We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit if you’re nearby

We visited the waterfall after being up Windy Gyle. I think it’s better to go later in the... read more

Reviewed 12 October 2020
Wez67
,
Penistone, United Kingdom
via mobile
Sunning views

Don't beleive the distance signs,it just over 2 miles. When you are almost there, you getto chose a... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2020
Seasonedtravellers99
,
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
27
22
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
27
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely walk worth the effort worth a visit falls park picnic birds route dog pheasant visitors path bracken
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2019

Well worth the effort to visit. The Breamish valley is beautiful.

Car parking at a number of places along the way, the nearest being about 1.5 miles from the Spout.

Stout shoes recommended if you want to get near the waterfall, steep rocky slopes.

Watch out for red squirrels as you walk past the wooded area.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lonsdales H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2019 via mobile

Went to this as we were staying just a few miles away in Ingram and it is the ‘local’ attraction.

You drive through Ingram and keep going along the Breamish valley which I pretty and has several spots you can stop adjacent to the river and picnic and relax.

Once you reach Hartside farm the road is private and you park on the grass verge and walk some 1.5 miles. The first mile or so is on tarmac road so is easy going, if a bit up and down. When the road stops you take to a farm track which is strewn with boulders and again goes up and down until you eventually reach a grass field where you walk down to the falls. I followed the finger posts direction which leads you to the top of the spout. These is little to see from here so you have a scramble down the side of the spout to the bottom where the views are much better.

I returned across the field to the finger post which although up hill, muddy and steep was easier and safer than the route I took to it.

It is worth the effort as the spout is a pretty fall which looks even better with brown peaty water coming down it.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank DavidA200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2019 via mobile

Nice drive up to start of walk along river areas to pull over and admire the views. The waterfall is 1.5 miles from where you have to leave the care the walk is lovely and the views over the hills are fantastic there were lots of lambs about all jumping around the sunshine.
The waterfall itself is worth a visit it was a quiet day when we went and sat at the riverside had our picnic and listened to and watched the birds and the sound of the waterfall was very soothing.
I can imagine on a hot sunny weekend it would be quite busy so pick your time if you can .

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank patrician784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2019

We parked just outside Linhope and followed the signs. A medium grade walk. I expect on a hot summers day you could bring your swimming gear and take a dip in the pool under the falls. We went midweek in May, but I expect it could get quite busy on weekends in summer

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank globalcoachtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2019

After heavy rains it looked amazing. Flowing white. Saw lots of wildlife and birds along the way. Nice walk to the to and back.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews