We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
136
87
30
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
87
30
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lockers shuttle bus the hotel staff onsen spa decent hotel the hotel shop deluxe room comfortable hotel appointed rooms separate toilet hundred meters western food japanese options up hill bar lounge language barrier in house
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Very well appointed hotel in ski town of Hakuba. Great proximity to Happo one ski field. This hotel has wonderful service, large, well appointed rooms, with lovely touches such as toothbrushes, razors, hair products etc. breakfast was great! And the Onsen in the hotel was amazing, especially after a day skiing. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
3  Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

I have been dying to write this review since my arrival here at Hakuba Tokyu Hotel as it quickly became apparent that we hit the jackpot in accommodations for our ski holiday. I couldn’t even wait for vacation to be over to write it.

Let’s start with staff. You can’t ask for more gracious, hospital, attentive, and helpful people. This includes the front desk, restaurant, & housekeeping. A pure willingness to make your experience the very best it could possibly be. We are having no issues with language barrier as some previous guests have mentioned. After all, you are in Japan so there will be a little disconnect, but all in all, it’s part of the experience.

The building is beautiful and well-maintained for a structure that seems to be built many years ago which is surprising with the amount of ski traffic this place gets. The lobby is grand and comfortable. The bar area is a nice place for a comfortable cocktail as you gaze outside or at the fireplace. The Onsen is clean and a perfect treat for after a long day on the hill. We have enjoyed our Twin room very much. We thought maybe that we wanted to go with a bigger Deluxe room, but are finding the standard to be more than adequate. Views from both sides of the hotel are very nice. The parking lot view is not an issue as you may think. I would recommend a high floor so you can catch a better view of the mountains. The beds are not amazing, but nevertheless still comfortable.

The ski lockers and sports rental area is also a very nice bonus.

The breakfast has been great and offers a wide variety of Western and traditional Japanese options.

The location is ideal. You are not on the hill, but if you are able to ski or snowboard, surely you can make it through a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest lift at Happo One. On the way you’ll pass a very lovely little family restaurant called Hummingbird serving traditional Japanese meals which we ate at and enjoyed very much. Rhythm Rentals is also on the way to the lift for all of your equipment needs. The location of the hotel is a great centralized spot for walking to Wadano which has a couple great places for a drink or a burger. You can also walk to Happo village.

The bus system is easy and can take you where ever you need to go.

Long story short: this place is great and we are having a fabulous time. I would highly recommend this hotel and would come back for sure!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

First time for our family at Tokyu Hotel, but we found it very comfortable. We had 2 rooms and one was larger, for Japanese standards, with views to the mountains. The beds are firm, but that is normal for Japan, and the pillows are usually one semi soft and one that is like a sack of straw and noisy to sleep on. Breakfast was pleasant, with a reasonable selection of western food as well as Japanese cuisine. Breakfast early can get busy by about 15-20 minutes after opening as most guests are skiing. We dined out every night as there are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is about 450m from Evergreen ski school and an easy walk, or there is a shuttle bus every 30 minutes. The onsen was very good and not crowded. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 246ianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Overall we were very happy with our stay in Hakuba and at the Tokyu. There are some things that are different than a western ski hotel but you are in Japan after all. We would use this hotel again next time and compared to Niseko it was reasonable

The good:

1). The Room - ours was very large and functional. A balcony is always good to have and the bathroom set up was very functional.

2). The location - very close to Kokusai and Evergreen Ski School. The ski school’s morning and afternoon bus service was fantastic. Not sure why people complain it is not ski in/ski out. Shouldn’t one know this before they book? Restaurants are nearby and Rhythm Ski Shop is close (they also will pick you up and drop you off from their shop?

3). Breakfast- it was included in our rate and it was well done.

Needs improvement:

1). The hotel says they offer discount ski passes. Don’t believe it. The hotel had run out and it isn’t even the busy week of Chinese New Year yet! If the hotel doesn’t have they shouldn’t say they have. Very misleading and not what one expects in Japan. I am going to send complaint and request for difference in what I paid to Tokyu hotel headquarters.

2) Hotel restaurants are expensive. Only ate at the hotel the first night and went out every night after.

3). 7 Eleven and Lawson’s are so far away. We bought food in Tokyo and brought it with us and the hotel shop had a few hints which was helpful (and the price was not too bad)

Overall we will go back as it is an easy place to stay and we got a good price compared to condos or what we would have paid in Niseko.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank hellohello5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Situated in Happoone area all skiing hills/ mountain areas must be accessed by crowded infrequent town mini buses...NOT ski in ski out, NO hotel private shuttle.
The hotel atmosphere is sterile ,bar lounge upstairs far removed the entrance after returning from skiing ,no music , no happy hour,expensive drinks,very aloof.
Accommodation room 502...2 single beds smallish room with very very small bathroom..Sunny a.m. aspect was nice.
The Onsen/ spa inside/ outside is superb .
I did not use the in house massage spa or the in-house ski hire.
The staff were courteous and most helpful
Overall for the price I expected more .
CTALE

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Ctale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews