryside Homes(Mashobra)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nilaya(Mashobra)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Khanabadosh(Mashobra)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
250
29
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
29
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanil waliaattic roomkid's playhome cooked mealtable tennismadding crowdboutique hotelhome away from homehome stylefirst floordining tablegames roombon firebeautiful propertyevery eveningevery guestcentral heating
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in mahasu house for 2 days during our week long trip to Himachal.
While cleaning up the room, the staff stole our cadburys silk chocolate which we kept as backup for our kids.
We complained and nothing was done about it. They even accepted to have attrition of staff which makes it even dicey for valuables of guests.
My expensive cap fell just outside the room and it was never found. Even this was told to never have been found.
Food was very unfriendly for kids and no proper seating for dining. They have one dining table which serves as musical chair for families to grab on to sit and eat.
Very less choice of food.
Rooms were super nice, views are breath taking. But thievery is unacceptable in service industry.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Shubhada K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahasu H, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Mrs. Shubhada ,

Greetings from Mahasu House !

Firstly, my sincere and due apologies for your missing chocolate and cap during your visit to Mahasu House, three months back. I am myself quiet surprised and unhappy to hear this as somehow you did not mention this to me/us during your stay and also actually because this is the first time in seven years of our opening Mahasu House to guests that anyone has complained about some thing missing.

However, we did conduct our internal inquiry into the matter but truthfully could not reach any definite conclusion. As for your Cadburys chocolate, my housekeeping staff does tells me that the other children in your group could have possibly taken it. Regarding your cap which you say "fell outside the room", was actually not found by any of us. So once again, we all are sorry for your loss. If we do get an opportunity we would certainly like to make up for that.

As regards your mention regarding attrition of staff, i am completely at a loss as to where this is coming from ? This has no truth. Mostly everyone working in Mahasu House is minimum working for over 5 years now !! Those who have left us is for genuine reasons of growth or family issues. I just cant imagine where you could have got this information from ! The strength of Mahasu House is its Team, which is very conscientious and appreciated regularly by all its guests. All our guests have been much appreciative of the team and so many guest comment cards / reviews bare testimony to our guest-friendly service.
Our team which comprises of all god-fearing hill-folk may not be very skilled but definitely take pride in being hard-working and always completely honest. I personally have now lived 49 years of my life among them and will vouch for their integrity & honesty.

Regarding the food, we do have several children friendly options like Pizza's, Pasta's, Noodles, french fries, Ice-cream and any other home made-style snacks / meals which are readily available throughout the day and so many guests have availed the facility on request. Infact even several bakery items are available on prior order.

Yes, we do have one dinning table which seats 10 people in the dinning room. However, there is also a round-table for four in the living room where guests are accommodated in case some one is seated in the dinning room. Besides that we serve meals in the Garden Gazebo which has 5 tables seating 20 persons where the buffet is accompanied with a log-fire and Tandoor (operational all year). Besides this we have a wooden deck with 5 tables seating 20 persons (of-course this area is closed in winter) along with 2 tables seating 8 persons on the sundeck gazebo. With all these areas available for dining we as a rule do not serve meals in the bed-rooms. And all these dining options are for 6 rooms in Mahasu House !

Please be rest assured and kindly give us another opportunity to serve you again and on behalf of our entire team i assure you a memorable stay at the Mahasu House.

I look forward to welcoming you personally during your next visit to Mahasu House. We once again regret any inconvenience caused.

Best Always,

Anil Walia
9816017100
Owner and Manager
Mahasu House, Mashobra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here with my family for 4 days. I would absolutely recommend staying here - it has a rare blend of quality, taste, luxury and homely feeling all in one.

We were completely overwhelmed by the hospitality of each and every staff as well as the owners. The food was tasty and at the same time have the charm of a home cooked meal. The rooms have been done up with splendid taste and are well maintained. Their attention to detail and the guests needs are totally on point- kudos to Anil and Tina for that ! The room has sufficient heaters that keep u well insulated and there’s no issue with hot water availability : two of the most important things in cold weather.

If it hadn’t been for the owners we wouldn’t have been able to reach Delhi in time for our overseas flight. They went out of their way to arrange a car for us from Mashobhra to Delhi when we had an unfortunate experience with a car we hired from Himalayan Tourism.

We spent New Year’s there and it was so much fun - a totally different experience from partying in the city ;)

Only regret: we missed the snow !! So we are definitely coming back for that

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank RinishaDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahasu H, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Ms. Rinisha,

Greetings from Mahasu House !

Thank you so very much for your time to post this super review.

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your appreciation. Family Mahasu is very thankful to you for your appreciation. It has given us a reaffirmation that our home in this ever-green forest offers an abode for all our guests to enjoy and ruminate. Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service.

Family Mahasu looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again,

Best regards,

Tina & Anil Walia
9816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Services were too good. The staff is very nice and do care for their guests. The food was delicious with the homely experience. The room was warm, equipped with all the needed facilities. They have an activity room and attic space that kids liked.
It is a place for people who want to stay away from concrete and crowd. This is very close to nature and we loved the place. We also went for short walks around the property and it was an amazing experience.

I was little sad to see many upcoming properties coming in the area which may make this place crowdy as well. Also, remember the best time to visit is summers. We went in Jan timeframe and it was little uncomfortable with kids.

Summary: one of my best stays with excellent support team and mouth-watering food.

Room Tip: all are great
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikas1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahasu H, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Mr. Vikas,

Greetings from Mashobra !

Thank you so much for taking time out to share this excellent review. We are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience with us.

Delivering excellent service is our utmost priority and we are thankful that you have experienced it. I have taken the liberty to share your kind appreciation with the whole team, as it is feedback such as yours, that motivates us to achieve higher levels of services and standards.

We value your kind patronage, I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality provided by The Mahasu House, Mashobra.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Mahasu House, once again, and hopefully when it snows !!

Best Always,

Anil Walia
cell : +91 9816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

The service experience began a day prior to us checking in to The Mahasu House, when Lalit called to inquire about our check in time and meal requirements. That itself was so pleasant.


Lalit was an absolute star, he along with the rest of the team ensured that they completely make up for the lack of snow(the real reason we went to Shimla) with some delightful service. When we decided to take a stroll to the houses below, he actually walked along with us, explaining to us the place and telling us about the current situation there. He stayed with us for almost an hour.


He doubled up as an advisor, telling us exactly what to do in Shimla, during our stay.


The speed of service was also good. They were there for every need that we had...


The food was personalized, homely, sumptuous and fantastic. The experience of having your breakfast and dinner on the large dining table was super nostalgic. Especially the candlelight dinner that we had along with another family. The hot phulkas and the tasty fish curry were  out of this world....


The room with the mountain view is something and I could imagine that if it were to snow, it would be even more breathtaking. The electric blankets, radiators and heaters kept us warm. Great idea to have the radiator in the bathroom as well. I only wish there was a bath tub in that room. They may want to upgrade some of the old furniture that's breaking down or need repairs like the side table and the TV unit table.


The recliner sofa is great idea. 


Like the games room and the attention to detail in the lobby room. 


In only wish that they had some better quality toys in the attic play area. It is a great set up, however the toys are all broken down. Though it didn't make a difference to my daughter...she enjoyed that room.



I will definitely return to this property again. With a larger group...


Please note that this place is cut of from the main city so pack accordingly. There is another 40 room hotel coming up next door. So this place will now have to compete even more. No work on the service...but maybe a little more on the infrastructure and facilities....without compromising on the quaint nature of this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank kenn_etix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahasu H, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Mashobra !

Thank you so very much for taking time out to share this most delightful review. We are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience with us. Delivering excellent service is our utmost priority and we are thankful that you have experienced it. Mahasu House is most non- hotel and i assure you we will all keep it the same.

We are delighted to read your compliments on our entire team and I have taken the liberty of sharing your superb feedback with entire "Team Mahasu " and they are equally excited to know about your memorable experience here.

We value your kind patronage, I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you & your family to Mahasu House soon, once again.


Best Always,

Anil Walia
9816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Comfortable, cosy and beautiful experience with amazing staff and facilities.
Rooms with heater, thermostat and all facilities. Ask if you need something of your choice. Limited food menu but you can request previous day whatever you want and they will prepare it.

Overall. Excellent.

Room Tip: Try room with fireplace.
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tajinder J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahasu H, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Mr. Tajinder,

Greetings from Mahasu House !

It was such a pleasure having your family stay with us at The Mahasu House, Mashobra. I take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most wonderful feedback and compliments on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience of the hotel, it's food and facilities. Thank you for your kind appreciation of services provided by Team Mahasu. We are all very happy to have been able to make this visit a memorable one for you.

We were extremely delighted serving you at The Mahasu House, Mashobra and look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

Best Always,

Anil Walia
#9816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews