We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveler rating
416
137
79
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
137
79
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baltic sea bad doberan top class an upgrade gourmet restaurant small kids euro night booked a junior suite several buildings cakes beautiful setting old school breakfast buffet steam train spa building turn down service kids club
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We just spent a few days at the hotel and were impressed by how easy it is for families. Our daughter absolutely loved the gorgeous kids club and the pool area, and children are made to feel extremely welcome everywhere. Large lawn area at the front of the breakfast terrace where children can run and play while parents relax.

We stayed in room No. 5010, and were very happy. Clean, very comfortable and fresh looking with separate living area, and private seating area on the terrace outside. Our daughter wanted to sleep beside us and there was enough room in the bedroom to have the rolling kids-bed placed beside our bed.

Food is pretty good. Would prefer more healthy/gluten-free options on the menu, but if you ask they can make a large plate of vegetables/quinoa etc on the side. They have oat milk, most of the ingredients are organic, and the salmon on the menu was wild - definitely all in the right direction. Sushi bar was also good for a non-Japanese run place. And, of course, they have a great selection for little people and their own little kid's breakfast bar.

The fact that it's on the beach with the option for windsurfing, biking and coastal walking, directly from the grounds, made it especially perfect for us. Also loved the little steam train that stops at the hotel and travels to other sweet little neighbourhoods along the coast - it is so perfect for families with young children.

There are kids-free times in the pool which is nice, and yoga and other exercise classes every day, plus some great evening events like Opera and beach parties. I was impressed by the spa too, and the range of treatments available, even offering treatments for children - our daughter loved this. And we paid for swimming lessons for our daughter and were super impressed with the instructor.

Not many negatives apart from the fact that there had been a miscommunication and I had non-allergy bedlinen when we arrived. I started wheezing and realised there were goose-down pillows on the bed. I called to get anti-allergy bedlinen sent, and there was none available in the entire hotel. I spent a very wheezy night in the room before they managed to find anti-allergy bedding in the morning, and in fairness, they cleaned the entire room so well - even washed the curtains for me. My allergy completely disappeared after they had finished and the rest of the stay was great.

We found the price/value fair and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: 5010 was a great room for a small family
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Location is outstanding, nice landscape, on the beach, well kept park.

Hotel has a nice lobby, different buildings,different kinds of rooms which are on the classic side. Housekeeping is ok, with turn down service.

Breakfast is in a large, noisy and crowded room.... service not always ok, quality and choice of food is ok but nothing special.

Parking is complicated and expensive, (even valet parking is outside parking where birds "decorate" your car!)

Wellness!?????? and swimming pool are more like a kind of "mini-baby-children"-club where you cannot relax as adults! Noisy and spoiled brat rules here :((( and no one cares for the quiet seeking adults paying a lot of money for their stay which is supposed to be relax!!

Not much to do around Heiligendamm, you absolutely need a car to drive around.

Maybe play a round of golf in the Wittenbeck GC (links course with nice views).

Highlight of the Grandhotel Heiligendamm is the excellent gourmet restaurant Friedrich Franz, which I recommend.

The Grandhotel is not to be recommended for a relax holiday for couples.... as noisy and spoiled children own this place :((((

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank soinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel several times but really learnt to appreciate the place when visiting for the first time with our little son. There is no need to add a lot to the description of the beautiful buildings, great and luxurious rooms, amazing few and relaxing atmosphere. What we do want to mention is the fact that this is one of the most children friendly hotels we have visited in Germany. Starting from the way the kids are welcomed, to the beautifully prepared children's bed, day care facilities and special kid's menus. It's not surprising that a lot of parents and grandparents seem to chose this hotel for vacation with the little ones.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I booked a Junior Suite for eight nights (August 18 – 26, 2017) for two adults and two children. Rate was 455 Euro/night, breakfast included. It was our sixth stay at Grand Hotel Heiligendamm and the new ownership of the property seems to be promising.

Everything was fine: nice welcome at the door, friendly staff at reception and prompt luggage transfer. We got an upgrade to suite 2302 at Severin Palais. The suite was very comfortable as shown on the pictures, our children got welcome amenities and everything was carefully arranged for a family. Housekeeping and turn down were done very well. Breakfast was very good, the bar is still worth a visit. Also recommendable is the Eisbärenclub with a full-time service for the children and the Spa.

So in total we had nothing to complain and were fully satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The rooms are of the highest standard. Swimming pool is a good size. The promenade and pier are ideal places for a stroll. Food did not disappoint. Great place for a quiet break.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews