We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mitford Hotel(Morgan's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barefoot B&B(Morgan's Bay)
Free cancellation until 07/23
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trennerys Hotel(Kei Mouth)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Prana Lodge(Chintsa)
US$292
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
US$131
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
337
128
22
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
128
22
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roommorgan baywild coastfamily holidaybreakfast and dinnerdeck restaurantlike coming homeall agespersonal touchwonderful familygreat foodindian oceanhome from homesouth africaa family run hotelsound of the waveslovely beach
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely stay at Morgans Bay while on team building. The food is lovely. The rooms are clean. There are beautiful ocean views from the rooms with sea view. The bathroom does need some tlc though. Overall I would visit again for pleasure.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We had a wonderful time over a week's stay at this hotel. It's a family place; a goodly number of the adults had come there themselves as little kids, now bringing their own little ones. Room was quiet, facing the lush gardens and expanse of the sea. There was some trouble with water supply during our stay, but - comes with the territory - they and we dealt with it and never suffered terribly as a result. The nearby beaches and beachscapes are vast and as beautiful as they come. Life guards at the beach nearby. Food was excellent, plentiful, other guests friendly. It was our first time, but we felt at home here.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganbay1946, Owner at Morgan Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

We must apologise for the water situation, something us South Africans are getting very used to.

We are so thrilled you were able to experience "Morg's" for yourselves, it is a little piece of paradise that creeps into one's heart. Just like we the Warren-Smith family have owned the hotel since 1946 and hope to for generations to come, so we have been welcoming many families for generations. We strive to keep the old world feel with old family values & traditions alive.
We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We were two single people sharing and we were given a wonderful suite - I think there was enough room for six people sharing. There was a very warm welcome from everybody, and to sit in the restaurant and look at the view was heaven. Sadly we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank colinbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganbay1946, Owner at Morgan Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are thrilled you enjoyed your first time experience with us. We hope that it is the first visit of many and next time take timeout to breathe and experience our piece of heaven on earth. Our location and view is something you never take for granted, just too beautiful. Thanks for your short stop-over, see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2018

My wife and I have just enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at Morgan's Bay Hotel and would thoroughly recommend. Location is superb and the staff are very warm and welcoming. We dined at the hotel and food was very good especially the extensive breakfast buffet. Plenty of walks to enjoy within easy reach of the hotel or just chill out and soak up the sun. The adjoining deck bar is a great location to enjoy a lazy lunch and a cool beer.

Room Tip: Choose a beachside room and soak up the view
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Cruzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganbay1946, Owner at Morgan Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

You are so very kind with your review, we are glad you liken us to a 5 star, but we are far from that. We are just a humble, caring small family owned hotel, who all do our best to make our guests feel welcome and at home, like our motto: It's like coming home", but only better...
We hope to have you back with us in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We stayed for two nights and had our circumstances been different would have stayed for four nights. The property is presented in a very tastefully decorated and charming rustic style combined with 21st century facilities all of which blends perfectly with its magnificent setting . .The check in and out was very efficiently handeled especially as we had extended our stay on arrival to three days and then had to revert back to our original two day booking this was dealt with perfectly and we were immediately given a full refund for the cancelled additional day . With regard to the the room we were upgraded to a a very large modern balcony room which was very clean and had a modern bathroom with good water pressure . The room had a spectacular view of the ocean and was very quiet apart from the swirl of waves at night which we enjoyed .The hotel has several restaurants witch serve very nice meals , the breakfast is superb and very comprehensive.Finally all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful but Erica on receception is without doubt a standout and a complete asset to the hotel, we spend between eight and nine months a year in hotels and are lucky enough to stay in some of the worlds best five star properties Erica would be a credit to any of them .in short this hotel is a gem with a superb atmosphere and we loved everything about it from start to finish

Room Tip: We stayed in room B1 in the annex which was superb
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin aryeh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganbay1946, Owner at Morgan Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks so much for the visit, it was really appreciated. Yes Erica is a gem and has stood the test of time here. She has been here for 15 years and still going strong. She goes out of her way to make everyone feel right at home in our humble little hotel on the Wild Coast.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews