We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Midagahara Hotel(Tateyama-machi)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Kuroyon(Tateyama-machi)
US$170
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Hotel Tateyama(Tateyama-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Raichoso(Tateyama-machi)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Tateyama Murodo Sanso(Tateyama-machi)
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Senjuso(Tateyama-machi)
Priceline
View Deal
Tateyama Kogen Hotel(Tateyama-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Tengudaira Sanso(Tateyama-machi)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
57
31
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
31
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roombuffet styleboth dinner and breakfastnext morningnice hoteltwo nightsthe busalpine routeunisexlodgetoiletsbootsonsenlakessleeptrekfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

My wife n I stayed at this place for two nights. The location is up in the Tateyama mountain range n the scenery around is beautiful. The booking comes with breakfast n dinner n is omakase style i.e the chef decides the menu. The rooms are ryokan style n toilets is shared n so is the bathroom which is ‘hot spring’ public bath. Although they r shared the facilities are clean n adequate. The food is delicious n the staff are super friendly. The only catch is you will need to walk / trek 0.5km to the hotel from the Tateyama station. Check the weather before you go to ensure you are dressed properly. It snowed when we were there but we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kehhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
三郎 尾, オーナー at Mikurigaike Onsen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for staying at Mikuriga Onsen. As it's located at 2400m high in the mountain we have a lot of snow in winter and many flowers are bloomig insummer. We are looking forward to seeing you again here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night during October.

Location: Maybe 5 to 7 minutes walk from the bus station. Very beautiful at night. Has a view of the city, but also close to the lakes and surrounding mountains.

Hotel: Very quick check in. Staff speaks English. They have a dry room with hangers for coats and jackets and boots. The hotel was a bit cold, but it did not ruin the experience. The baths were big and hot, and the facilities were clean.
*Washrooms are UniSex. Do not be surprised.*

Food: Food was good and prepped well. They have it so everyone eats at the same time, so you get to meet the other guests, and make friends.

Overall: Awesome experience. It truly feels like a mountain Ryokan Experience.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank victorcyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
三郎 尾, オーナー at Mikurigaike Onsen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your stay at Mikuriga Onsen. We are glad that you enjyoed your stay. About washboom, there are separate washrooms at the first floor and female guests can use a non-separated washroom at the second floor.
As it's located in the mountain but we beleive that we offer good service for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My experience was close enough. It would have been a pleasant trek with scenic views going from the Murodo bus interchange to this place. Yes, trekking is the only way to get there. The weather changed from patchy sunshine to drizzling when the building of this place was barely visible. As we stepped into the entrance, the rain had turned much heavier and it didn't improve a bit for the entire day.

Although there wasn't much to do while getting stuck indoors, and not a lot of communal areas to mingle with others, the private tatami room we had was simple yet nice and comfortable.

The viewing platform of Jigokudani was closed when we were there. The closest place to observe the sulphur spewing valley from a safe distance was the outdoor area of this property. And we could see the valley clearly from our room!

The place was generally clean. But with the amount of guests it could accommodate, not surprising the shared toilets got a little dirtier towards the end of the day and the following morning.

This is another place in Japan that the water from the tap is drinkable. Saves a lot of plastic bottles.

Both dinner and breakfast were buffet style. The food was not bad considering how remote this place is.

The onsen isn't fancy but is claimed to be the highest altitude one in Japan. Worth trying while you are there. Like many guesthouses with indoor onsens, that's also our only bathroom!

Room Tip: Loved the Jigokudani view from my room but the strong sulphur smell might put you off. Check the facing upon booking.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AL_in_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My boyfriend and I were stranded in Murodo as we missed the last bus on the Alpine route. As a result we had to book a room at Mikurigaike lodge. However, it was quite late and extremely cold, and we had no idea how to get to the lodge amidst the ice. The owner of the lodge generously brought us boots and umbrellas and walked with us in the ice to the lodge, and thereafter helped us to settle down into our room. We were extremely relieved to have met him. The staff at the lodge were also very friendly and helpful, and the views were magnificent. On overall the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We family stayed there for 1 night 4 May, 2nd night during trip to Japan Alps. After sleeping and washing, we went down for breakfast. During my 13 year old son selecting his food stuff, fell down on the restaurant floor abrutly and his head hit the wooden floor. Unfortunately I could not see this because I was behind other people. All people were embarrassed with this situation. But staff in restaurant responded quickly and warmed him with blancket and checked oxygen level, pulse and blood pressure. He was pale but all vital sign is within normal. I am a physician, as a doctor, they prepared well with this emergency situation. After resting a couple of minutes we came back our room, other women staff brought us water for hydration (sports beverage) for him. I thought his syncope was one of "symptoms of mountain sickness", coldness( he weared only short arm T shirt) and fatigue triggered this problem. We decided to go down mountain as soon as possible but we have to walk about 20 minutes to bus terminal. It is question for him to walk on the snow. I inqure them whether any mesures to transoprt him to bus terminal, unfortunately only way was carrying him on the back. After one hour resting he could eat and walk well so we arrived Murodo bus terminal. On that day we arrived at Kamikochi. The next day we hiked 14km return course to Tokusawaro hut from Koisidara camping site in the rain

As a dad of him, I thanked to them really and appreciated them keeping knowledge and responding well such emergency situation needless to saying onsen, other tangible facitlity and location.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews