We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Well run as is all Japan

It was an interesting journey to and from the station from Osaka. To get to the town you have to... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2018
richard g
,
Holt, United Kingdom
Helpful staff at the station

They have assistance in English when you arrive for all the tourists and are able to direct you on... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2018
Phyllis M
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Read all 146 reviews
  
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
44
72
29
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
72
29
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car waiting area japanese efficiency local buses closed due the bus souvenir shop damage railway ride typhoon cars gateway track lockers osaka town
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

In typical Japanese efficiency. The train track had been damaged by a typhoon a couple of months earlier. When we got off our connecting train a bus was waiting. It left exactly when the train would have left, bypassing the rope way we where driven up into the snow to arrive at Mt Koyasan station earlier than we would have done by the traditional method. The station is unimpressive but, is your gateway to the sacred mountain of Koyasan.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Lambretta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We spoke to some helpful people at Osaka station and got a combined ticket which took us from Osaka, on the train, on the funicular railway and the buses once in Koyasan. We had a JR Pass, but you can't use that to get to Koyasan. We also decided to put our big bags in lockers at the station in Osaka, so that we didn't have too much to jam on a small train on our journey.
The journey was not too difficult, and you get to Koyasan station and grab an easy bus ride into the main part. The staff there are very helpful and there are clean toilets.
Koyasan is special, so do make the effort to go when in Japan.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 873AmyB873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

after all, it is from Gokurakubashi station that you take the funicular up to the buses waiting to take you in to town, or, exit the station and hike the Fudozaka Trail which brings you to the bus station at Nyonindo (you will be tired and sweaty btw). Either way... Gokurakubashi, it's the end of the line, a charming little building at the foot of the mountain, and the starting point for your time in Koya-san.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank theBigBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

When we were there Nov. 3 the station was closed due to recent typhoon damage to the train tracks leading to the station at the bottom of the mountain. Nice staff who showed us around and a stamp for your book if you collect them!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Koyasan Station is the drop off point for most people coming to Koyasan. Coaches deliver tourists from Gokurakubashi station to Koyasan, but recent weather has damaged the track to Gokurakubashi meaning you need to get off at Hashimoto and get a coach to Koyasan which takes just over the hour. A local bus company ferries people up and down the mountain from the station dropping tourists at designated stops close to accomodation. Bus timetables feature at every stop. When taking the local bus from anywhere but the station - grab a ticket when you enter the bus and give it to the driver with payment when you leave (so they know how far you’ve travelled). The place works well.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Phil_Montafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews