We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, very disappointing”
Review of The Harbourmaster

The Harbourmaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bar - Restaurant - Grill Over looking Milford Marina serving food 11am - 2:30pm (Mon-sat) 12-2:30pm (sun)
Reviewed 31 May 2021

My partner and I visited here for a drink in the sun. Initially we were pleased that a table was available having turned up without booking, however it all went downhill thereafter.

1) We waited 15 minutes for our drink order to be taken after being sat at our table, we didn’t feel to hard done by given it was a sunny bank holiday at first, until another 20 minutes passed after ordering and still no sign of our drinks (we only ordered 2, one of which came straight out of a bottle). We had planned to order food after seeing the menu but given the slow turnaround on drinks we decided not to.

2) When asking the waitress where our drinks were we were told that she would check. Only for her to return to us approx 5 mins later to be told ‘I shall go around and take everyone’s food orders first and then get your drinks’. Abysmal service given that we had already been waiting approx 40 mins from sitting down and 25 mins from first ordering them.

The place itself looked lovely with a great menu, perhaps we were just unlucky with the waiting staff we had serving us. Staff didn’t appear to be overly busy given that lots of empty table surrounded us, no excuse for such poor service.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank S9329SGbeckyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2021

Very good service. Efficient and attentive staff. I visited with some colleagues before dining indoors reopened so we sat under a veranda on the balcony. Food was extremely delicious and plenty of it. Staff were extremely attentive and asked often if we needed more drinks or if there was anything else they could get us. We had to wait 10 minutes before we could be seated due to the table before us over running which we didn't mind. Tables we socially distanced appropriately and we felt very comfortable to be where we were. The only improvement I would recommend is for the outdoor heaters to be working (at customer discretion). Our table was booked from 1pm-5pm and when the temperature dropped around 4pm we couldn't get the heater to work.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Elviis96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

Visited last month with some work friends to enjoy a drink and meal out together after not seeing one another for so long.

Lovely setting with beautiful views! Lots of hand sanitiser stations provided and clear rules and guidance in place for customers. Due to the current restrictions we were seated outside, however did have a table under cover which put our minds at ease with the weather being a little cloudy.

It was busy when we arrived but every staff member was friendly and helpful when serving us and I cannot fault them in any way.
The food was just amazing! The portion sizes were great and the dessert was huge (unfortunately couldn't finish it because I was so full up!!!!)
We also all had gorgeous cocktails all beautifully presented!

Great first experience here and will certainly be returning!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Hann555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2020 via mobile

I was a bit dubious about trying a takeaway, never had one from a restaurant as such. No need for concern, it was fabulous, in fact have had 2 now. Every part of the meal was as if it was on a plate, freshly cooked, tasty and a good portion. I ventured into dirty fries, lush, always wanted to try them.
Menu is varied and a voice of sides, well worth trying, was well placed in aluminium containers so retained the heat.
No pictures, food looked so good & too hungry to take one.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit, starters of cheese soufflé and rabbit were both fantastic.

I had the Welsh short rib, which was extremely well cooked. My wife had the crab linguine she enjoyed it but the chillies in the linguine were pickled from a jar therefore the entire dish tasted like pickled chilli.

The deserts were great and the service was very good.

Recommend eating here and will return.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank 511jonathanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbourmaster also viewed

Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
 
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Harbourmaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.