We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
45
22
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
22
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional japanese ryokan private onsen villa river winter dinner spring bath
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Gorgeous location with traditional Japanese buildings and gardens, great food, friendly staff, and the relaxing sound of the river flowing by to ensure good sleep. Our room had an open-air iwaburo stone bath as well as a small bathhouse in the pretty little garden, and it was wonderful to lay back in the hot water looking up at the sky full of stars, as the inn is deep enough in the mountains that there's very little light pollution.

But the really impressive thing was how hard the staff worked to make our stay great. We had to leave early in the morning before breakfast was served, but they got up early to help us check out, made sure we had onsen tamago (eggs boiled in the hot spring), handed us some free souvenirs, and then the owner even insisted in driving us up to an overlook near the inn to see the view right after sunrise.

I suppose the only downside is that it's too far from the rest of Kurokawa Onsen to walk through the town, but it's an otherwise ideal location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The staff was wonderful, we arrived a little early, so we were not able to check in. The staff showed us a map of all of the other towns Onsen's, and even gave us a toiletry bag to take with us before check in. The ryokan Hozantei was wonderful! The staff was kind, the room was amazing, and the Hot Spring was beautiful. The dinner and breakfast was delicious, with many different traditional Japanese foods to try. If you ever wanted a true Japanese ryokan experience, look no further!

Room Tip: Rooms have private baths, Check in is at 3pm
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2017

A very nice onsen. Villa like rooms around a central garden. The onsen eggs were yummy and should definitely be tried. The skies at night are beautiful and it is very nice to jump from room to private onsen in just 5 meters especially in winter ! The friendly owner showed us around and showed many of the beautiful rooms. The dinner was a bit hurried: a slower pace is appreciated as we were not planning to go anywhere.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile to go for the slightly more expensive rooms as these offer value for money.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HPDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent ryokan with your own open air onsen in your room that overlooks the river and a small hill. Relax in the water with the ducks quacking nearby. The common open air onsen is great too, with ice cold pool in addition to the usual hot pool to stimulate blood circulation. Dinner is sumptuous Japanese onsen dinner. Although I thought the dinner service was a bit rush...

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ivany988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Hozantei Ryokan is one of the best Ryokans in Kyushu and among the top 5 in Minamioguni area . We have tried the room (山望e湯)with an private indoor Onsen ! It's a two story villa with a big balcony . Even there is a piano in the villa ! Very good service and food ! Pretty view in autumn and winter ! Worth a visit !

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank StephenSC26416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews