We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
102
19
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
19
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental buffetaching musclesenjoyed our staywonderful hotelpublic bustravel agentshuttle serviceski hiredown stairswithin walking distanceski schooldinner reservationsfamily roombreakfast and dinnerover christmashome away from homesally
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Will keep it short.........
Spent a few days here mid march for some spring boarding.
Met some great people as well as being taken care of by the AMAZING staff.
Everything was within walking distance. Shuttle buses are also very close.
Room was a bit small but manageable. Nice hot baths onsite (very handy after a full day on the snow).
No need to repeat what everyone else has said.
Great hotel, great spot and most important, Great Staff!!

Just book it. You wont regret it.

Thanks heaps Phoenix Hotel, we will see you again!

Till next time
Leon and Jaci

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelfrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

we stayed here with our 3 young daughters... the managers are so lovely, they arrange our dinner time (after skiing with 3 kids, I have no energy to think of dinner!) and Sally with open arms open all the kindness to help us with this, even dropping us to the resto..

I feels more like home, staffs are very friendly, Breakfast!!! super excellent !!! super healthy and energizing for the whole day ski... very close to place where we rent ski attire walking distance... comfortable place, will certainly going back

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaMaisonAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We spent a week at Phoenix Cocoon (self-contained 3 bedroom chalet) and the place was absolutely exceptional; a beautiful 2-storey timber frame house completed kitted out with everything you could possibly need; big spacious drying room as you walk in, big bedrooms and bathrooms heated floors throughout the house, separate laundry, and a kitchen that is completed stocked with everything you could possible need (including a coffee machine with pods replaced daily). The place also comes with a big luxurious van with ski racks! This actually proved so handy as Hakuba is very spread out, with 9 different mountains which you can only really move between by car/shuttle. Having a car saved us having to wait for the shuttle, and meant that often we would ski half a day on one mountain, pile into the car, and ski another half day somewhere else! It also made trips to the supermarket, chemist, etc. super easy.

Peter and Sally were the most wonderful and attentive hosts who really have thought of everything! They went out of their way on several occasions to help our group - from booking trains/busses, arranging pick-up/drop-off of rental skis etc., offering shuttle services, finding cables we needed to play music, and even providing support to our friend who injured himself day 1!

Overall, we had the most magical stay at Phoenix and will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank c0c0b2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Coco,

We are delighted you enjoyed the comforts and amenities of the gorgeous Phoenix Cocoon! We are very happy that you found it to be not only comfortable but very suitable for the needs of a group of friends on a fabulous snow holiday.

We appreciate your feedback as we always strive to provide not only what our guests need, but what they are unaware they need - and of course in the case of anything unforeseen arising we are happy to assist (I do hope your friend has recovered swiftly)!

We look forward to welcoming you all again soon!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2018

This was our first visit to Hakuba and after a hectic few weeks prior to leaving for Japan, we hadn't managed to do any research for things to do and place to eat. I'm so glad we didn't. The recommendations and service we received from the staff at Pheonix was beyond amazing. Before going out for a day on the slopes we'd ask them to book us something for dinner and a cab, and they never disappointed. As many of the restaurants in Hakuba don't speak good English (or none at all) booking restaurants would have been a nightmare! Sally was incredible! By the end of our stay we felt like she was more of a friend than someone that worked at the hotel. She'd remember every tiny detail and always greet us so personally, it was these touches that made our stay extra special.
Plus you get complimentary continental buffet and an ordered cooked meal (the french toast was the best!!) Also make sure you book a dinner at Mimi's. It's not cheap especially by Japan standards but it's incredible!
One thing to note is the rooms are traditional. This was as described so no surprises here for us but the beds and pillows aren't the most comfy. The onsen was a really unqiue experience and I really liked it (especially after a big day in the snow), however I had a private shower a couple of the days when I needed to get in and out quickly. Also our room was close to the restaurant so it was quite loud until about 11pm so if you're going to be early before a day on the slopes make sure you bring ear plugs.
I would stay here again without hesitation but next time I'd love to get a group together to stay in one of the chalets!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Kate,

We are so glad we were able to make your trip to Hakuba so unforgettable. We do try to facilitate our guests enjoyment of not only the snow, but the local cuisine and culture.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the rooms - we will continue to refine our offering with improved pillows and noise control - we are always able to double up on the futon beds to provide more comfort if requested.

The Chalets are gorgeous and perfect for a group of friends, particularly now you know your way around. We offer complimentary supermarket shuttles so you can stay in and cook or go out as preferred and you can be very independent while still accessing the support of the concierge services in the Phoenix Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Thank you
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Just enjoyed a week here and the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms neat and tidy and laid out in true Japanese design.
Food at the hotel exceptional.
Provides transport to and from the local ski lifts at Happo One.
Picked us up from the local bus terminal upon arrival.
Peter and Sally great hosts during our stay.
Thanks

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally w, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you Richard for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The team work hard to ensure that guests have what they need during their time with us - whether it is pick up on arrival, offering shuttles to the slopes and supermarkets, suggestions for restaurant, organising gear hire and tour suggestions or simply providing great food and service.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews