We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out!”

Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro
Ranked #1 of 45 Nightlife in Toshima
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Over 100 varieties ! Compare different sakes without the need to worry about time or your wallet. Choose a cup, make your way over to the fridge, take out a sake and pour away. You are free to bring your own snacks and bites. No need to worry about time or your wallet. Enjoy all kinds of sake at your own leisure. Direct from the brewery! We bring you one sake from each of a small selection of small breweries. We bring you sakes at their best that have been painstakingly crafted by breweries that even in an age of industrialisation continue to brew by hand. All the sake comes direct from the breweries themselves. Only cash payment is accepted. Please try and bring the exact change. Now offering a one-coin pay-per-sake system: 500 yen per sake. 1000 yen cashback for stays of less than 1 hour.
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We went to Kurand on the last night of our trip to Tokyo. I am very happy that we did not miss out on this cool experience!
Kurand lets you try dozens of different kinds of sake, all at your own pace. The staff was very helpful in explaining the procedure to us, and helped us to navigate all the choices by providing us with a checklist sheet that detailed the qualities of all the sake. There are clear English instructions as well for how to warm up the hot sake varieties. And there's a beer tap too, in case you get tired of just sake!
Definitely bring plenty of food! We got takeout sushi and dumplings to do with our sake. Kurand provides real dishes for the food as well, so the experience isn't dampened by eating out of a plastic tray.
Reservations are required, and can be made online or by phone.
Overall, we had a fantastic experience at Kurand, and would absolutely recommend it to any traveler that enjoys sake.

1  Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KURANDSAKEMARKET, マネージャー at Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

この度はご来店いただきありがとうございました!
またのご来店を心よりお待ちしております!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"all you can drink"
in 4 reviews
"bring plenty"
in 2 reviews
"different kinds"
in 2 reviews
"fruity"
in 2 reviews
"yen"
in 3 reviews
"japan"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

But for reals all you can drink sake!! Pretty much sums up this review! Awesome place can be a little tricky to find but that's part of the adventure! Make sure to bring plenty of food so you can enjoy the sake.

Thank amoro19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2016

have a nice drink,nice service.
have a good environment and feel with my friends
thank for kurand sake market-ikebukuro

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank イーハンチウ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroto020, Inbound Team at Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at KURAND. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Kurand Sake Market Ikebukuro was by far the most fun we've had in Tokyo. Never before have we felt so welcome as foreigners, and part of a true authentic local experience. It is well worth the cover fee, so don't even think twice! You can bring in all your own food & soft drinks and they provide cutlery, bowls, glassware, condiments, and anything else you might need, free of charge. They speak some english and have an english menu for the drinks, so if you are complete novices like we were, you'll still get by.
As a young English couple traveling around Japan, we came to Tokyo thinking it would be downright insane - lights, robots, gadgets etc. and although it is, we were pleasantly surprised to find there is a huge following for the Japanese traditions of brewing, drinking, but most importantly, appreciating Sake. This place perfectly combines ancient traditions with modern urban living - everything from the graphic design to the lighting to the sake bottles themselves are satisfying. There were so many local people eager to help us out in trying the best Sake in the land & making friends was easy, because at the end of the day, everyone in there is pleasantly stewing in microbrewed Japanese alcohol.
Some tips:
- The sake market is on the 4th floor, elevator access, look for the logo on a small signpost.
- The Japanese pair their foods with Sake, and will drink accordingly, so if you want a true authentic experience, try and get hold of the right snacks in advance (although there's a 7eleven around the corner for last minute snacks).
- BOOK A TABLE! This place is insanely popular, and space is limited to 40pax. Book in advance and get there super early to avoid disappointment (and to make the most of the all-you-can-drink!)
- Although you may be the only foreigners there, this may well be the best drinking experience you can have, remember to keep sipping on water & join in with the toasts!
- You can come and go as you please, but don't take too long! More than 30 mins absence would be considered a little rude to the owners, plus you wont feel as much of a part of it all.
- Write some tasting notes! We brought a pen and paper, which is a great way (as with any alcoholic confederation) to understand which types of drink you enjoy. Just write some basic notes on each Sake you try, be it Crisp, Dry, Fresh, Fruity, etc. This really helped us decide which to try next and makes it a lot more fun! (Plus you can see how many cups you've actually had).
- There will be a raffle which you will probably win being a foreigner. The chap asked me how to pronounce my name before 'pulling a name from a hat' then announcing we were the winners, which made us feel even more welcome and we got to keep our sake cups!

Enjoy!

Thank Johnny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroto020, Inbound Team at Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experience at KURAND. We are so pleased that we could make you feel so welcome. I am sure this will make a very handy guide for future customers and help them get the most out of their visit. These kinds of reviews really are invaluable. Congratulations on winning the raffle. We assure you it was nothing but extremely good fortune. We were really impressed to see you taking notes throughout the evening. Your feedback about the icon guide we employ is much appreciated and we hope to improve it as we go along. Hopefully you found something that you liked. Please do come again. We will do our upmost to make the second time even better.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the delayed response, we normally endeavour to reply to all reviews within a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016

If there’s going to be a bright future for Japanese Sake, places like Kurand Sake Market are going to be the ones who help make it happen. Kurand offers all you can drink sake from a selection of over 100 labels. mostly from smaller, less well known breweries. Other notes: 1. this is a standing bar, there are no seats 2. bring food, lots of food.

1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroto020, 広報担当マネージャー at Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for the kind words Jack Random, your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at KURAND. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Chris (International PR)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro also viewed

 

Been to Kurand Sake Market, Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing