We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$189
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$172
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$189
US$162
View Deal
SAVE US$27
Expedia.comUS$172
Orbitz.comUS$172
TravelocityUS$172
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
207
30
6
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
207
30
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden coach house quiet village acorn bank local attractions lovely hotel jacuzzi bath overnight stay the main house stayed here for one night local pub a lovely stay andi scotland fires lakes break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

The House at Temple Sowerby proving to be an ideal break in our journey to The Highlands. Lovely village setting, beautiful property. Very comfortable, we enjoy the dinner menu and the full English breakfast is excellent. Covid 19 regulations well observed.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LondonVectis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison Sambrook, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have a lot of guests who use us as a break when making the journey to and from Scotland. After a long journey we strive to make everyone feel welcome and safe. A good breakfast is a must for the next leg of this journey.

Best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Came for my girlfriends birthday meal on a Sunday evening. We were greeted and served by Andy who was lovely, had a great sense of humour and was a fantastic host. The food was amazing and we were gutted when we were leaving. Great experience & meal. Will visit again when in the area!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Grinny96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison Sambrook, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words, although we are not sure about Andi's sense of humour!

Be sure to come again, when you are next in the area. Glad your girlfriend had a nice birthday.

Best wishes, Alison (wife of Andi.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2020

We had a a lovely stay at the House at Temple Sowerby on our trip back from Scotland. All the staff that we came into contact with were fantastically polite and made us feel at home. We had a delicious dinner at the hotel restaurant - the monk fish starter was a highlight and the cheese board was a great way to end the meal. The hotel was very accommodating to our family dog too. We enjoyed walking in the area around the hotel and would definitely stay there again when in the area.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 956gracee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison Sambrook, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're so happy that you had a good stopover with us, as so many guests travelling to and from Scotland do. We will be sure to pass on your thanks to the team here as they work incredibly hard and it's nice when they are appreciated.
You're right about the monkfish - delicious isn't it?
We hope to see you all soon.
Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

Stopped off for a single night while cycling in the area. We had booked an evening meal which although was expensive was excellent and comparable to a top level restaurant. We ate in the private garden. Breakfast was also very good. Good COVID-19 compliance.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 64minx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison Sambrook, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you for your review. Obviously when you stayed with us, the weather was good enough for you to dine in the walled garden - a pity I can't say the same for today's weather!

We're very pleased that you found the levels of COVID-19 compliance to be good as we've worked hard to ensure all guidelines are met.

Best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to break our journey from London to Scotland. Being just off the main route but in a quiet village was ideal. Arrived late afternoon and was a real pleasure to sit on the patio with a refreshing drink and look out at the very large beautiful garden.
Our room was on the smallish side but fine for us. Great care was taken due to Covid, with sanitisers and a one way system. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Nice talking to them. The property has a lot of history and the owners could talk about it.

The dinner was Cordon bleu style which is not really my preference but was well presented. It was expensive though.

Breakfast was good.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison Sambrook, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to send us this review, particularly through the COVID-19 times we are experiencing.

It's always a pleasure to sit in the garden and the weather this year has made all of the gardening hard work worthwhile.

Best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews