We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Owd Barn at Bispham
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Ormskirk
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional home cooking made from home grown and locally sourced ingredients, Served 10:30am till 3pm (Early bird menu only before 12pm)Breakfasts and Light Breakfasts served until 11.30. Fabulous homemade cakes, Roast Dinners on a Sunday and our chips are a must to try, made from our homegrown spuds! All set in a rustic 16th century barn with outdoor dining near our nature filled pond. Last drinks orders are 4:30pm in the summer months. We also have a rustic farm shop, unique gift loft and extensive range of clothing and farm toys to browse around. We hope to welcome you soon!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called here as we had read all the reviews and were really looking forward to visiting. However in reality we found the food to be very unimaginative and lack lustre. My husband had pie which had the worst pastry ever and my salad was old fashioned and quite tasteless. Just goes to show you cant believe everything you read.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lizziej587
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, General Manager at Owd Barn at Bispham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Evening Lizzie,

I’m sorry to read your review, we are only basic home cooking as myself and family make it, just cooks not chefs. We don’t try and advertise our meals as anything else but traditional home cooking but it seems to prove popular with a lot of our customers, I’m sorry you don’t feel the same. Our pies are from a local bakery in Chorley and are one of our best sellers, I’m very sorry to head your husband didn’t enjoy his.

We really value all the positive reviews we have had from our customers previously, everybody’s opinion differs and all are valuable contributions.

Take care,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

We visited for the first time today and had lunch. We were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food. The barn was lovely with tables well spaced, the service excellent and the staff great. We also went in the Farm Shop which had a good selection of locally produced food including Hesketh Bank strawberries at the moment, great strawberries and in compostable punnets rather than plastic!
Will be back very soon as comprehensive menu to work through!!!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank J7170RDwilliamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

Great food, catered to our needs, Service was great, they looked after us, lovely setting, very friendly and helpful staff

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank tara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Poor. Had to chase for service. Food arrived and we had bread with a burnt top and baby was given hard overcooked toast. Then the bill was lost. Not returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank johnpeter3ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, General Manager at Owd Barn at Bispham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Good Morning John, I’m sorry to see your review and to hear of your experience. We had a member of staff call in ill yesterday morning so unfortunately we where a member of staff short making service a lot more busier for our three remaining waitresses. Sorry if your toast was overdone, we would have happily replaced this for you. I hope you enjoyed the other meals that you ordered though.

Sorry again you didn’t enjoy your visit,
Regards,
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2021

This was our first visit since our review in September 2019. It was good then, but has been extended and with other subtle changes is now better.
The varied menu extends from coffee and cake through to more substantial meals, and a feature which we particularly welcomed is the inclusion of half sandwiches served with either chips or soup - excellent for those wanting only a snack or a light lunch.
Orders are now taken at the table, and service is quick and efficient.
As before, we would recommend a visit to the adjacent farm shop for fresh vegetables and 'home cooked' fruit pies.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owd Barn at Bispham also viewed

 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to Owd Barn at Bispham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.