We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honda museum on the planet”

Honda Collection Hall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 1 August 2018

If you love F1, MotoGP or motocross and your in Japan it's worth taking a visit....bring your camera

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 2 reviews
"free admission"
in 2 reviews
"wings"
in 3 reviews
"level"
in 2 reviews
"robot"
in 2 reviews
"fans"
in 2 reviews
"lounge"
in 2 reviews
"car"
in 3 reviews
"stuff"
in 3 reviews
"hall"
in 6 reviews
"honda"
in 12 reviews
"museum"
in 7 reviews
"shinkansen"
in 2 reviews
"bus"
in 3 reviews
"collection"
in 6 reviews
"bikes"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

Honda cars and motorcycles are in beautiful condition, but as a former owners of a Honda fit and a Honda S2000, neither of which were represented, we felt a bit slighted. If Civics, NSX and the Honda Club are your thing, you will find adequate representation. Gift shop has Tomika S2000 (matchbox cars) and RC cars, so that made us feel a bit better since they are currently hard to find at Japanese toy stores. All the gift shops on the premises (especially one under grandstand) had interesting car themed gifts, uncommonly found in Japan. Museum opened at 10am. Honda Collection museum has a lounge with drink vending machines but no snacks no cafe. Much English translation of Mr. Honda's cute and pithy sayings. My Navigation system needed "Twin Rings Motegi" as the input to get to this area, as this museum is located in massive racetrack complex disguised as woods. North and South Gate appear to be open regularly. ¥1000 per person ¥1000 to park. Easiest way to get here is via car, however need to walk quite a bit from parking areas to get to grandstand. Most of the food venues were closed on non-event weekday although race tracks were buzzing with racing motorcycle activity.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Since my boyfriend is a huge Honda-fan, it was out of question that we have to visit this museum when we go to Japan.

We went to Utsunomiya by Shinkansen from Tokyo, and we were very lucky, because a frined of mine took us by her car to the museum, which is hidden in the mountains of Tochigi, hard to access. As far as i know, there is a bus, which operates on weekends and event days between Utsunomiya Station and Twin Ring Motegi, but it isn't really convenient.

The Honda Collection Hall itself is huge, various floors, with tons of bikes and cars, and agricultural equipments, which were very interesting! :) There is a nice souvenir shop on the ground floor, with original Honda stuffs, i recommend to visit that place.

In overall, if you like Honda, and you have a chance to visit this place, do it. Although it's location is not convenient, once you are there, it's truly Japan. It's on the top of a mountain, the scenery is beautiful. If the weather is nice, you can just go for a walk inside the park, it'll worth it.

Date of experience: March 2018
5  Thank Irudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2017

An excellent collection of bikes and cars in a lovely museum next to the twin ring circuit. Historical vehicles from the early years through to modern day on two levels. The ground floor is the Asimo robot display area, lounge, gift shop and library.
I would recommend that you take food, as there is no food available any where. There are drinks machines. The gift shop is somewhat limited, but there is something for every Honda enthusiast. You'll need a taxi to get from the station out to the museum, I don't think there is a bus. It's a difficult place to get to, but if you love Honda, it's well worth the long journey. Asimo the robot is amazing.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Close to the track at Twin Rings and free admission. A complete collection of all Honda racing bikes and many of their cars.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank YKETokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honda Collection Hall also viewed

Motegi-machi, Haga-gun
Utsunomiya, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Motegi-machi, Haga-gun
Utsunomiya, Tochigi Prefecture
 

Been to Honda Collection Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing