We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tateyama
Nearby Hotels
Midagahara Hotel(Tateyama-machi)
US$311
US$275
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Mikurigaike Onsen(Tateyama-machi)(Great Value!)
US$214
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Senjuso(Tateyama-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Tateyama Kogen Hotel(Tateyama-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Yoshimine Heights(Tateyama-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
89
83
13
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
83
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnow corridorgreat locationpublic baththe busmorning walkwonderful hotelwonderful servicewalking tourthe sun risealpine routedirect accesssashimihighest pointjapanese styletateyama stationtourswall
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stayed in Hotel tateyama while traversing the Alpine route . It was very expensive, but worth it.
What worked : 1.Stupendous location. Staying here gives you the opportunity to walk between the snow walls, and explore the area, once the tour groups have gone home.
2. Very kind and helpful staff.
3. Pleasant room with good amenities.
4. Excellent restaurant.

So etips:
1. They do cater for vegetarians, and otehr specific dietary requiremnts, but since the hotel is in such a remote place, iit is wise to mail them ina dvance and let them lknow i.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル立山, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying at Hotel Tateyama.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Tateyama.
We will be very much looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My boyfriend and I missed the last bus on the Alpine Route, and ended up on Murodo stranded for the night. The front counter staff (Ms Narita) spoke English fluently and helped us find accommodation at such short notice. Although we eventually did not stay at Hotel Tateyama, she provided such dedicated and meticulous service and advice - which helped us immensely (given the lost souls we were). Thank you so much :)

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル立山, Receptionist at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Cheryl

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. I am grateful to be recognized for my service.
Hope you both had great time staying at Murodo.
We look forward to welcome you two back to Tateyama in the near future!

Best regards,
Maiko Narita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A quick summary of my recent stay:
Tour - Exclusive visit to Snow Wall by joining the hotel arranged walking tour. The next MUST DO is the morning walk on Snow Trails; Can opt to join the Sunrises tour if you can wake up at 4am;
Room – Very basic and dated (i.e. you pay for the LOCATION);
Dinner – Very average (better to cook instant noodle in room);
Breakfast – More choices but again, nothing to shout about;
Service – Staff are cheerful and helpful always;
Overall – Pricy but recommend to stay mainly for the great location and exclusive visit to Snow Wall and Snow Trails in the evening and early morning.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TFC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakeshiOoya, Front desk at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your staying at our hotel.
Our hotel is just in front of Snow corridor, so it is very convenient location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2017

I stayed one night at Hotel Tateyama. The only way to beat the crowds is to stay a night up the mountain. This hotel is at the peak and the step for the bus station. Very convenient location. The snow corridor is all yours to all after 5pm. No crowded tours to cramp your style. The whole corridor will be open instead of the narrow walk way from 10am to 5pm. Guided tour will explain everything you need to know about the snow corridor. Stay comes with dinner and breakfast. Dinner is not bad. Breakfast is ok too. Hotel can arrange activities or patrons staying at hotel. There are snow trails to walk and the early mountain tour to catch the sun rise.

Wake up early to walk at the snow trails at the back of the hotel before the tourists come in after 10am. Overall the views are magnificent. Rooms are big and spacious except no bath, public bath are available. I had a fantastic time at this hotel. Staff speak english and are very hospitable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hyppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakiKawai, Front Desk at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you for your staying.
We are glad you had wonderful time with us.
There are various activities for our guests such as trekking tour, star watching and sun rise bus tour.
We are looking forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Part of trip to see the snow corridor including a stay in this hotel right at the Murodo station, the snow corridor didn't disappointed us and this year it reaches 19 meter and it is amazing to see it in person.
The hotel deco is a bit old and outdated and the price per night is very expensive, the guest is paying for the location and the convenience. Beside the hardware, hotel staff are very nice, polite and speak good English.
We order the western dinner (French) and it is top notch as we research and read review that the Japanese dinner is not as good. Some of the waiters also speak fluent English.
Breakfast is normal buffet but could improve.
The most attractive part of this hotel is the direct access to the snow corridor as it will host a private tour for hotel guests after it closed for public.
The slide show at night is also another attraction for guest to understand this hotel and the surrounding, very informative.
Unfortunately we couldn't take part in the sun rise tour as the weather turn bad on the night that we were there.
Highly recommend for people who wants to have enjoy the snow corridor private tour and doesn't mind paying the premium.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank piggy_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakiKawai, Front Desk at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you for your staying at our hotel.
Our hotel is just in front of Snow corridor, so it is very convenient location.
We are glad you were satisfied with snow corridor, western dinner and our staffs.
Sunrise bus tour is so difficult to carry out because it is really influenced by the weather.
Please visit here again to retry for Sunrise bus tour if you have a chance.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews