We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of The Malt Shovel

The Malt Shovel
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hovingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A great local village pub serving great localy cook fayre. Locals coffee mornings (yes you can come along),monday fish and chip night, wendsday seniors lunch, weekly thursday quiz...
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Great meal with the family and our dog.
Service was very good and we were all made to feel very welcome. The land lord went out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable and were well looked after.
There was a wide range of food on the menu, and it was well cooked, really tasty and good value.
We would definitely come back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank andya174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Visited in a family party of 8 with two dogs.

We were made to feel very welcome and the manager looked after us very well.

The food was generously portioned and tasty. The dogs were welcomed and given a few treats, and the kids were looked after with good humour.

All in all a lovely evening. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Elvisdoggely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Had an absolute fantastic dinner at The Malt Shovel tonight, Monday. Food amazing, hospitality fantastic, great value for money and dog friendly too - you couldn't ask for more!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank familysymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Just been in with the family and had a brilliant time. The landlord was amazing with the kids and the food was excellent. Best lamb curry I’ve ever had.
Highly recommended and we can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited the malt shovel this evening whilst staying in hovingham. The pub has a nice relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff.
The portions are very generous and food of very good quality. My husband had the pie and said it was one of the best pies he has ever had. We also thought the prices were very reasonable.
We will definitley visit again if we are in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nadine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malt Shovel also viewed

Hovingham, North Yorkshire
Slingsby, North Yorkshire
 
Wombleton, North Yorkshire
Ampleforth, North Yorkshire
 
Harome, North Yorkshire
Gilling East, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Malt Shovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing