We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre is an independent museum operated by Pembroke Dock Sunderland Trust. Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre tells the military, maritime and social history of this unique town: Wales' only Royal Dockyard, and once the largest flying-boat station in the World. Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre is an all-weather family attraction based in the former Royal Dockyard Chapel. In the rain or sunshine, visitors can expect a warm welcome from our enthusiastic volunteers, and beautiful grounds where visitors can picnic or exercise their dog. There is ample free parking in the grounds, including accessible spaces and room for coaches or buses. The Heritage Centre includes a Coffee Shop, a Gift Shop and there is free WiFi throughout. The site is fully wheelchair accessible throughout, and assistance dogs are welcome in the building. Pembroke Dock Sunderland Trust is a charity registered in England and Wales, number: 1120476. Company registration no: 05920931.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Very interesting visit here today,all run by volunteers.
There enthusiasm was great,nothing to much trouble.
Coffee and cake was a bonus,also run by volunteers,
where would we be without people like them.
Keep up the good work.

Thank jillmellor1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thanks for leaving this lovely review; our volunteers are a real asset to the organisation and we wouldn't be able to function without them. They will be very pleased to know they have had such an impact on your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunderland flying boat"
in 17 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 7 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"small museum"
in 7 reviews
"naval dockyard"
in 3 reviews
"knowledgeable volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"military history"
in 5 reviews
"ferry port"
in 2 reviews
"great museum"
in 4 reviews
"milford haven"
in 5 reviews
"second world war"
in 2 reviews
"interesting stuff"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 3 reviews
"star wars"
in 2 reviews
"hundred yards"
in 2 reviews
"great visit"
in 4 reviews
"plenty of free parking"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

A fascinating small museum celebrating Pembroke Dock's role in the battle against Uboats by Sundeland flying boats. Very helpful and knowledgeable volunteers. Well worth a visit and rediculously good value.

Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you can find the time to come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Well worth a vist. Some fantastic memrobilia and history of the Sunderland Aircraft and how it operated out of Pembroke Dock

Thank Martinspans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review; we are hoping to expand more, to tell the story of the Royal Dockyard as well as the social history of the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

My family and I had a very enjoyable visit. We learned about the important role played by Pembroke Dock in World War 2, particularly its role in anti-submarine warfare. The volunteers who staff the museum are very helpful and well-informed. Well worth a visit if you are in Pembrokeshire.

1  Thank BMCF_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thanks for leaving this lovely review, we are really glad you enjoyed your visit! Our volunteers will be delighted that they have had a positive impact on your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

As an aviator a visit to this museum was a must being in the area. Well laid out with good descriptive panels it describes the early maritime history of the port plus its role during WW2 with the Coastal Commands Sunderlands and PBY Catalinas.

Large number of exhibits of salvaged parts, some of which are being restored.

Free parking right outside and a modest entry fee. Volunteer staff were very generous with their time and a well priced cafe inside.

1  Thank GSAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review!

We're glad you enjoyed your visit, our volunteers will be delighted that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We hope you can find the time to come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre also viewed

Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing