We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best Honda museum on the planet

If you love F1, MotoGP or motocross and your in Japan it's worth taking a visit....bring your camera

Reviewed 1 August 2018
Chris C
,
Melbourne, Australia
Museum of revolutionary machines

Honda cars and motorcycles are in beautiful condition, but as a former owners of a Honda fit and a... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
Michelle C
,
Yokosuka, Japan
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
33
13
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
13
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop the ground floor free admission wings level robot fans lounge car stuff hall honda museum shinkansen bus collection bikes
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Great experience to the Hall as we are a Honda fan. It shows history of Honda from 1945. They have advance technology.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank TShiu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Close to the grand stand the collection hall has a big variety of motorbikes and cars on display. The exhibits are not limited to Honda products. Besides passenger cars and motorbikes there are also several exhibits showing the close relation from Honda and racing activities in the past. Very recommendable

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank bixierg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Been here April 2014 as part of a business trip sponsored by my parent company. What great detail and the care taken to arrange this place shows. Kudos to Honda for the arrangements.

Not just two wheelers and cars you get to see everything Honda....from the inception and present and future vision.

Must See!

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank HappyFeetUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

I missed out last trip to Japan.
So this time I was getting there no matter what.
You need to decide you route as it's not easy to get to unless you have a car.
If you have a jr rail pass I'd suggest this route from Tokyo.
Take the Shinkansen to oyama then the mito line to shimodate.
Now this is were you have to decide to either public transport and Taxi or rent a car. We chose the public transport. However!!! I would rent a car if I did it again.
The train to motegi is not a JR line so you pay about 1000 yen each way. 16 stops takes an hour on the moka line.
Then it's a 30000yen taxi ride to twin rings raceway.
There sometimes is a bus but don't count on it. I heard it's only once a day.
For the cost of it for 2 people rent a car and have flexibility.
We went on a Tuesday and it was very quiet. Motegi is a sleepy little backwoods when there is no racing on and not a lot of English spoken.
Locals are very friendly both there and up at the track. We were able to get a ride up and one of the staff drove us from the main gate upto the Honda collection hall.
The collection itself is everything and more.! Cars, race cars and bikes. Plus the Honda robotics evolution display. Then have a look around twin rings.
Lots of kids activities and a Zip line. Some stuff is closed during the week. Almost deserted when we were there. Sit on the stands and watch people on track days or testing. The gift shops are amazing at the main stand.
This place is well worth the visit.

7  Thank alistair_h055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Excellent museum, especially if you are a Honda fan. Hundreds of Honda motorcycles, both street and race bikes, street cars and racing Formula 1 cars. Beautifully displayed in typical Honda style. The building itself has three levels; first level housing reception, gift shop, cafe area, special display and archive. Level two displays street motorcycles and cars with level three racing motorcycles and racing cars, with everything is perfect condition. Being a motorcycle enthusiast, the street bikes from the 60s-70s brought back memories but the race bikes on display are out of this world! Museum open from 10:00 to 16:00 and we spent all day there. Free admission. Located on the huge Motegi Race Track Complex and as it's a bit remote, stayed at the Motegi Twin Ring hotel also at the track (reviewed elsewhere).

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank ok3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews