We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitter Sweet Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Palmas de San Jose
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I loved Las Palmas. My room was quite large and well designed. The bed was extremely comfortable. Downstairs away from the guest rooms was a big outdoor pool, dining area in an open court yard, and small upstairs balcony. I appreciated the fact that the guest rooms were away from the dining area to keep them quiet for siestas. I greatly enjoyed the open dining area which is accompanied with free wifi. The restaurant opened early every day to accommodate my jet lag to serve coffee and the staff was very polite and personable. The food was amazing. Breakfast was my favorite meals and should not be missed. Definitely check out the Loganisa and fried egg with rice! Upstairs above the dining area was a balcony to hang out with my cousins, drink watermelon, mango or other shakes and listen to popular music. We hung out there till about midnight every night. The circumstances of my most recent visit to Tuguegarao were bitter sweet but I will say that the staff at Las Palmas were empathetic and helped out in every way they knew how to. The location of the hotel is well placed and away from the more metro areas of the town. It is surrounded around beautiful views and very close to local tourist spots, Callou Caves and the Pinacanauan River.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 39 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

My mother passed away on Easter Sunday last April 2014. I was the only direct family member in town so I had to arrange almost everything including lodging, transportation and meals for a large number of family members coming in from around the globe. I can tell you right now that no other hotel in Tuguegarao could have been more perfect in both hospitality and service. Las Palmas gave us a home away from home with their very comfortable family style setting. The whole family gathered around a huge patio/out door dining by the pool area or by an open court yard. Food was excellent with a huge array of Filipino cuisine and some international selections from breakfast to dinner. We ate most of our meals together as a FAMILY and enjoyed our reunion. Dining is Filipino provincial style hospitality with no pretense of being aristocratic. It was
always a delight to kick back and relax just sharing this very comfortable hotel. Over all I would recommend this hotel to over most of the hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will be cooler. Personal transportation preferred or rental cars available at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

One thing going for this hotel is that it is quiet & away from the hustle & bustle of the city. It's location in a residential part of town which is a fairly long, dusty & unlit walk from town, makes it inconvenient for the traveler without his own vehicle to explore the town centre or to patronise the town's restaurants. This hotel's F&B serves adequate but uninspired cuisine & the dining area is located in a dimly lit open/unscreened patio. Knives are not part of the cutlery & a special request has to be made for one. The overall design of the hotel is pretty quirky, obviously an amateurish do-it yourself project: the front desk is located in the back, away from most rooms; closet space in the rooms is very tight; risers on the stairs to the 2nd & 3rd floors are not all evenly spaced, with bannisters below waist level; facilities are not at all handicap-friendly; fire escapes, if any, are not marked; rooms facing west can be very warm in the afternoons; the room I occupied had a narrow & tight T&B, & surprise, surprise, had another totally superfluous comfort room with a toilet & tiny sink. Water pressure is weak & the hotel could certainly use a water-softener for it's very hard & highly mineralised water. Wi-fi is free but available only in the open patio-dining area. The hotel & F&B staff could certainly use a lot more training. Overall: provincial, but not charmingly so.

Room Tip: Avoid west facing rooms unless the heavy curtains are installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and his brothers. And we all loved it! Except for the wifi - the only one working was the one closest to the check-in counter!

The rooms ARE HUGE! VERY SPACIOUS! And nicely designed too, with class and sophistication. I say we got more than what we paid for! :)

Service was good but the servers were a bit "lost" sometimes, consistency wasn't their strongest point.

Food was good, breakfast though isn't free for everybody. Check first before ordering.

They have a bar so you could get some drinks before calling it a night, they close at midnight.

They have a pool! :) which is also open to the public for a fee.

Prices range from 2000-2500 per room per night. Not bad at all. :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KCA_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Need a nice and reasonable place to stay in Tuguegarao? This is it. The place is generally clean. Room service is ok. Breakfast food?......I'm just not sure if I can say it's that good but not bad. If you want a place with nice function hall and pool for a swim, check out this place with good privacy. Just make sure you remember to bring your swim wear if you're going for a swim. And dont forget to take a shower before you jump right in...management is strict with this policy (that's good). We're coming back :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thefabtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuguegarao City hotels
2.2 km away
Mango Suites
Mango Suites
#3 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
49 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Holiday Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
33 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Joselina
Hotel Joselina
#5 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hotel Lorita
Hotel Lorita
#4 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
42 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa Blanca Hotel
Villa Blanca Hotel
#10 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
12 reviews
2.3 km away
Taj Hotel
Taj Hotel
#13 of 19 in Tuguegarao City
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas de San Jose

Address: 20 St. Anne St., San Jose Village, Tuguegarao City, Luzon 3500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cagayan Valley Region > Cagayan Province > Tuguegarao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tuguegarao City
Price Range: ₱808 - ₱1,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing