We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Coachman Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Taihape Motel(Taihape)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marton Motel(Marton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
128
50
20
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
50
20
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskiwi experiencehorse ridingwhite water raftingbed dormroast dinnerthe kitchengreat funvalley lodgemain buildingnew zealandprivate roomnatural horsemanshipamazing experiencerafting tripdouble troublean amazing placelog fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did a 3 day 2 night trip down the Rangitikei River in Feb. 4 families - 8 adults 8 kids aged between 8 and 12.
It was such a fantastic experience! The guides were just outstanding with our children allowing them (and us!) to adventure and fully experience the river and all its fun whilst always adhering to professionalism and safety.
A great way of connecting and playing together as a team with everyone involved.
As well as the rapids being great fun we had inflatable kayaks, side walks to hidden waterfalls and canyons, bombing spots, water fights and even the raft made into a slippery slide! Campfires and great food in the evening to top it all off.
We will definitely be back fir more trips. I can’t recommend it enough
DO THIS TRIP!!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank SarCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora

Thanks for the great review. I know the guides who took you guys down the river also had a great time.

All the best, and hope to see you back at River Valley sometime for another adventure.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a super cool place to go for the activities, however, there is not much else to do. Also they have tourist buses in all the times which makes it a bit cramped. The kitchen is nothing special. Staff is super super friendly and the place is situated beautifully.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank BenHa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora Ben

Thanks for your review. We are off the beaten track, and there is little else to do other than go adventuring on the river or by horseback, or take a walk, or commune with nature, or talk to other guests, or read a book, or swim in the river (when it is warm enough).

On busy days the main Lodge can be busy, luckily there is a great deal of space outside.

Thanks for the kind words about the staff. They work hard to give great experiences to our guests.

All the best.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here as part of the kiwi experience. A beautiful lodge at the bottom of a river valley!

Pros
- the river is beautiful but freezing cold!
- Nice spots to sit out, BBQ, and play games
- They do a great group dinner at night
- Bar prices are reasonable
- Great place to go horse riding - Autumn our guide was fantastic!
-Accommodation was good but bunk beds were really closely packed together

Cons
- Some of the staff were a little rude and unhelpful. I was given out to for asking where the toilets were......
- Insects everywhere! bring bug spray
- Toilet and shower facilities were poor

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Jessica

Thanks for the review. Pleased to read that you appreciated most of the things that make River Valley unique.

We built the place as an adventure Lodge starting in 1987, modelling it on a giant back country tramping hut, hence some of the design differences - such as outside toilets and indoor/outdoor showers.

Bugs are a time of year thing. Lots sometimes, none other times.

All the best on your travels.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 1 night on kiwi experience. The roast was so good, but could of ate twice the amount! Drinks at bar are quite cheap. Toilets are outside but clean. Lots of showers also. Staff were fine didn't speak to us though, only concerned with people who were drinking a lot! The bedroom situation was horrendous! There described as 'side by side beds'. It's just basically one big mattess bunk bed. About 30 plus people all in one room! We were unlucky enough to have people who were very disrespectful, loud and messy so we did not get much sleep at all. A member of staff came into the room and laughed with the group about sneaking drinks in the room, i thought this was very unprofessional. The activities are expensive here, then there isn't much else to do. Its a shame that you have to stay here on kiwi experience.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Kia ora Nina, I am sorry that you did not find your River Valley experience more positive. The original Lodge, where you stayed, was built in 1987 to resemble a giant back country tramping or hiking hut. This style of accommodation is exactly what you would find in one of those huts, and is something we as a company relate to - the back country and adventure in general.

While we cannot do anything about the other people on your bus making a noise, I agree it was unprofessional that one of our staff seemed to think it was funny. In saying that humour is often the best way to get people onside when trying to deal with a situation.

River Valley is an adventure Lodge. The experiences we offer on horses and the river are world class. There are also a variety of walks you can do that cost nothing. Did you venture on one of those?

Regards

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Stayed with my wife while backpacking New Zealand.

A very interesting place, very calm and relaxing.

Had a private double which had a really comfy king sized bed, the best we had slept in a while.

Food was great, really massive portions and reasonable prices.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, Director of Sales at River Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Hi Craig, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews