We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveler rating
1,526
378
138
36
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,526
378
138
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fudge hot tub gallery restaurant royal suite courtyard room four poster welcome drink main building beautiful hotel steeped in history sublime sunday on arrival turn down service coffee machine birthday treat wedding party little touches
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Boringdon Hall is A fabulous venue to relax, unwind and enjoy being looked after. The staff were so friendly and couldn’t do enough to make us feel welcome. A perfect way to celebrate a special birthday

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Booked a two night stay. Beautiful accommodation. Gorgeous food. Spa lovely and not very busy as was midweek, plenty of beds available. Two lovely Gaia treatments - lovely and then sleep in the wonderful relaxation room! All staff lovely and friendly, booking easy, arrival and check out all straightforward.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lovedituk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The chef is a proper chef. No problems, no fuss. Gluten free and seafood intolerant no problem. Fabulous alternatives. First meal where this was not a problem. He is an intelligent and innovative chef. Nothing out of place. I would not be surprise to see him become a household name.

Room Tip: best rooms are in the oldest part of the building
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ianjobling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We attended a private party for a special 70th birthday celebration at this old manor house. The grounds were beautiful and the lounge was well-appointed. Menu was pre-selected as to the wishes of the attendees, including appetizer, main course and dessert. The main courses available were pan-fried Brixham Sea Bass, crispy Potato Gnochi with mild mushrooms, or Filet of Devon Prime, along with a choice of appetizers (I had lobster ravioli) and dessert of raspberry mousse, chocolate Indulgence or a selection 5 artisan cheeses! All food options were perfectly cooked, served with great sides and were excellent! The service was excellent. This was a very expensive meal for the hosts, who were even charged for the “use of the room”, in addition to all the food, wine, pre-dinner drinks, etc. I am told is standard in the UK. It was a very special and wonderful experience!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank FALJAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2018

I will break this down to good then bad.
GOOD: The hotel is beautifully situated away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Upon arrival, my wife's parents paid for us to stay for 2 nights, DB&B. Reception where fabulous, glass of alcohol free wine to relax you, nice touch. One of the ladies goes through everything with you so that you know that there are no hidden charges and you are happy with what you have paid for. The rooms are a little smaller than I was expecting, nonetheless, very nice, however there was no opening window in the en-suite, not a biggy. The bar area is amazing and I will state now that the entire bar staff where absolutely brilliant and a credit to the hotel, special mention to Liam Thompson, Bar Manager, a true gentleman. The staff are very knowledgeable and very friendly. They even took an idea for a Gin, Roku gin, we hope to see it upon our return. All the staff from the reception to the spa to the bar were a credit to the hotel.
BAD: As you will have read from other peoples feedback, the one thing most people are complaining about is the restaurant, the over priced food and extortionate alcohol prices. I totally agree with all of it. The surcharge on any drink is ridiculous and not necessary. The food in the Brasserie is bland, tasteless and overpriced. My wife and I asked for the Chateaubriand, cooked medium rare. It came out very rare and as tough as old boots, not what you expect for a fillet. The potato wedges had been cooking for about 2 months. When asked if we had enjoyed it, we had to be honest and tell them. They explained that they had new chefs in the kitchen and apologized. It seems to be that the kitchen is what is letting the hotel down, and if you have 5 stars you want a Michelin star in your kitchen, unfortunately if they keep serving up food like that, its never going to happen.
OVERALL: Lots of positives from our stay but the management of the kitchen has seriously got be addressed as this seems to be letting the hotel down. Also, please lift the surcharge on alcohol as £20.63 for 2 pints of lager and a G&T is extortionate.
Would we come back, yes, but only if the hotel look at the feedback they are given and address the problems.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews