We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
87
84
44
23
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
84
44
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish per day mango fell in love experienced travelers beautiful sunset kindness and respect village life amazing diving stayed nights the entire island limited electricity rooms are basic liberty power bucket community
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My review is mixed because some parts of the guesthouse are great, others not so much.

The good:
1. Staff are lovely! All the waiting staff in the restaurant are fantastic and really friendly.
2. Views from the restaurant and rooms are great overlooking the sea (at least in the two rooms we saw)
3. I don't know if this is common in the Philippines but all the guests in the restaurant chatted to each other and we met some really lovely people. Perhaps due to the nature of Apo being so small people are just naturally thrown together.
4. Having meals included makes it really good value and the food is tasty with decent sized portions.

The bad:
1. Whilst the bedrooms themselves are cosy the bathrooms are horrible, think dirty and basic. We had the luxury of a spray hose but other guests we spoke to only had a bucket. I am really not fussy about this sort of stuff generally but the contrast between the bedroom and bathroom was stark and I think they could make them a bit better.
2. Due to the bedroom and bathrooms being open air the room was always full of Mosquitos. There are cute wooden slats on the ceiling but they open out to an open roof (you can see daylight). There is also a window in the bathroom with no glass and due to this the mozzies just swarm in. There is a mozzie net over the bed but check this thoroughly for holes as we ended up having to tape up lots of small holes after being eaten alive on our first night!
3. On our last day we were supposed to leave on the guesthouse boat to Malatapay but due to a typhoon warning the owner told us that the coastguard had stopped all boat crossings and we should wait in the restaurant bags packed so we were ready to leave when the coastguard gave the ok. We wasted a whole day waiting and in the end the owner said we had to stay one more night as no boats could cross. In the evening though we noticed that her aunt who had been staying at the hotel wasn't there and the owner slyly admitted that she had arranged a boat for her to leave the island that day. The only reason she didn't do the same for us was because she couldn't get guests over from the mainland to fill our rooms. We managed to get off the island the next day on a private transfer but all in all we felt it was all a bit underhand and soured the end so our stay.
4. As there are only three resorts on the island sometimes the competition gets a bit petty. As mentioned in a previous review I don't think the owner likes when people associate with one of the other resorts called Marios because we knew some people staying there and the staff wouldn't let them into the restaurant at libertys. They said they didn't want them stealing guests. It was all a bit silly really and meant we had to go for a drink with them at Apo island resort instead.

All in all the guesthouse is ok but the sneaky way the owner kept us there for one more night and the horrible bathrooms means I wouldn't go back.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Porgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Liberty's Lodge on Apo Island and it was a most enjoyable experience. The rooms cost 2000 pesos ($50) for 2 but this includes 3 excellent meals per day. Ask for room 4 or 2 if you want an attached bathroom but rooms 2,3 &4 have small balconies with an amazing view of the action on the beach. The power is only on for a few hours 3 times a day and off at about 10PM but this is an advantage as it is quiet during the night and the breeze keeps rooms cool. The island has an interesting ambiance with a variety of outrigger boats coming and going during the day with visitors, divers and locals and a village walkway selling everything. Be sure to wear wet shoes and be prepared to get slightly wet on the crossings as it is often rough (your baggage is stored dry below).

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view and attached bathroom and freshwater shower if you need one. Some rooms have their own bathrooms with only bucket water and showers.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stopped in for lunch after a morning snorkel.
Great fish soup, awesome view on lower terrace and ice cold San Miguel.
The service was great, the bathroom is primitive but I really liked the place!
If you are on Apo stop in and enjoy the place.

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank azroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Liberty Lodge is not a fancy resort but if you are looking for nice and welcoming people, gorgeous views, and great snorkeling and diving, then this is the place for you! My husband and I stayed a week and still didn't get all the diving in that we wanted. The food was good and the atmosphere relaxing. If you need technology this is not the place for you. Wifi and power was not available all day(specific hours only). We will definitely return. Not luxurious but a fun and beautiful adventure!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A 4 day trip to Apo Island for the diving expanded to 7 days because it was such a fantastic experience. My companion (a non-diver) and I stayed at Liberty's Lodge and I dove out of the associated Paul's Dive Center.

The paradise setting Liberty's exists in would be worth going to for no other reason. Add to that some of the friendliest, greatest people you will ever encounter and some of the best diving I have found in the Philippines and you have a real winner.

If you are looking for 5 star amenities this may not be for you but if simple clean and comfortable accommodations, simple but tasty meals, reasonable rates, a friendly staff and a totally laid back atmosphere are your bag - you'll love this place as much as we did.

Beach diving on a coral reef, with lots of turtles, lies just a few kicks offshore. Boat dives to sites further away are just a few minutes ride on a banca. The coral at Apo Island was in good shape and there was more marine life than I had seen in several other locales.

The electricity comes and goes every 3 or 4 hours and the wifi is slow and crashes every so often. The big plus here is the tourist hordes and party hearty mob don't come to Apo.

Special unexpected treat during our stay - a whole BBQ lechon was prepared for Liberty's birthday and, as lodge guests, we got to share.

Room tip: get one with an ocean view
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ouli_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews