We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
US$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Big Dreams Resort(Ko Kut)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$24
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Soneva Kiri(Ko Kut)
US$1,965
US$1,775
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
164
116
45
31
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
116
45
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsescape restaurantkoh koodduplex bungalowspicture postcardcastaway restaurantrelaxing breaksmall pricefisherman's hutdirect beach accessfree kayakskayak ridebeing pickyon a daily basisbars and restaurantssea facinghotel guestsincluded breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Nice clean territory with tropical garden.
A quite place, sea view restaurant, friendly staff.
Rooms a bit old, need renovation, especially shower and toilet.
However had a good holidays at this Resort.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank mellys0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Khun Mellys0m,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable review.
Very much appreciated for your positive comment and to here that you had a good holiday with us.
We truly appreciated for your points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to improvements our service for better the guest experience.

Look forward to welcome you back by near future.
“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2018

This is very much a 3-star, average place to stay. The staff are pleasant, but there are better places to stay on the island, at all price points. We stayed in a duplex, which looked out on telegraph wires and (unexciting) trees. There is no beach, nor anything of great note to distinguish the rather tired buildings. The restaurant is fine and breakfast is a plus, with decent choice, but once again, there is nothing to set the pulse racing. We used the place as a base, jumped on our hired scooters (the hotel should be commended for not inflating the prices) and headed out each day to spend time at more impressive venues, idyllic beaches and more charismatic restaurants (dont miss Chontchicha or the Fisherman's Hut).

Room Tip: Avoid the duplexes
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skittle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Khun Skittle999,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for spend your time to share your valuable review.
Highly appreciated for your positive comment about our staffs.
We apologize for the inconvenient and that we could not provide our service to meet your expectation. We truly appreciated for your points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to improvements our service for better the guest experience.

Should there be anything our team could assist, please feel free to contact us.
“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We booked this hotel online after reading the many nice reviews in Trip Advisor. Yes there were many pluses staying in the hotel including:
(a)Excellent service by friendly/helpful staff at the reception and the Escape Restaurant
(b)Scenic surroundings and a spacious area in the resort which includes a swimming pool.The ocean facing bungalows on the street level offers an awesome view of the sea
(c) The breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was above average.As we stayed for a couple of days,we noted there were changes in the local food served in the buffet
(d) As this resort is located some distance away from the beach of the water front hotels,it offers privacy
However the "minuses" we encountered outweighed the pluses including
(a) There is no beach fronting the resort,only rocks.The nice beach is opposite the resort.To get there guests have to "kayak" across a stretch of sea channel or take a 15 minute walk along the main road.
Although the resort provides the kayaks on a complimentary basis,we had to return the kayak to the Activity Centre by 6.00pm every evening which was inconvenient
(b) Low water pressure plus salty tap water.During our stay,we had to buy mineral water on a daily basis to wash our face,brush teeth etc
(c) We stayed in a Duplex Bungalow.The access to the Duplex Bungalows are a long walk uphill.The steps leading to the door of the bungalow are also steep and irregular.This is challenging for the elderly and families with young children,Although the Duplex Bungalows provide 1 Queen bed on the ground floor plus 2 single beds in the upstairs room,there is no seperate airconditioner provided,The upstairs room can be stuffy at times.
(d) The condition of the rooms looked tired and in desperate need for refurbishment.The bathroom /toilet have small holes in the floor resulting in insects crawling in.
(e) Food prices in Escape Restaurant are relatively higher than the restaurants located outside the resort.The presentation of the food in Escape Restaurant was impressive but the taste was blend.
If you are contemplating in staying at Away Ko Kood Resort weigh the pros and cons before deciding which factors are more important for you.For me I will choose a resort facing the waterfront on my next visit to Ko Kood,

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean facing bungalows on street level
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chan_pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Khun Chan_pup,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for spend your time to share your valuable review.
We thank you for your positive comment about our staffs and apologize for the inconvenient and that we could not provide our service to meet your expectation. We truly appreciated for your points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to improvements our service for better the guest experience.
Should there be anything our team could assist, please feel free to contact us.
“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

To start off, most of the 5 star reviews for this resort are from users with only 1 review. Should have noticed that before booking.

We stayed in February, the resort itself has no beach and access ti the actual beach is either a good 20 munute walk along the street or by kayaking across the channel access used by speed boats.

The rooms are showing wear and tear, with small holes in the flooring in the bedroom and toilet, which meabs lots of insects si prepare your bug spray.

Breakfast was decent with a good array of choices from western to asian dishes.

However, there are much better options of hotels around the island. We would definitely not return here again.

Food at the restaurant was served cold and overpriced compared to other hotel restaurants that we dined in. Motorcycle rental was easy and convenient.

We raised our concerns to the front desk about the insects but not much was done. Other resorts have much less of this problem and althoufg we were on an island this was unacceptable.

Water pressure was low and for some reason the hotels water was salty. We askes some locals if all the resorts here have salty water, but they said due to the location of the hotel the storage tank was salty water.

We visited a few hotels again at bang bao beach and they didnt have this issue. Unfortubately they were fully booked or we would have moved.

Overall this was a very poor experience and I would advise any traveller to choose other hotels as the entire experience was not up to our expectations. We paid almost THB 5000 a night.

PS. Sophi at the restauarant was the only staff member who provided actual decent service and should be praised.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Bamerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Khun Bamerone,
“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for spend your time to share your valuable review.
We are sorry to hear that we could not provide the service to meet your expectation.
We truly appreciated the points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to review our service in these areas for better the guest experience and improvements.

Should there be anything our team could assist, please feel free to contact us.

“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen
General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I loved the location of the resort- very centrally located with lots of places to eat close by and beaches to go to. The motorbike rental was the best! Inexpensive and it lets you explore the whole island on your own schedule anytime of day! Resort is quaint and quiet and with a nice layout and very clean. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. The only negative is that the shower is outside so you don't get very hot if you are wanting to relax in a warm shower. That's my only negative of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Khun Anngeli S,
“Sawasdee krap”

Thank you very much for staying with us!. We really appreciate your effort by sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com

We glad to learn you were happy with our superb friendly staffs, clean resort and situated on a great location central of Koh Kood.
We noted on the downside comment with action.
Once again thank you very much for your sincerely review us we looking forward to welcome you back again be near future.

“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen
General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews