We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different lunch experience”
Review of River Cottage HQ

River Cottage HQ
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Axminster
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive at the car park and descend on foot through fields to the farm it is clear that this is more than just about lunch! Greeted with a glass of nettle infused prosecco you are invited to explore the pig pens and vegetable gardens as well as take in the cookery school.
Lunch takes around two hours to enjoy a selection of delicious food which the head chef explains before service begins. We had a gazpacho of fresh cucumber and tomato with smoked hake, followed by a main of hogget and pork with delicious vegetables finished off with a gorgeous take on brownies. Nice wine list at sensible prices too. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

A long awaited family birthday celebration which did not disappoint us. We booked for October and the. Due to the changes with Covid rearranged for today. The person who helped us rearrange our booking could not have been more helpful. We had a fantastic lunch from incredible waiters and the chef. We enjoyed the gardens and the children in our party loved the skittles and stream

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Lindaadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Great food, fresh ingredients. Layout of restaurant warm and inviting and nice atmosphere in there. Service from Jay was exceptional.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We was greeted by Holly who was very courteous and clearly was very customer focused,.

Right let’s get to the positives and onto the food, it was a cold starter that Roseanne the chef explained in her introduction as they had decided to make in view of the very hot weather we was experiencing. It was delicious, the flavours just seemed more intense with it being cold, the presentation was excellent, with flowers from the garden, brilliant full marks from me.

The main was lamb, which was cooked two ways one was slow cooked and wrapped in chard and the second offering was leg of lamb, cooked just as I like it with it being pink. The selection of side vegetables was more than enough and actually in our party we couldn’t finish them all. Everything cooked was scrumptious and very tasty.

The dessert was a work of art with the individual effort that had evidently gone into each dish was clear to see. The different tastes that was on the plate just jumped out in your mouth, I could have eaten at least another two, they were that good !!!

The service was impeccable with the waiting staff and we didn’t feel rushed at all for the 3+ hours we was there.

I really enjoyed our meal and having been to the Axminster kitchen, I can’t believe it’s the same company behind the two given how different our experience was.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

Well it’s awesome, right? The cottage garden with fresh ingredients and the story of how the asparagus was picked a few hours before it was served. Yes, but all of this has to be tempered with a question of whether it creates great food. Mostly it does, but sometimes it doesn’t. The executive chef described the elaborate process of creating cultured butter that day, but frankly it needed some salt! The story of the hogget was awesome and I love the idea of some lamb that has a little more maturity but is not quite mutton, but the belly lamb ‘chip’ desperately needed seasoning.

Service was generally excellent though they did seem to completely forget to tell us that there was transportation back up the hill and my arthritic wife didn’t need to walk. The end of the ‘feast’ evening is late and staff seem to be keen to do a runner as much as possible.

So all very, very good food wise, but really missing some finesse in areas. Tommy Banks has a very similar philosophy to High FW but pulls it off more authentically and more consistently.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Cottage HQ also viewed

 

Been to River Cottage HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.