We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryokan Kamogawa
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ueno Hotel(Taito)
US$76
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$118
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$55
US$46
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sakura Hostel Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$48
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$91
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
96
76
11
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
76
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese breakfastsensoji templetraditional settingwestern stylesitting roomtatami matsprivate onsenwonderful japanesecomfy futonminute walktrouble findingfirst floornice roomthe breakfast areaa fantastic place to stayjapanese bathjapanese culture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights .
We were given a very warm welcome and booked our private Onsen for early evening.
The room was lovely just like the pictures and although the beds were on the floor they were very verycomfy best nights sleep for ages. Usual warm Japanese hospitality and it was Sonic's to have a small room just to sit and drink tea.
Bathrooms are very small but with a daily bath in the Onsen this wasn't a problem.
Hotelier walked us to a local restaurant for dinner which was very good.
Breakfast western style was a little strangejelly and carnation milk fruit sausages egg and co!eslaw and toast.
Best thing was the location and the warmness of the staff.
The only problem with this hotel is it is a bit difficult to find ,had to ask a local shopkeeper to help us find it.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank glynis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

We really appreciate your stay and review.
We are glade to hear that you had good time at Kamogawa and enjoyed our large bath.
When you have an opportunity to come to Asakusa, we will be pleased if you choose Kamogawa again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This is the first time we stayed in a ryokan style hotel. We were impressed by this hotel in many aspects. The hotel is small but we did not feel it lacked anything we needed. Our room was well decorated in Japanese style. Our room space was well design and was divided into many little rooms, such as foyer, sleeping room, sitting room, closet area and bathroom. We were very comfortable during our stay. The futon bed was super comfy and warm. The bathroom within our room was tiny but fully packed with what we need. They also provided us with traditional Japanese robe for us to use everyday. We ended up wear it as our pajamas every night. We also loved the hotel private onsen on the first floor. It was very clean and the water was very relaxing. We also ordered breakfast from the hotel and found out that the set was quite delicious and fulfilling. All in all nothing to complain. Every thing was done meticulously. Service super good and polite. Love it here!!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank suparphua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you very much for your stay and your reviews. We are so glad to hear that you had good time
at Kamogawa. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Nice location in the center of the touristic Asakusa.

Staff was very friendly and offered us free coffee. All have a good level of English.

Room is tiny and bathroom is a cubicle that barely fits one person. Street noises can be heard in the early morning. Toilet was not fully cleaned after the last guest and we had to ask them to fix it.

Japanese breakfast was tasty, but needs to be pre-ordered and can only be taken until 9 (maybe 9:30).

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DavidElie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks for your stay and your reviews.
We are happy to get to know that you praise our staffs' English level.
So sorry that you felt stress with the room and the bathroom, we'll try not letting our guests feel uncomfortable.
When you have an opportunity to come to Asakusa, we will be pleased if you choose Kamogawa again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Nice welcome with english speaking staff which is not the case in every ryokan around. This is our second stay in Asakusa area.
This ryokan allows privatizing the onsen which is great (it is a small one). Good location to visit the traditional nakamise market and Senso-ji temple.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JC64Madeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you very much for your stay and the comment.
The onsen, private bath, seems a little small, but we try keeping it clean and tidy, thanks.
we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

This ryokan was the first stay for our mother daughter trip to Japan. After a long flight and a stressful train ride, we finally came upon this little place tucked in an alley, away from all.
Upon checking in, we reserved an hour for our private use of the onsen and reservations for breakfast the next day. All the reservations can be done when you arrive.
The room was just the right size for the both of us. It was very clean and the comforters were so warm and fluffy.
The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. I opted for the traditional and my daughter the American. Both were delicious!!! The staff was fantastic!! They were so polite and helpful with everything...not to mention patient.
When I think back at our stay, I feel a sense of peacefulness set in a traditional setting. We plan to come again for our next trip. Nice to know we have a go to place in Japan.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank smileymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews