We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
225
8
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
225
8
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome hamper hot tub bottle of champagne thought of everything bream watching the wildlife self catering watching the stars relaxing break four poster bed peace and quiet regular visitors new owners long weekend our honeymoon finishing touches a real treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2021

We enjoyed a week in Wagtail Lodge the first week in May. My husband fancied his hand at fishing after many years away. I fancied a tranquil, relaxing setting to catch up on reading and rest.

On arrival we found Champagne in the fridge and Chocolates on the beds. A lovely hamper with essentials for a couple of breakfasts and snacks was a nice touch. The lodge was immaculate and you really couldn't find fault if you tried!

Will welcomed us and showed us the hot tub controls etc and my husband some 'insider' fishing knowledge!

It didn't matter we had sunshine and showers all week. Actually watching the rain on the lake was relaxing and lulling and didn't hinder use of the hot tub or fishing rod. The mallards had their young and the robins kept stealing bait for their brood.

A couple of meals out were enjoyed (still eating outside). A lovely Sunday dinner at The Dog, Norton and a Friday night steak at The Cadogan, Ingham which had decent heaters. ' Rumbles' fish and chips in the village was very generous in portion size too.

There is a Londis store in short walking distance (10 mins) with a local pub (due to reopen soon) and post office. The local walks are interesting, you really are in the middle of the country - well actually not that far away from the A14 - but you wouldn't know it! We had a trip to Bury St Edmunds on Saturday when a market was in full swing.

Sarah left us a complimentary bottle of apple juice (from their own apples), which was delicious.

All in all a lovely break away, was sad to leave and will definitely recommend and return.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WoodyLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to give us such lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The ducklings are making great progress and are growing in confidence, nearly as big as mum now. We'll be at Rumbles for dinner tonight I think - our change over day treat. Warmest wishes and hope to see you again soon. Sarah and Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Lucky to benefit from last minute cancellation. Been here many times and again enjoyed a brilliant couple of days in the peaceful Badwell lodges. Great fishing with 15 and 12lb carp, several 3lb bream, tench, roach and perch all of decent size. Will and Sarah have been working really hard and the lodges look good as well as putting their own stamp on it with new outside furniture and little shop. The site looks lovely. BBQ and hot tub great way to end the day. Be back soon.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 May 2021

Thank you for this lovely review. We've been working hard trying to make the most of the lock down period and make the most of the quiet time. Lovely to be open again and so pleased you enjoyed your visit back here - some fabulous catches! Very much hope to see you again soon. Sarah and Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2021

Booked a weekend break as a surprise for my husband's birthday at Badwell Ash Lodges.
Not disappointed, lovely relaxing weekend. Great well equipped lodges, hamper with all the essentials including champagne. Family enjoyed the fishing although only caught a few. Recommend for a relaxing break

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SDennison29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 May 2021

Glad you enjoyed the lovely surprise birthday weekend you arranged and thank you for taking the time to give us a review. The cold nights have been keeping the carp sleepy but we are seeing them cruising around and we have had some super catches over the last few weeks. Hopefully the water temperature will be up a bit for for you next time. Hope we can welcome you back in the future. Warmest wishes. Sarah and Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Perfect lodge, welcome hamper lovely, fantastic hosts, beautiful nature, peace and quite, hot tub prepared for us on arrival, very good fishing
(just a bit cold for this time of the year - can't blame the hosts for it...), apart of this lovely and we will come again soon!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2882INsasham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 May 2021

Thank you so much for this. So pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and hope next time you see the sun little bit more on your stay with us. Sarah and Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Perfect in every way, couldn’t fault it, lots of thoughtful touches throughout the lodge. Very clean, warm and comfortable. Will definitely be going back. BBQ pack also very good. Local Londis shop not too far away.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank UsernameApril2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 May 2021

So pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Glad you enjoyed your bbq pack too. We are lucky to have such a great cleaning team and a fab butchers to work with. Hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Sarah and Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews